We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day with a few glitches”

Down Under Tours - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$124.17*
and up
Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns
Ranked #41 of 159 Tours in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
DeWitt, New York
Level Contributor
545 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Fun day with a few glitches”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our driver was good, and added to the experience with this commentary.

Our visit to Kuranda started with a disappointment, that the train was not running that day and we'd have to use SkyRail in both directions. Don't know if we missed much or not.

The SkyRail was fun, and be sure to take a look around at the stops on the way up. The small visitor center at the middle station was nice. I don't know if it will be there when you visit, but the largest spider I have ever seen has a big web overhead in the SkyRail station. An unplanned enhancement provided by nature.

Our second glitch was the weather. It poured, on and off, much of the afternoon. It is, after all, a rainforest. This put a damper on walking around the village of Kuranda, and also reduced visibility on the SkyRail return trip considerably.

The wildlife center has some nice animals. Of particular note are the Tasmanian devils; normally they are nocturnal and hard to get a good look at in the daytime, but here they has adjusted to daytime hours and were scampering about and very lively. Be sure to learn about Jack the Ripper, a huge crocodile with a past that gave him his name.

We also liked the army duck (amphibious vehicle) ride, and saw a gymbi-gymbi plant. Look, don't touch!

Down Under Tours provided good transportation and driver; Kuranda Rainforestation provided the rest, and it was worthwhile, despite the glitches we encountered.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRD-DUT, Owner at Down Under Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Joe
Thanks for your review and for traveling with us. I also appreciate your understanding with us having to replace the train journey with a return Skyrail. From time to time Kuranda Scenic Rail do have to cancel the train service to Kuranda for safety reasons. Excessive rain fall is one of those times. Due to the nature of the terrain where the track runs, then can experience small land sides, this is what happened recently and train could not operate for 5 days. We understand that holiday time is precious and rather than cancelling the whole tour we offer a return Skyrail journey with a partial cash refund. Of course everyone has the option to cancel with a full refund.
I am so glad you did travel and you found the tour worthwhile and that you enjoyed your day.
We do hope your time in our beautiful region has found memories.
Best Regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    176
    42
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cape Tribulation, Mossman Gorge & The Daintree River”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

An amazing day with a fantastic tour guide, Bruce, who had a real knowledge of the local wildlife and a big passion for its preservation. Not what I had expected but I was glad to have done the trip as it helped expand my knowledge and appreciation of such a beautiful area and why it is a world heritage protected site.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbavister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Memorable day - Daintree and Cape Tribulation with Greg!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We took a full day excursion which took in Daintree river trip, Daintree rainforest with BBQ lunch, Cape Tribulation and Mossman Gorge. The variety and beauty of the scenery made for many many photographs (as we discovered when we got back!), and special thanks to Greg our driver/guide who made the day with his interesting, informative commentary and humour. Yes, there is of course a lot of driving, however this should be obvious - you cant get to remote areas like this without it. We found that the truck type vehicle we had which held 28 passengers was ideal in terms of comfort and all round visibility. A fantastic day out, and one we will remember for a very long time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank velademar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too much driving, expected more”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This day excursion (Mossman Gorge, Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation, Daintree river cruise) made for a very long day with lots of driving. We did get to see quite a bit, but I felt like the majority of it was through the bus window while driving. Mossman Gorge and the rainforest is beautiful, but I wanted more out of the trip. Cape Tribulation was at low tide when we stopped, so we were able to walk quite a ways out on the "beach." The coolest part was getting to see several live crocodiles during the cruise down the Daintree River at the end of the day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRD-DUT, Owner at Down Under Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
HI Alison
Thanks so much for your review. I am sorry that you felt the day had to much driving involved. Cape Tribulation is a 295 klm round trip, and as you would have seen first hand, a good proportion of this is via beautiful coastal drives and through and over rainforest clad mountains. These roads are not your standard highways. For a lot of our passengers this is one of the highlights. Also for the comfort of passengers we do not rush this trip.
Your very correct when you say it is a long day. 11 hours on average. If you take into account all our stops, Daintree River Cruise, Alexandra look out, lunch at Noahs Creek, Cape Tribulation Beach and board walk, Daintree Ice creamery, and Mossman Gorge centre and Rainforest walk, you would have spent approximately 5.5 hours out of the vehicle.
As Cape Tribulation is the only place on earth where two world heritage areas sit side by side, and the only place on earth where a Rainforest meets a Reef, to see this the longer days have to be done.
The point I have taken from your feed back is that we make sure our on sellers of our product make clear to all passengers the distance involved.
Thanks again for your feed back and I am glad that you did see some cool things on your day. We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your time in our beautiful part of the world.
Best Regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garden grove, ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Daintree Rainforest Day Tour”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We took the Down Under Tours Daintree Rainforest walk about tour. Our tour guide Kelvin was knowledgeable and engaging and he made the long bus ride from Cairns to Mossman George interesting and fun. Skip was our local guide on our walk about in the Daintree Rainforest. His informative interpretation of the rainforest, its foods, its medicines and history was great and he also gave us a concert on the didjeridu that was amazing. We then had a beautiful lunch served at the serene Silky Oakls Lodge. It was then on to a riverboat cruise on the Daintree River where we saw crocs on the shore and other local wildlife, all the while we were given another informative lesson on the flora and fauna of the rainforest. There were extras all along the way including tea in the rainforest, local fruit tasting and photo stops on the beautiful Coral Sea coastline. We were very impressed with each of our guides and their knowledge of the rainforest and their passion for the environment. We highly recommend this tour and thank them for a wonderful day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank badlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Down Under Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Down Under Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing