We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Promise fulfilled” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Bingil Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Promise fulfilled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

After my last review (20 th July) the General Manager wrote to ask that I try the hotel again and he promised to improve. So when I had another night stop over in Cairns we took him at his word and booked.
This time around the room was spotless and the bed linen the correct size. The view out to sea from the higher floors really is excellent and our room was very quiet. We had to leave very early the next morning so were unable to sample the breakfast. While there is nothing that can be done about the tiny bathrooms ours was clean this time round.
As on our previous visit the staff at the front desk were exceptionally helpful and polite; the Holiday Inn has a real asset in its staff.
At this price point, and assuming the improvements we saw on this visit are maintained, the hotel is good value and comfortable. It is in a good location and if you opt for an ocean view room the views are great.
The GM's promise of a much improved stay were fulfilled; thanks Matt.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Thank you Missi0nary,

I was very pleased when I read your review and the fact we got your stay right this time!. The TEAM & I are really passionate about being the best we can be!. As I've mentioned before, our core purpose is to create a Great Hotel, that Guests Love. "Love" is a strong word and it is only possible when the passion exists!. We take all feedback seriously & we are all passionate about delivering on our core purpose.

Let me know the next time you are coming through & I'll make sure you get that breakfast you missed.

Stay travelling, stay reviewing, stay at a Holiday Inn!

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    871
    309
    69
    51
See reviews for
405
904
153
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We have just returned from our 8 th trip to Holiday Inn Cairns.
What a great hotel this is.It has large rooms with balcony overlooking the esplanade and the sea.
The tropical atrium is quite spectacular and a nice place to have a drink.
The breakfast is really good with a wide variety of food.
The staff are very helpful and friendly with booking in or out no trouble.
All the northern beaches are worth the trip. Palm Cove, Trinity Beach and the hotel, Holloways Beach are just a few.
We are looking foreward to returning next year.
Neville and Ann.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEV46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Dear Neville & Ann,

Great to hear from you & thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle. The views from the ocean views rooms are a favourite of our guests and are highly sort after. We love the beaches too. The family & I most weekends jump in the car and head up north!.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, Kent, England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Recommended. Everything you need at a good rate. Central location and just a 7 minute walk from Reef Terminal where most of the Barrier Reef trips depart. An unexpected but very welcome surprise was that we were upgraded to a prime facing ocean view room - Thank You Holiday Inn. One suggestion for management - why don't you place trolleys in the breakfast room for guests to place their used plates etc? I am sure 80% of guests would happily do this as it is an inclusive price buffet breakfast & it would save the staff who are busy & don't use trays from laboriously carrying very few items at a time up, down steps & through doors. Rob on concierge desk was helpful.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CillaL-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Cillal-D from Kent in England,

I hope you enjoyed your tropical holiday and the escape from the cold!. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

We appreciate your thoughts and suggestions in regards to our breakfast. We are always looking at new ways to deliver improved service to our valued guests. I have passed on your comments onto the restaurant team.

Thank you for mentioning the TEAM and Rob in particular. Rob is always looking for ways to wow our guests and he is a proud Holiday Inn Cairns TEAM member. It makes a big difference when I can share these comments with the TEAM who take a lot of pride in their work.

18 Views of which 32 people have found them helpful!. Keep reviewing, keep travelling, its a real passion of mine!.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Overall, the hotel was ok - no huge complaints, but I did notice that the carpet had a lot of spots on it, probably needed a good steam cleaning, and the fridge had someone's leftover milk carton in it. Also, the room we got was on the second floor and right above the garbage pick up area, so every morning we were woken up by the dump truck taking the garbage out. You should make sure when selecting the room to ask for a higher floor, or not above the garbage.
The location of the hotel itself was great though, walking distance to everything, but still a little bit removed from all the crowds.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors, ocean view
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank e419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear e419

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle.

Please accept my sincere apologies in regards to the housekeeping issues mentioned. Please be assured this isn't our usual standard and we will use this valuable feedback to take corrective action. An example of our immediate corrective action was upon reading your review it prompted us to ring our waste management provider to ensure they were abiding by the pre arranged late pick ups that we have in place. A good night sleep is important to our travellers & paramount to our continued success. Thanks to you we have been able to fix this issue!.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

stay holiday inn 2 days and beach view room is a must if u are the light sleeper. great location, great view if u choose the one facing the esplanade. hotel public area is really average. great value thou.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bing-BiLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear Bing-BiLu

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle. The views from the ocean views rooms are a favourite of our guests and are highly sort after.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here about 12 months ago and was happy so booked again for a 4 day stay.
Very convenient location, short walking distance to the CBD and heaps of eateries on the Esplanade with the tourists.
You won't see too many of the locals at these eateries.
Hotel service was great and staff very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast buffet was a bit ordinary compared to similar hotels but good selection of food for local and Asian cuisines.
Only complaint was cost of Wi-fi, $12.95 per hour but Wi-fi is free at most eateries on Esplanade so we ate there instead of the hotel.
Will definitely stay here next time in Cairns

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Esplanade side with a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear missy 601

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. 31 reviews in 15 cities...wow you have been busy. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

As you mentioned, the hotel is conveniently located on the Esplanade, away from the noisy cafes however just a couple of minutes walk and you are in the hustle and bustle.

Thank you for mentioning the TEAM “ Hotel service was great and staff very friendly and helpful”. It makes a big difference when I can share these comments with the TEAM who take a lot of pride in their work.

I’ll share your comment in regards to the breakfast with our Chef and Guest Experience Manager Food & Beverage. To be honest I was a little surprised by your comment as you will see from prior comments our breakfast is normally one of the highlights. None the less, my apologies it wasn’t up to its normal high standard during your visit.

The hotel offers hourly internet packages, 24 hours & by the minute. Next time you stay please visit our internet cafe with very reasonable rates at $2.00 per 15 minutes.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Great hotel, great location close to everything. Very clean and comfortable with helpful staff. Highlight was the buffet breakfast with squeeze your own fresh juice. Yum. Really felt spoilt. Will definitely return. Cairns was a lovely surprise too - very international with lots of outdoor eating.... and Port Douglas only an hour away (and the drive there)- just beautiful. Highlight was Mossman Gorge and the lovely Aboriginal people running everything. Great trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear Cairns Australia

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback through Trip Advisor. We value your feedback as it allows us to fine tune the hotel to ensure we consistently deliver a great nights stay.

Wow, what a great name for a Trip Advisor profile. You are correct, Cairns is an amazing part of the world and there is just so much to do up here!. From swimming in lagoon to snorkelling, on the reef, from walking the rain forests to swinging from the trees with adventure tourism.


Thank you for mentioning the TEAM and our great breakfast.“ Very clean and comfortable with helpful staff. Highlight was the buffet breakfast with squeeze your own fresh juice. Yum. Really felt spoilt”.

It makes a big difference when I can share these comments with the TEAM who take a lot of pride in their work.

Again, thank you for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the very near future.

Best regards

Matt Rippin & TEAM Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing