We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

On the whole the Holiday Inn is fine. Good location close to shops and restaurants. We upgraded to an ocean view room with balcony which was excellent. Only downfall was the bathroom, tiny bathroom which needed some extra attention, there was mould in the corner of the bath and the floor tiles were grubby. I think the room was recently painted but overall he hotel is dated. Housekeeping average, Otherwise a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Can only recommend the ocean view rooms if price is right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear Kristine Z,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your ocean view balcony room; these are our most popular rooms.

We always strive to deliver clean rooms and amenities and I will be sure to pass this information onto our executive housekeeper.

We appreciate all of our reviews as this gives us the opportunity to make our hotel even better.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,610 - 1,616 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

2nd time here,
I enjoyed that complimentary upgrade to seaview room - thanks (gold loyalty member)
great comfy king size bed with nice view over pool and the Coral Sea.
Bathroom small but well appointed. Buffet Breakfast good and well priced. Dinner in restaurant was also good, but serving size a little small considering price. Nice pool area.
Large TV with some cable channels. They charge for internet which is annoying !
Some small ants in room, this happens in tropical areas esp during the rainy season.
But will stay again. Unless I find a hotel with complimentary internet in the IHG group in Cairns.

Room Tip: High floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dingo_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear Dingo_Joe,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, it is always great to see such active members of the Trip Advisor community.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to a seaview room, this is a fantastic benefit of being part of our Priority Club awards, which will soon be known as IHG Rewards as of July. This is great news for you because it means as of the 1st of July, Gold and Platinum members will receive free wifi.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

After a long flight from PNG with lots of delays, we arrived late at Cairns. Check in staff were fantastic. I have stayed at Holiday inns in Melbourne Tulamarine and Port Moresby PNG. They hadn't really impressed me all that much. Over priced, rooms a bit dated and service generally fairly poor. Cairns restored my faith in the name though. Elsie at check in was cheerful and very helpful, despite the late hour. She corrected some mistakes with our bookings that had seemed too hard everywhere else. For example despite having booked all of our accommodation months in advance and having copies of our paper work at the desk, they somehow had no rooms allocated when we arrived. Cairns was a breath of fresh air. Fixed up past double billing of accounts arranged a late check out the next day, nothing was too much trouble. The location is handy to nearby restaunts and cafe's. nice rooms, clean. Breakfast meal was a bit pricey for bacon and eggs though. In all a good stay, I would go back ther again.

Stayed: February 2013
2  Thank Bootsjjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear Bootsjjs,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, it is always lovely to see such great reviews, it is very rewarding.

We understand how frustrating long flights and delays can be, however our staff always strive to deliver wonderful friendly service not matter what time of the day or night. I am very happy to hear your stay has restored faith in our brand; our aim is to create great hotels that our guests love.

I will pass this review onto Elise our Guest Service Agent. She is a fantastic part of our team.

We are currently trialing a breakfast package, should it be successful, this will continue to be available for our guests.

If your travels ever bring you to Cairns in the future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is a true Holiday Inn as the come and what you expect of it.
Although the hallways in the main building are dated, the rooms seem refurbished and comfy. The ones with balcony towards the seaside have a nice view and invite for a beer after the trip to the reef. Location-wise there is better but the 10min walk to the center and marina is actually a good exercise. All in all there is not much to say, value for money is good and the product provided very satisfying.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sveenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear Sveenz,

Thank you for your feedback, it is always great to see such active members of the Trip Advisor community. 67 reviews in 44 cities, you have been busy and would have been to some spectacular places I’m sure.

We are very proud of our hotel, and it is looking fantastic after the renovations, our guests love the modern look and features. I have noted your comments regarding the hallways and will pass this onto our engineering department.

Our ocean view rooms with balconies are the perfect way to end a wonderful day on the Great Barrier Reef, and a cold beer sounds great!

We always suggest to guests if they are interested to walk to the marina, it is only a short 10 minute walk past the lagoon, through the park, and it is lovely on a warm sunny day.

If your travels ever bring you to Cairns in the future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We arrived around midnight after a delayed flight. The single man on reception at that time handled our late arrival efficiently, in a friendly manner.

The hotel reception is large, and has the usual comfortable seating area.
It is well position, being at one end of the main shopping area of The Esplanade.

In addition to a restaurent on the ground floor, there is a 'bottle' shop, what we in the North of England would call an out door or off licence! That said its not the cheapest, but its convenient.

We were on the 5th floor, with a balcony on the sea side. We found an ice maker on our floor, which came in usefull for our late night G & T's.

What can you say about the hotel. It's a Holiday Inn, its clean, the beds were comfortable, it's well positioned, the rooms have everything needed, and the furnishings though obviuosly like every other room in every other Holiday Inn provide whats required when away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbrittania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear Bobbrittania,

Thank you for your feedback, it is always great to see such active members of the Trip Advisor community.

I am happy to hear that you were given great service upon check in. No matter what time of the day or night, we always strive to deliver great service.

Here at The Holiday Inn, we understand flights get delayed and cancelled and this can very frustrating, our staff are always prepared to help should our guests ever have a problem.

Should your travels bring you to Cairns in the future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on our trip to Cairns. Our time didn’t get off to a good start after finding out I’d booked our stay for January instead of February. Luckily the reception staff were extremely helpful and managed to find us a room for no extra charge.

For Australian standards this was a very good hotel, lovely clean and spacious room with a very comfy bed at an average price. The location is great, situated right on the esplanade and a few minutes’ walk from all the restaurants and shops.

Breakfast wasn’t included in our room but was quite expensive at $25 per person, the Wi-fi was also extortionate at $24 per day!!! They also charge for the use of the car park at $5 per day, but with everywhere else in Australia hidden costs are the norm!

The hotel also has a very good travel desk for booking trips to the Barrier Reef, it’s worth paying extra to go on a better boat and to an outer reef which are less spoilt. You definitely get what you pay for. Ask for the ‘Tusa’ speed boat, they also have the best diving and snorkelling equipment.

For anyone interested in wildlife, you can find the roosting bats just a 2 minute walk from this hotel. (Just head towards the local library) They are fascinating and a good photo opportunity.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilgreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear lilgreeny,

Thank you for your feedback, it is always great to see such active members of the Trip Advisor community.

I am sorry to hear that your trip didn’t get off to the greatest start; however, we understand that these things happen and our staff are always very accommodating and will always try to fix any problems for our guests, so I am glad to hear that everything turned out okay.

We are very proud of our hotel, and always try to ensure our rooms and amenities are clean and presentable.

We are trialling a new breakfast package as we speak, and should it be successful this will continue to be on offer for our guests.

Sue at our tour desk is wonderful, she is a local and has been diving for years, she is the go to woman for all things related to tours. I will pass this onto her.

Cairns has some amazing photo opportunities, the bats can be seen upside down in a sleepy daze during the day, or just before sunset they fill the skies over Cairns, it is truly a sight to see.

Should your travels bring you to Cairns in the future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed overnight at the end of a week away on a business trip. The Holiday Inn staff were friendly, the room was comfortable and had two double beds. I ordered room service and enjoyed the barramundi very much. Situated at the end of a run of hotels gives you an "away from it" feel which was also nice. I would recommend it for a couple of nights as the room isn't overly big and would get a little small after a few days.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Brissiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear Brissiegurl,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, it is always great to hear such nice reviews, it is very rewarding.

I am glad to hear that you received great friendly service and I will pass this onto our team.
The barramundi is a very popular option on our menu. We are also introducing a new menu in May of this year, which is really exciting.

Our hotel is in a prime location, and our guests love that it is only a few minutes walk to local amenities and attractions.

If you are ever in Cairns again for work or leisure, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £88 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing