We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAVE YOUR MONEY”
Review of Lan's Vietnamese Restaurant - CLOSED

Lan's Vietnamese Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$29
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Cairns
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SAVE YOUR MONEY”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Worse food ever and to top it off wanted to use the entertainment book and was told they don't accept the entertainment book?! Even though the voucher clearly says Lan's restuarant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zigy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    29
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't get your hopes up”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This restaurant is co located with Discovery Cairns, a reasonable walk from many Esplanade area hotels. Some thought has gone into the inviting décor, and you can dine inside or outside on the terrace. A back door connects with the hotel. The menu has enough options to be tempted but I noticed that many dishes featured the same three or four vegetables.

I missed the happy hour and on the night I visited and chose chose one of the few tables with a good light above, looking up from my reading from time to time to enjoy the view of fireworks in the distance and the people passing by on the footpath. The restaurant had a only a few tables occupied and was large enough to cater for a whole tour group, which it possibly does. Service was pleasant and attentive.

I ordered wontons for entrée and received good value at $5 for three crispy tasty small parcels arriving quickly, with a pleasant little garnish and dipping sauce. Then I made the mistake of wanting to combine the features of two main dishes - Nasi Goreng (usually with fried egg on top, and chilli and spices) together with the mixed meat/seafood inclusions listed in the menu description of their Special Fried Rice. I indicated that I was willing to pay more for that menu variation. It wasn't possible to explain myself properly so I ended up with an ordinary fried rice made "special" by adding two prawns, a mussel (NOT what I would expect and definitely unwelcome) a few large vegetable chunks and some very small pieces of meat and flecks of egg. The small bowl of chilli on the side did not produce the nasi goreng vibe. At $19.90 I considered it overpriced, unmemorable and certainly not what I was hoping for. Many main meal menu items were the same price.

I skipped breakfast there which looked too expensive for what is on offer not far away in a five star.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank zappagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Heard about this place from a friend who thought it was great! I am now a big fan. If you are up in the Kuranda hills sometime make sure you check it out. The green paw paw salad is Amazing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YummySpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice Vietnamese Flavours”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Quite nice Vietnamese flavours, plenty to choose from, average prices, happy, smiling service...eager to please :) Licensed BYO, indoor/Outdoor eating

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChezmossAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We loved the food so much we dined here four out of five nights. Even though we were close to the restaurant hub, the food was divine.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lan's Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing