We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good - but expected more!_” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mizuna Restaurant - Novotel Oasis Cairns Resort

Mizuna Restaurant - Novotel Oasis Cairns Resort
Reserve with
Mizuna Restaurant - Novotel Oasis Cairns Resort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #250 of 592 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good - but expected more!_”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

Dined Wednesday night, not a big crowd,but always more arriving at the door. We went with the 2course option - myself entree/main, my mother main/deserts. With mains being served together.
Good sized portions, all nicely presented. Our questions to waitress taking order couldn't be answered as she'd not seen or tasted said items on menu. A simple lemon,lime &bitters drink, had to be sent back, as it was too much bitters served in it. Must have been 30ml not just a squirt around rim of glass! Then replacement drink had no garnish of lemon or lime on return. The steak knife presented was fairly useless as a knife and detracted from an otherwise nice steak dish. Overall all though, I would go back as the meals are nice, well presented and good value if choosing the 2/3 couse option.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    12
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy great price quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

very nice to stay in and eat at novatel Restaurans nice steak and dips recommend for a square meal staff polite and friendly I recommend no problems

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jdblueflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Great value especially for Advantage Plus members. Lovely buffet on some nights, other times three courses for $42 seasonal menu.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Party's Over :-(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Sadly, in line with the devastating downturn in tourism and hotel occupancy in Cairns, unfortunately, Mizuna is only a shadow of its former self!
Gone are the varied and delectable eclectic buffets with mixed cuisine, abundant seafood etc. that we enjoyed in our previous visits to Cairns in Term 2 school holidays (June/July of 2009,2010,2011).
Now one ONLY has a choice of a la carte, although there is a 2 course or 3 course meal deal option for better value.
In line with the reduced custom and patronage, there was skeleton staff on duty for our meal, so the service was bordering on unacceptable.
The Maitre De was very polite and apologetic but the waiting staff left a lot of room for improvement.
On a positive note, Kids meals were of a decent size and moderately priced compared to the adult ones.
Unfortunately for us, the Party is Over and Out at Mizuna at Novotel Oasis Cairns!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“no need to go out, it's a nice place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We were lucky there was a $32 for 2 course special on, this menu is small but the meal was lovely. It's spacious and good. We were in house for 5 days, disn't book for a 6pm pre show meal, the restaurant was nearly deserted and one waitress was snooty cos we hadn't booked. Luckily she didn't serve us, we had a lovely lady looking after us and enjoyed the meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mizuna Restaurant - Novotel Oasis Cairns Resort also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Mizuna Restaurant - Novotel Oasis Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing