We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paperbark Restaurant

Paperbark Restaurant
Reserve with
Paperbark Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #113 of 592 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open air restaurant, overlooking ancient rain-forest on the shores of the great barrier reef. Knowledgeable service staff will tend to your every need whilst the kitchen brigade will supply some of the finest foods in the area to round off a truly special experience.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a great meal served by impeccable wait staff, with a decent selection of drinks in a beautiful setting.... You honest to god cannot go past this place. Having been in cairns 12years I made my way there for the first time tonight and will certainly be going back as soon as possible.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harvey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    38
    13
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great food and service. Could probably have a longer menu but very good overall. Beautiful setting and gorgeous ambience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KayDavidFitchwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I say that this restaurant never disappoints because on the three occasions I've eaten here with friends the meals have been excellent. Others tell me however, that the quality is variable - maybe we've just been lucky! Paperbark, situated as it is in a spacious, airy and beautifully appointed area of the resort with very easy access to direct beachfront would certainly have to rate as one of the most picturesque in the Cairns area. It has that truly tropical feel with widely spaced tables such that you're not sitting on top of other diners and you can actually hear each other speak! Love it here and will certainly be going back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the resort so ate here a few times. Its quite expensive but the atmosphere is very unique and lovely, ambient. Food did not quite suit my taste. Red claw soup was too salty for me. Crumbed haloumi was rubbery and not the right texture. Steak was redeeming. Desserts were all surprisingly lovely. Breakfast was average (I ordered from the menu instead of the buffet). Lunch i had once - beach burger, it was good but garlic aoli a bit too salty. Overall a mixed experience. But its definitely a unique experience and worth a try if you're staying at the resort or if you want something different. The location is a special place and you can stroll on the beach afterwards. Im sure that there are guests who might like the dishes I didnt like due to different taste preferences.

Helpful?
Thank windorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Ambiance in the tropics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

5 star venue nestled amongst a wonderful back dropped off paper bark trees. Close to the beach. Service and attention for detail was just marvellous. I went with my son and parents. The menu is well set out and caters for all food requirements. I normally have fish and instead I had the Balinese pork ginger. I was disappointed as I found it rather to fatty for my palette making the meal a lilt tough to chew. My mother and son enjoyed the seafood laksa however both did comment on how much squid was in it with only one prawn. They found the squid to rubbery. My father enjoyed kangaroo and is comment was mouth watering. Local products. Wine list good. Although I find in Cairns eateries do not take advantage of some of Australia's great winers. I will return however no pork for me. Service was wonderful. Although be must that the waiter had to read it out from a piece of paper rather than memorise it. A great waiter and his attention was spot on. Thank you

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ningaloo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paperbark Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Clifton Beach, Cairns Region
 

Been to Paperbark Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing