We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccomend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly reccomend”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Initially i wasnt keen on staying at another Holiday Inn in Cairns after i had stayed in the Holiday Inn Colonial which it was known as 18 month ago which is now the Ibis. That hotel was terrible and very outdated and run down so good luck to The Ibis on that one.

Anyhow i am glad i ended up booking the one on the Esplanade as it was fantastic, i had initally booked it for the location but i can now say the room was modern, clean and very comfortable beds. The customer service was very friendly, when we requested extra towels they were delivered immediately. We could see the ocean from our room but it wasnt an ocean view room so i am glad we decided not to upgrade. My room consisted of two double beds so with a family of four it was perfect. The only downside is that the bathroom is very small.

We had breakfast in our package and it was value for money and the food was great and the staff in the restaurant was very friendly.

The kids had a swim in the pool and they had alot of fun.

Have already told my husband that on our next trip to Cairns we wont be looking elsewhere we will go back to this one.

Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeautyandBeast6277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear BeautyandBeast6277,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always good to read such great reviews.

I am glad that you chose to stay with us here at The Holiday Inn, our newly renovated rooms are a hit with our guests and they enjoy the new modern decor and amenities.

We strive to deliver great customer service, and should a guest need any extra items such as towels, we are more than happy to arrange those items for you.

Our breakfast packages are becoming extremely popular, and our breakfast has an array of delicious foods.

Next time you and your family are looking for a break, we look forward to welcoming you all back to the Holiday Inn Cairns.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    918
    340
    77
    54
See reviews for
428
965
168
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the Cairns Holiday Inn in early February, 2013. The initial greeting by Anna, on duty that evening, was warm and she had typed up a message from friends welcoming us to Cairns. She said she was expecting us and was pleased we had reached the hotel easily. Throughout our five day stay she continued to be a bright hello as her shift changed to daytime.

The restaurant staff were very helpful and their breakfast buffet was one of the best we had experienced in our month in Australia. They were constantly attentive to the food and were constantly refreshing it.

Our room was comfortable, quiet and the air conditioning and fan kept us cool throughout the hot, humid time we were there. It was a very pleasant stay, close to the downtown area but just removed from the busy waterfront strip by one half block. It was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We were located on an upper floor with a sideways view of the waterfront and facing the Servicemens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phidippus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Phidippus,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always good to read such great reviews, and I must say, it is extremely rewarding.

I am glad to hear that your greeting was lovely; we strive to give our guests the best service regardless of the day or night.

Our breakfast is a real hit with our guests, there is an amazing selection of foods and our juice bar is quite popular.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn Cairns the next time you are in the area.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here for 1 night a few weeks ago. Was in Cairns for training purposes and chose this hotel because of the location to the training and because I'm familiar with Cairns Esplanade and have walked past this hotel many times.

Was not disappointed. Check in/check out was a breeze. Friendly staff. Room was clean and spacious. King size bed that was.... oh so comfortable!! Had a slight view of the ocean from the window. All rooms are open to an outside hallway. Restaurant on site (didn't try it). Pool. Parking is available for a small fee....I parked on the street...for free! Bathroom is small, 2 people could not be in there at the same time, but who needs to be anyway?? ;-)

Because this hotel is on the Esplanade, it is close to the night markets and all the restaurants and souvenir shops! Great location!

Would definitely stay here again....business or pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wifeofanaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear wifeofanaussie,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great see such active members of the online community, and we value all of our reviews.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We know that after a long day and night of flights and transport, the last thing you want is a lengthy check in. We try to make it as fast as possible.

I am glad the bed was extremely comfortable, and I hope you enjoyed your option of soft or firm pillows.
We do suggest secure parking underground the hotel for our guests, but you can sometimes manage to find free parking around the perimeter of the hotel, so good work.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn Cairns the next time you are in the area.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Loved this hotel, Room was a good size, clean and tidy. There was parking for our hire car. Lift access to our room. This hotel is close to restaurants, shops tourist attractions and the airport.
It would be great for a family stay as well. The pool area is brilliantly set up and the hotel is definitely kid friendly. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergranBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear SupergranBrisbane – love your name!

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great see such active members of the online community, and we value all of our reviews.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and your room was clean and tidy.

Having lift access from the basement straight to the rooms is great, and we have a porter that is always happy to help with baggage and directions should our guests ever need it.

The pool area is great, it allows kids to splash around in the pool under the watchful eye of mum, dad or supergran!

We look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn Cairns the next time you are in the area.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Booked in for 3 nights. When i booked online i metioned i would like 1 large double bed not to small double beds. We got two small doubles and basically hubby and I had to sleep separately. The bathroom was very small but had everything we needed, might be a bit cramped if you stayed for more than a couple of nights. The carpet had stains all over it. We didn't eat in the restaurant or have breakfast so I cannot comment on that. Overall very average stay, would easily book somewhere nicer for the next vist for the same price

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harkin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Harkin3,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to read reviews from our guests.

I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t as enjoyable as you had hoped.

We have many room types here at The Holiday Inn with different types of bedding configurations. Should a guest have any problems large or small during their stay, we always encourage you to pop down and see us at the front desk, we definitely could have perhaps moved you to another room that had only one king bed.

With regards to the carpets, we just invested in our own steam cleaning machine and will be doing regular cleaning of all carpets in our rooms. It is because of reviews like this that make our hotel better. We do strive to be a great hotel that our guests love and enjoy.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Located near the restaurants of the Esplanade and within easy reach of the airport and the marina - made a perfect base whilst in Cairns. Staff member on reception was very welcoming. Rooms seemed newly refurbished and were spotlessly clean. Open walkways look out on to central garden courtyard area which gave the hotel more personality than some Holiday Inns. Didn't have time to use the pool, but looked well kept and inviting. Even a bottle shop on-site!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BananaW0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear BananaW0406,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to read reviews from our guests.

It is fantastic that our hotel is located in such a prime position, right on the main esplanade, only 10-15 minutes from Cairns airport.

I am glad to hear that the staff member was very welcoming upon your arrival, I will be sure to pass this onto our team.

Our hotel just underwent renovations and our guests are loving the fresh modern designs and amenities.

I am sad to hear that you didn’t have time to use the pool; it is a great way to relax after a long day of touring. The bottle shop is a huge success as well.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Great hotel right on the promenade.Lovely restaurant,we ate in there as Australia very expensive.Lovely room overlooking the beach and the pool area.The hotel had a tropical garden in the atrium and a pool containing Barundi fish,great to watch them at feeding time!There is a seating area all around so very pleasant to sit and sip your drink.
We stayed 6 days,4 days we were on the Reef,but no problem storing our luggage in the hotel.Lots to see and do around the area and staff at the hotel more than willing to help and arrange anything you wanted to see and do.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give better views of sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenaCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear ZenaCottrell,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always great to read reviews from our guests.

Our hotel is located in a prime position, right on the main esplanade, which is great, because it is only a few minutes walk to local amenities and attractions.

Our tropical atrium is a huge hit with our guests and the barramundi always steal the show at feeding time, they do love their prawns.

The seating area in the main lobby is lovely too. It is nice to see guests on a rainy day enjoying sitting together having a cup of coffee, or simply catching up on some work on their laptops.

Our guests often arrive early to our hotel and it is an added bonus to be able to store your luggage securely for the day, whilst you go exploring this great city.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing