We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Seaplanes - CLOSED

Cairns Seaplanes
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our Family of four were looked after very well. With hotel pick up and drop off, it was indeed one of the great highlights of our trip to north Queensland. Kudos to young Daniel (our pilot) who was exceptionally skilled and friendly. He made the trip a safe and wonderful experience. Also thanks to Taiki (our transporter and boatman) for great service. Travelers Tip: Go with family or friends on this plane to optimize/swap sitting there and back for best views (Takes 5-6 passengers max). Bring along extra ear plugs for sensitive individuals as the sea planes runs louder than commercial jets, but once in the air is quite alright.

Our excursion took us to Green Island, great safe location for scuba diving, especially families with kids, with cafes and a great big crocodile (no...not in the same place you scuba dive). For couples and grown ups, we think the cays would be more exciting and private. Only downside is the expense involved, but well worth it for a truly excellent experience next time you are up in Cairns.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane QLD
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

It is worth spending a little bit more to fly over the reef. The views are amazing, we were fortunate to see a couple of whales, turtles, dolphins and sting rays. The pilots were great lads - knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The seaplane was a great experience. We were lucky enough to each have a window to view the spectacular reef. Would highly recommend this as a must do when in Cairns.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not big enough for more than 5 passengers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

i was unlucky to be placed in the middle seat of the sea plane for our trip over the Great Barrier Reef. I was very squashed to the point i was unable to move my arms.
i could not see through the front window, and spent most of the 45 minute trip looking at the dashboard.
I was not able to take any pictures as the lady on one side, was taking her own [i dont blame her...i would have done the same].
They seem to have crammed us in, to maximise $$$ and not the experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank quay5043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joelycole, Owner at Cairns Seaplanes, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your 45 minute scenic flight with us at Cairns Seaplanes.
We take all feedback, positive and negative, very seriously and appreciate your thoughts based on your experience with us.
We operate 2 aircraft out of Cairns, both being DeHaviland Beaver DHC2. They are capable of seating up to 7 passengers at a time with large bubble type windows and high wing position allowing for maximum visibility. Many factors are considered by the Pilot in Command when it comes to placement of individual passengers including weight distribution, fuel load, family members traveling together and a myriad of others. Safety is always our paramount concern, weight and balance of the aircraft is essential.
From time to time we do receive requests from passengers for window or front seat allocation. While every endeavour is made to accommodate these requests, it comes down to the Pilot in Command’s final decision to safely distribute the weight on their aircraft.
We sincerely hope you were able to enjoy the thrill of a scenic flight over the Great Barrier Reef in one of our Seaplanes, even if you felt your seating position in the aircraft was not your preferred option.

Sincerely,
Martin Gschwenter.
Owners Representative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Memory that'll last a life time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Whilst I was visiting Cairns, I was lucky enough to take a trip out to Sandy Cay island with Cairns Seaplanes, and I would advise everyone to do the same.
The whole experience was brilliant, from the welcome from the friendly seaplane staff to the breath taking views whilst in the plane and to the amazing Sandy Cay island itself.
The Pilot DJ was extremely friendly and professional, he really excelled himself on the trip, giving us a great commentary whilst in the air of what we were looking at and giving us clear directions on where the best places to snorkel.
The seaplanes slogan is "Memories that'll last a life time" and they're not wrong!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Thanks so much to Joel and the crew at Cairns Seaplanes! I took my wife on a Valentines day gift and it was such a great experience! The pilot was very informative and knowledgable, the flight was exciting and we got to see the Great Barrier Reef from an amazing perspective. The flight was for half an hour and we got to see the Reef, Green Island, Fitzroy Island and local coastline. I can highly recommend Cairns Seaplanes!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dominic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cairns Seaplanes also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing