We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Holiday Inn with very small bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012 as part of our honeymoon. Rooms were a good and bed was comfortable but bathroom and bath were extremely small. Gym facilities are poor with only treadmill. On the plus side it is located right next to the Boardwalk and it is a 5 minute walk to the centre of Cairns. Staff were all helpful. Compared to other 4 star hotels that we have stayed in Australia this isn't as good and the amenities are a lot poorer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty17r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Hello Matty17r,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments are important to help us create Great Hotels Guest Love.

Cairns is a great city to keep fit with bike and walking tracks dotted all over the place. As a health consious team we are taking steps to upgrade our gym so we can best meet the needs of our guests, particularly coming into the wet season when our guests may be unable to get out and enjoy the esplanade.

Should you travel to Cairns again we would love to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,687 - 1,693 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We only had one night in Cairns with my husband and two daughters. Location was excellent but the room was small but extremely comfortable with beautiful pillows (choice of soft or firm) and comfortable beds. We were somewhat bemused by the tiny bathrooms but it was ok for us as we were only there to sleep. There was nowhere to relax and spread out so perhaps be mindful of this. The buffet breakfast was great but the real strength of this place was the staff. The reception staff were very helpful and even offered us a late checkout as our plane wasnt leaving to 1.00pm . Sue at the travel desk was extraordinary. We arrived at 12.30 pm on the Sunday and with several quick phonecalls managed to get us on the shuttle bus to the skycable to Karunda and back by 5,30. Without her expert knowledge we would have missed out on seeing the hinterland of Cairns. What a fantastic asset she is to the hotel. Overall a comfortable night in a well located hotel

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritawbool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Hello Ritawbool,

Thank your for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I will be passing on your comments to Sue on our Tour Desk. Sue has a massive amount of knowledge about Cairns and all it has to offer. We are certainly very lucky to have someone like Sue on our team.

We are glad you enjoyed your short but sweet stay with us and we hope to welcome you back for a longer stay again soon.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Truly a four star Holiday Inn. Location excellent at walking distance to the Cairns downtown restaurants and shops area. Stayed in this hotel two times between cruises at the great barrier. Didn’t book ocean view rooms but the friendly and helpful staff out us in the best rooms available for the rate (even got partial ocean view). Rooms have balcony. Check in was very fast. Rooms modern and spotless clean. Personnel very friendly, quick response to any demand. Courier delivered to the room instantly, although not urgent and not demanded. Good buffet breakfast. Decently priced, good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdictedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Hello AdictedTraveler,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It was great to see you enjoyed both of your stays with us.

Next time you travel to Far North Queensland we hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns.

Best Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A friendly male staff member at Reception was very helpful with check in. We had booked on-line a few days before and took advantage of the "Weekend Rate" which included breakfast. It was also a cheaper room rate as it did not promise an ocean view. We were allocated room 614 and we could see the Esplanade from our window, which was a pleasant extra. The room had two comfortable double beds with an assortment of pillows which were labelled "soft" or "firm". The room was clean and the decor was modern and in good condition. The room itself was quiet and there were no noises that we were aware of. We had one mishap when we turned the supplied hairdryer on in the bathroom, it blew a fuse and we had no electricity in the room. We rang reception and a very helpful staff member arrived within five minutes to replace the hairdryer and rectify the electricity problem. The location is superb as it is right on the Esplanade, only a few minutes walk from the Lagoon and restaurants and Night Markets. Going for a walk or jog along the Esplanade with a magical ocean view is a must in Cairns. As breakfast was included in our package, we thought it would be a continental breakfast but upon our arrival at the restaurant, we were entitled to a full buffet breakfast. There was a varied selection of hot food as well as cereals, fruit, danishes, muffins and an assortment of breads to toast. All the food was of a high quality and kept at their appropriate temperatures, which made it so much more enjoyable. We were really impressed with our overnight stay with the quality of the room, the reasonableness of price, the delicious buffet breakfast included in the package, the friendly and helpful staff and the fabulous location on the Esplanade.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swayze073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Hello Swayze073,

Thank you for your very kind feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review and sharing it with the many people that search through Trip Advisor looking for that special place to stay. We pride ourselves on delivering a great guest experience and we certainly look for continuous improvement.

I'll ensure I share these favourable comments with our team; they do get excited when they see our customers appreciating the service we provide.

Swayze073, keep travelling, keep reviewing, and keep staying at a Holiday Inn.

Best regards & go the mighty Cowboys!.

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Really lovely experience with tropical indoor garden. room was great. Nice Breakfast. Service at front desk was nicest I have had in a long while. Good location in Cairns. Parking downstairs can be a challenge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Hello ScampMalanda,

Thank you for your very kind feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review and sharing it with the many people that search through Trip Advisor looking for that special place to stay. We pride ourselves on delivering a great guest experience and we certainly look for continuous improvement.

The gardens at the property are a unique feature of the hotel & we get a lot of feedback in regards to the two large Barramundi ponds in the hotel. Did you get a chance to hand feed the Barramundi?. The hotel has cared for them for nearly 20 years, there’s 18 residents, all have names and their weight these days is in excess of 20Kilos!. It’s a real attraction that our Guests Love!.

I'll ensure I share these favourable comments with our team; they do get excited when they see our customers appreciating the service we provide.

ScampMalanda, keep travelling, keep reviewing, and keep staying at a Holiday Inn.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Good points: great location - right on the esplanade, near the shops and restaurants and very central for picking up for day trips etc. Ocean view room had a beautiful view and room was a good size with a lovely balcony. Front desk staff, tour desk and concierge were very helpful and friendly. Food not bad. Interesting lagoon inside the hotel featuring fish, molluscs etc.
Bad points: room wasn't very clean. The floor wasn't vacuumed for three days. On the evening of day 3 after returning from a long day trip we complained to the duty manager who responded very quickly. He arranged for the concierge to vacuum as housekeeping had gone home and promised us a VIP clean the next day. But we shouldn't have to get a VIP clean - the rooms should be cleaned properly every day. Very disappointing.
As other reviewers have pointed out the bathrooms are very small - if one person is sitting on the toilet there's no room for anyone else to get in or out of the bathroom. sound proofing between rooms isn't great and we could here the water pressure from neighbouring rooms if they were showering.
Overall the hotel does the job but If we went to Cairns again I would probably opt for a holiday apartment.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Nerys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Hello Nerys A,

Congratulations on your 3rd review and thank you for taking the time to give us some valuable feedback. We use all the feedback we receive to fine tune our operation. We love creating a stay environment where our guests expectations are exceeded and they walk away from the Holiday Inn with lasting memories.

Thank you for your kind comments in regards to the various positive experiences of your stay. You are correct in saying that the hotels location is great, rooms have a beautiful view and are a good size and of course our front office, tour desk, concierge staff were helpful and friendly.
The team are passionate about creating a Great Hotel that our guests Love. In fact this is our CORE PURPOSE!.

Your comments in regards to your room servicing are also appreciated. I will personally follow this up with our Executive Housekeeper and her team. My sincere apologies for this lapse of service you experienced here.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us some great feedback.

Keep reviewing, keep travelling, and keep staying at a Holiday Inn!

Best regards

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Right on the esplanade, we had a great view from our ocean facing room.
We were on the 6th floor so had no outside noise.
Previously we were on the ground floor and could hear all the street noise and staff coming and going to the laundry.
The bathrooms are very pokie, but were clean.
You are in walking distance of shops, restaurants and pubs
The front office staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less outside road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthWA05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Dear PerthWA05

Hello from Cairns, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Queensland!. Thank you for taking the time in sharing your review and thank you for being a "regular" guest!!. Did you join our PCR Club?. You can enjoy great benefits, earn points for your stay and best of all its free!. You can sign up on line or ask at the front desk on your next visit.

I will personally pass on your positive comments to the team. As you would have experienced, the team put our guests stay at the heart of everything they do. Our CORE PURPOSE is Great Hotels, Guests Love and hearing your reinforcing comments its pleases me greatly that we are delivering.

Come again and again.....stay travelling, stay reviewing and stay at a Holiday Inn.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & Team Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £88 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing