We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat this location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

Love the Holiday Inn Cairns. Short walk to restaurants in town. Rooms clean and tidy. Can't beat an ocean view room either. Little disappointed with 1ply loo paper though.

Gym is ok as well but get out on the esplanade and go for a walk or run. Plenty to see.

Room service breakfast toast was cold

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Hi Simon from Queensland,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay & thank you for your kind comments. You are correct, great location & the Esplanade is the best place to stay active. The hotel is conveniently located directly on the Esplanade, in walking distance to many of Cairns Attractions.

All the best & looking forward to looking after you again!.

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,192)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,657 - 1,663 of 2,192 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

My partner and I spent three nights in the Holiday Inn and enjoyed the property's overall location. Cairns is a dingy tourist city that has no real value except for its proximity to Port Douglas, the Daintree Rainforest, and other pleasant locales. That being said, Holiday Inn Cairns is a pleasant property situated just above the actual lagoon marina. Our nights each included non-working air conditioning in the middle of deep, warm humidity. After complaining the first and second nights, the problem remained unresolved and we were transferred to a room - which they called an "upgrade" - that STILL had no working air conditioning, smelled badly, and had a worse view of the lagoon that we'd had originally. By the final day of our stay, we attempted to get a partial refund, and were granted it. However, the manager we dealt with was not in any way sorry or helpful, but rather a bit snotty. Our holiday was lovely afterwards but we did not enjoy Holiday Inn nor the stay in Cairns at all.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina are the only choices worth accepting. If the room has sugar ants or nonworki...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seanmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Seanmalin from San Diego California,

Thank you for your feedback!. I see you have posted 3 reviews and would encourage you to continue. Sunny California meets the Sunshine of Cairns!.

Please accept of apologies in regards to your comments about the air-conditioning. Normally we get rave reviews here. 3 Months ago we just invested $600,000 in a new air conditioning system which is certainly needed in our climate. I was pleased to hear that our team were able to offer some compensation for our shortcomings. Working in the service industry, we LOVE being able to get the opportunity to correct a situation when our valued guests are still at the hotel. Thank you for telling us!!.

I'll share your comments with our team who are ALL passionate about delivering on our core purpose of creating "Great Hotels, that Guests Love".

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

WIth 2 weeks in a campervan behind us and about 20 hours of flying ahead of us, my 13yr old daughter and I could not have found a better spot to relax and recharge. I had noted previous trip adviser reports and booked a King Ocean view room. It was totally worth the extra expense as I spent half the afternoon chilling on the balcony with a glass of vino in hand while my daughter hit the pool. The staff could not have been more friendly and accomodating. I dropped off the luggage on the way to leaving back the campervan and they made up our room as early as possible to allow us to check in and start the chill out. Online services were given freely and with a smile and nothing was too much bother. We both really enjoyed our stay, short though it was. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Hi PaulaT,

Great to hear from you and I hope you had a safe trip back to Ireland. I spend 3 months in Ireland back in 2002, great people, beautiful country!.

At the Holiday Inn we want our guests to Stay Relaxed, Stay You!. Our ocean view rooms with balconies are simply amazing. When I read your post, I pictured you sitting back, looking out over the Esplanade, the ocean on a cloudless Cairns day. No better place in the world to relax.

Paula, again thank you for your kind comments. Our team will enjoy hearing your feedback!. As part of our service training we mention to the TEAM a smile costs nothing but is worth so much!. So true!.

All the very best for the second half of 2012. Stay travelling, Stay Paula, Stay Relaxed!

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Close to the Esplanade, we were there for the Ironman Cairns and stayed till the end before driving up towards Brisbane from Cairns.

The rooms are comfortable but we only had half the ocean view. Still, it was very convenient traveling to and from the hotel towards the marina for Reef tours, restaurants etc. Beds are very comfy but the tour desk staff was somewhat condescending and berating when we asked if there was anyway to organize a motorbike tour along the route up to Port Douglas.

Also, when we decided to extend another night's stay, the staff did not inform us of the new rates despite us informing them the night before and we had a bit of shock with the new rates. But there was no helping it since it was too late to search for another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones facing the sea, the other block of the hotel faces the town inland so not much of a...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear 3ssa,

Thank you for your review and taking the time to give us some feedback. Our team learn from this valuable information and allows us to better deliver on our core purpose of deliverying "Great Hotels, Guests Love".

I see you are an experienced reviewer, 10 trip advisor posts to date from 7 cities!. I see you were impressed with our beaches and the drive from Cairns to Port Doulas has some of the best beaches in the world in my opionion. I'll look into your comments in regards to our response to your enquiry to a motor bike tour to Port Douglas. I'm sure there is a company that does it. Infact now you mention it I think I would like to do it!.

If you travel our way again, we would love the opportunity to look after you.

All the very best,

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We have stayed in the Holiday Inn Cairns every year for twelve years. We have a King ocean view room - the same one every year. It has large rooms a delightful atrium and good dining room, cocktail bar and swimming pool. .The restaurants along the esplanade at Cairns are very good although a alittle expensive. Cairns has a alarge lagoon which is very pleasant.
We also do day trips to the northen beaches such as Pt Dougas, Palm Cove (a must ) Holloways Beach, Yorkeys Knob and a few more.
Other places we drive to are the towns of Daintree,Mareeba,.Atherton and Innisfail.
Itis best to hire a car so you can do these at your leisure.
We find Cairns and Tropical North Queensland a great holiday foe us.

Room Tip: King ocean view .
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NEV46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Hello Nev46 from Adelaide,

Great to see you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn. Thank you for your loyalty & letting people know all the great things about our hotel!. The views from the hotel are unbelievable!. Nothing better than at the end of a hard day out being a tourist is sitting on the balconies at the Holiday Inn overlooking the Esplanade. I was pleased you enjoyed our Sirocco menu, Sanjesh our head Chef has just made some changes and it is receiving rave reviews!. Value for money, exceptional flavours!.

WOW.....See you next year on your 13th visit in as many years!!!. Please ask for me during your stay, it would be great to catchup!. Are you a member of our Priority Club Rewards Program?

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn at Cairns for 5 nights. Our room up the top overlooking the water was wonderful. A King suit. Very roomy and light with wide views and extra wide balcony. The bed was very comfy and everything just right, except the spa in bathroom not as good as the rest of the quality. Would recommend this place though, helpful staff and great position.Unfortunately we didn't swim in the pool as it wasn't heated, also the breakfast wasn't as good as we'd hoped, and the coffee was horrible. (we bought our own from a supermarket to take to the breakfasts) these were the only 2 let downs.

Room Tip: If you want luxury, the king suit is this. Very roomy and huge comfy bed. Fantastic views of harbour...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dell20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Dell20

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Cairns!. I see you are from Sydney, so your get away was well planned as Cairns is enjoying great weather at the moment. Whilst the southern states are chilling, Tropical North Queensland is enjoying the heat!.

I'll look further into your coffee comment. We have two new machines in our restaurant for breakfast. One is filtered coffee and the other is a self espresso machine making flat whites, lattes, cappuccinos, etc. Our breakfast scores in our guest feedback tracking rate amongst the best in class as our breakfast Chef is passionate about delivering the best breakfast in town!. Next time ask for me at the front desk, It would be great to say hi & have a coffee!

Take care, thank you for your great comments and look forward to seeing you again soon!.

Best regards

Matt & Holiday Inn Cairns Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The location was great and very handy to restaurants etc, The room was lovely and clean, the beds very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

It was also very handy to have a tour desk in the foyer to assist with local information and tour bookings.

We booked through wotif and it was great value as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Hello Louisa,

Great to hear from you and thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Cairns. We really appreciate your comments and highlighting our clean rooms, friendly team, great location.

It’s not common for hotels to have a full tour desk in their foyer and the team have a wealth of knowledge and most importantly are friendly & helpful!.

Until next time, thank you for sharing your experience.

Best regards

Matt & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £93 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing