We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - recommend to others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay - recommend to others”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed at Holiday Inn May 2011. Very comfortable bed with choice of soft or firm pillows (a thoughtful & appreciated extra), the BEST water pressure from shower rose, couldn't fault the daily cleanliness of room, every staff member we spoke with most courteous & helpful, Most enjoyable, FRESH seafood dinner at their Sirroco restaurant, gymnasium had all we required and was monitored for safety. In all, a wonderful three day stay and great value for money to boot. Would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colviv57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    918
    338
    77
    54
See reviews for
428
965
167
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed here for one night, and would certainly return again if passing through Cairns.
We have previously stayed at another hotel at the other end of Esplande, but thought this was in better, close to resturants, the Marina, great outlook. Nice room, view, but yes the bathroom is SMALL. But if you are only there for a night or two this is not an issue.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobCre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

An older hotel providing free parking. Atrium style with rooms better than expected, but still lower end Holiday Inn. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opushomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your feedback on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Cairns.

I was glad to read that that the staff at the hotel were nice and that you were able to take advantage of the free parking the hotel offer. The service the staff at the hotel provide is something the management team and the staff at Holiday Inn pride ourselves with.

I was disappointed to read that you felt the hotel to be older and a lower end Holiday Inn as we completed last year a multi million dollar refurbishment program including upgrades of all the guest rooms’ bathrooms to feature a new contemporary modern bathroom, a full refresh of the hotels exterior and redesign of the lobby and restaurant to enhance the arrival experience and ambience of the hotel as well as introducing the new Holiday Inn refresh hallmarks to which we have been receiving very positive feedback.

Your impressions of our hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed.

Once again, thank you for your observations and I hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns in the future.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I was very disappointed with this hotel. We only stayed one night, but our room had a very moldy smell. I was glad our stay was only one night. I would not have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank meandererme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback based on your recent experience at Holiday Inn Cairns. I was concerned and sorry to hear you were disappointed, in particular with a mouldy smell in the room.

Please be assured this feedback is taken seriously and we will be investigating this further.

Your impression of the hotel is vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed. Thank you again choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your feedback

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed here a week to escape the onset of an early winter. This hotel was a pleasant and enjoyable surprise. The room was accessed by an open internal tropical atrium and looked out over the boardwalk to the sea. Rebranding has produced interior design makeovers in modern soft colours which blend beautifully. The bed was comfortable and pillow choices made for a great nights sleep. The service offered was exceptionable. All staff were helpful, friendly and prepared assist in any way to make our stay memorable. Dining in produced quality offerings combined with great service. For dining out since the hotel is on the Esplanade a short walk placed us in the Coffee Shop and Restaurant Strip where a myriad of choices could be made.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Township, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Room and location is good but ants are inside the coffee maker.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location of the hotel. We true value our location and are very proud of our rooms after our multi million dollar refurbishment program.

I note your comment about the ants in the room and this feedback and since addressed with our Executive Housekeeper and Housekeeping Department. Unfortunately being in a tropical climate and due to humidity ants can be present; however we have procedures in place for dealing with them.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel .

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I stay at the Holiday inn Cairns regularly (about once a month) for business. Can't fault this hotel, it is fantastic.

Rooms are very modern, room service menu good and available 24 hours. Reception staff are always helpful and it is in a great location! I love the selection of pillows and amazing beds.

There are many tired looking hotels in Cairns, the Holiday Inn is certainly not one of them!
I would highly recommend this hotel to business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvytraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback. I was happy to read that you are a regular guest and always stay at Holiday Inn Cairns when you are in Cairns.

We are very proud of our product and staff at the hotel and we will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team. I personally love the selection of pillows on the bed as well. This is just one of the initiatives which came through the Holiday Inn Global Refresh program.

Thank you again for your feedback and loyal support. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel shortly.

Kind Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing