We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye Candy”

Cairns Regional Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.98*
and up
Cairns Self-Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #24 of 121 things to do in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in a landmark heritage building the Cairns Regional Gallery is the region's premier destination for exhibitions featuring historical and contemporary art by leading regional, national and international artists. The Gallery also presents exhibitions highlighting key works and themes from the permanent collection that focus on the unique cultural heritage of Far North Queensland. Throughout the year the Gallery presents a range of creative learning programs for audiences of diverse ages and backgrounds including art classes, talks and events that relate to exhibitions and the permanent collection.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Eye Candy”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a lovely regional art gallery, different exhibitions all the time. Good cafe out the front. GREAT gifts ideas in the gallery gift shop

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Topbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    65
    20
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Gallery”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Lovely Art gallery and exhibits , on three levels saw the Ben Quilty exhibition after Afganistan very good . Staff very friendly

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marinac999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“How marvelous!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Lovely art gallery with spectacular display rooms, a great way to spend a couple of hours on my last day of holiday.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janine2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

If I read the brochures correctly, this gallery doesn't have a collection of its own but presents regularly changing exhibitions from multiple sources. What a great concept where, presumably, funds are pretty limited.
I was lucky enough to see ben Quilty's "After Afghanistan" paintings. Powerful and moving, all the more so if you know someone serving in Afghanistan. There were two other exhibitions there at the same time. One based on Feathers which was quirky, and the other .... weird, not to my taste at all. But then that's what galleries are about.
The building itself is a beautiful space.
The entry fee at $5 is a mere token.
There are some tempting pieces in the gallery shop, many very reasonably priced. If I were a local I'd be doing a lot of my gift shopping there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MobileEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

An excellent gallery in the heart of Cairns. Fantastic exhibit while we were there and free! In the heart of town

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gator1343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cairns Regional Gallery also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Cairns Regional Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing