We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"good,comfortable basics in an excellent location"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"good,comfortable basics in an excellent location"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Checking in was smooth and friendy,as was staff, generally
Lobby quite drab--really need to work on improving that initial impression!Ditto for decor in room and breakfast restaurant. brown, brown,brown!
Room was a reasonable size but bathroom was small. View was ok ( half ocean, half RSL ) but was easy enough to move balcony chairs to face the right way!
Good aircon, very comfortable beds,excellent shower.

Buffet breakfast had a large range of choices but was poorly staffed.
Room service prompt and food delicious...
Pool and gym disappointing but didnt matter to us, as hotel is right on the esplanade boardwalk and the lagoon pool is also nearby .
A bit more attention to detail and some interior decorating would go a long way.
We would definately consider this hotel again.

Room Tip: high up,with balcony . not facing RSL-noisy and an eyesore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Hello Hannahro,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We have taken your comments on board and will be using these to help improve our product and service.

The next time you travel to stay with us do not hesitate to contact the hotel in advance to request a room on the esplanade side of the building.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    873
    309
    69
    51
See reviews for
405
906
153
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

we will stay there again on our next trip to cairns its in a perfect location where you walk out the door onto the esplanade or shops and cafe`s etc , the rooms are clean and in good condition , the buffet breakfast is very nice and so much to chose from that even the fussiest eater will be pleased . the wifi works in the rooms really well too unlike some hotels .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Hello steve c,

Thank you for posting your feedback.

It's great to see you enjoyed your stay and the hotel facilities. I agree that our buffet breakfast has a wide variety to choose from.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns again soon.

Best Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
403 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,547 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Cairns recently while on business in Cairns, This year The Holiday Inn chain, celebrates its 60th Anniversary, I would like to thank them for letting me be a part of this, by every wonderful stay I have ever had and all the special memories. This Hotel is no exception to the fantastic service IHG delivers across their chain to the marvelous friendly welcome at the reception within a stunning atrium it's all really rather lovely when you enter, and if you have a hire car parking is free, a rare but pleasant additional surprise.

The staff from check in to room service, the Housekeeping and concierge are super nice and nothing is too much trouble. The location is brilliant on the esplanade and a short stroll to the city central highlights, and tourist attractions. This hotel has everything you might need if your just staying in and any tour you might want to do can be organized at the desk. there's a very well equipped gym, lovely swimming pools, a great restaurant, the Holiday Inn Sirocco brand, very nice, a good bar and Lots of lovely tropical gardens and rock pools to sit about and relax and read a paper.

The room was perfect, the bed is amongst the best I've slept in, like sleeping on a cloud, there's a pillow menu so if you have a preference then you can find it. The bathroom is very nice with good amenities, plenty of hot water and very clean a lovely bath tub and good shower, it was wonderful. There's a good sized balcony which has a lovely view over the Cairns Harbour or coral sea. 

I have over the years stayed in several hotels in Cairns and this is by far the very best.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VangeInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Hi VangeInternational,

Thank you for your glowing review; from someone who contributes so often it most certainly is a compliment.

We are indeed celebrating 60 years of Holiday Inn and we want to thank you for your loyalty to Holiday Inn and IHG.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns again soon.

Best Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We think that this hotel is great while staying in Cairns. It is located on the Esplanade and therefore close to everything. Our room was spacious and clean. The woman who checked us in was very helpful and provided us with a map of the city (at least touristy areas of it) and explained what each point on the map was. We enjoyed walking on the Esplanade, checking out the night market and dipping our feet in the Esplanade pool.

The pool at the hotel is nice, but the day we went, it was too windy/cold to swim. My husband used the spa and loved it.

For those with children, there is a children's playground/park and water play area almost behind the hotel (not affiliated with the hotel).

Breakfast was included with our room rate. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the hotel. There was a very nice selection.

All in all, we enjoyed the Holiday Inn Cairns and would return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Hi VanessaCR,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear that we are doing a good job.

Should you travel through Cairns again we'd love to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Holiday Inn, Cairns, has simply the most comfortable beds in Cairns. I travel to Cairns several times a year and I really enjoy staying here.

The room has easily the best set-up for me when I need to work. A good quality chair, desk lamp and it is quiet.

When I am done for the day, the hotel is located on the Esplanade, which makes the short stroll into the main restaurant and shopping areas a delight. If I am busy, the hotel restaurant offers delicious meals from breakfast to dinner. A well stocked inexpensive bottle shop is a handy when I am visiting friends for dinner. The hotel staff are always professional and happy to assist.

I can thoroughly recommend the Cairns Holiday Inn as a great base in this beautiful city that I know and love.

Room Tip: The hotel has an excellent club program that I recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ConsultantDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Consultant Doctor,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Cairns and thank you for your kind comments. The team certainly strive for this sort of experience and we all believe our success will come through creating a unique guest experience for our valued guests.

The team work hard to create a home away from home at the Holiday Inn. We often talk about the importance of allowing our guests to feel relaxed and be themselves at the hotel. It helps to get a good sleep when you are travelling and hence the importance of a good mattress & pillow. 18 months ago our Owners invested in a complete refurbishment which has further assisted the Holiday Inn Cairns on delivering on its core purpose of creating "Great Hotels, Guests Love".

Thank you for your loyalty, thank you for sharing your positive experience. The team and I look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Cairns again in the near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Quisco, Chile
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Typical Holiday Inn solid quality, friendly & efficient staff, a very pleasant stay. The room service meal selection is a little weak, is my only criticism. Hotel room was perfectly fine for this price range, bathroom a little bit small but not an issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Omillett,

Thank you for your kind response in regards to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Cairns. The team get very excited when we receive this sort of positive feedback from an experienced "Senior Trip Advisor Contributor". From your 31 reviews you would have experienced many varying types of stays. Here at the Holiday Inn Cairns, the team pride themselves on our core purpose of creating "Great hotels, guests Love". We understand we must all strive to create this unique guest experience!.

Do come and visit us again next time you are "down under"!. On a personal note, I would love to travel to Chile one day, I’ve heard great reviews from friends.

Did you join our Priority Rewards Club during your stay?. If not then please look into it as you will receive fantastic benefits and earn points for redemptions whilst staying at any of our 4500 hotels around the world.

Stay travelling, Stay Omillett, Stay Holiday Inn!!

Best regards

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I recently went to Cairns for a business trip, I normally stay at the Sebel, however, due to it being booked out I stayed at Holiday Inn, I was pleasantly surprised. the room had a fantastic view over the water and the esplanade, it was clean and quiet, the only downfall was a tiny bathroom and the early morning flights landing into Cairns airport, which start at 5.30am. The bed was very comfortable with a nice selection of pillows to choose from. I had dinner in the restaurant which was a nice meal, it is close to some nice restaurants. Being on the esplanade you can take a nice walk in the morning before going to work. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlooking the Esplanande
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussypot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Fussypot 13,

Great to have you staying at the Holiday Inn Cairns for the first time and pleased to hear you will be coming back!!!. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with other travellers.

Did you join our Priority Club Rewards programme?. If no then ask about it on your next stay!.

Looking forward to looking after you again on your next stay. Stay Fussy.....Stay at Holiday Inn!.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing