We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Dodge City, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn 4 nights as we were vacationing here on our first trip to Australia. The location was great, we could see the ocean and palm trees from our room. There was just a short walk to the ocean and the restaurants (2 to 5 minutes). The room was clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. Sue at the travel desk did an outstanding job of helping us book tours - even in Sydney, which was our next destination. After we arrived at home, I realized I had left some items in a drawer in the room. I called and talked to Tracy and Francie in Housekeeping and they had found my things. They agreed to send them to me. Like other have mentioned, the internet and breakfasts were expensive. We really appreciated having laundry facilities available. Overall, a very good experience. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Marilyn B,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always good to see such active members of the online community.

I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay here at The Holiday Inn, and that it was your choice of hotel for your first trip to Australia.

We truly are in a prime location, right on the main esplanade, and only a few minutes walk to local amenities and attractions.

Sue is fantastic, she is a local and has been diving for years, and she is the go to woman for all things relating to tours.

If you ever visit Australia again, and are travelling through Far North Queensland we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    910
    333
    72
    54
See reviews for
422
958
165
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Holiday Inn is on the Esplanade in Cairns, which makes it walking distance to the restaurants, the lagoon (swimming pool), yacht basin, etc. It's a great location, the price was right, and we appreciated the convenience of a laundry room. The downside was that they charge and arm and a leg for Wi-Fi and for breakfast (there's no reason to eat there).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefdoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Stefdoj,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always good to see such active members of the online community.

We are very proud of our hotel and are lucky to be in such a prime position, right on the main esplanade just walking distance to local amenities and attractions.

We have taken on board your comments regarding internet which will be used when we update our internet policy.

We will be introducing our new restaurant menu in May, which is very exciting.

Next time you are in Cairns, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

So my family were all set to visit Cairns in Mar2013. We booked our hotel at the Holiday Inn, but 5 days before we were setto arrive my wife's mother phased away. I immediately called all the airlines and hotels we were booked to cancel arrangements. All the companies were great with our situation except this hotel. This hotel not only did not cancel our stay they refused to return calls or emails! We lost out on over $700 for a stay we never had. From this point forward we will be staying at the Marriott. Holiday Inn will never receive any business from my family again.

Book at your own risk!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Mr Gabriel U

Thank You for your email and I am very sorry to hear of your circumstances.

The hotel has emailed you directly in regards to your circumstances and believe the resolution offered is what you have requested. We have been waiting on your response so I was surprised to see your report on this forum.

Could you please reply to our email so we can assist you.

Kind regards,

Matt Rippin
Hotel General Manager
Holiday Inn Cairns

Regards,

Theo Comino

Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Had a full ocean view room, awesome view. Bed was great and as always love the choice of pillows. Just far enough out of town to be a little bit more quiet but still close enough to walk into town. Staff were friendly and welcoming.
Thanks :-)

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear SimonQLD,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always good to see such active members of the online community.

Our ocean view rooms with spacious balconies are very popular with travellers who enjoy a cold drink as the sunset goes down.

Our hotel is in a fantastic location, only minutes walk to local amenities and attractions, yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet.

I am glad our team was friendly and welcoming.

Next time you are in Cairns, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed there recently for a couple of days, but have stayed many times before. The location is near the Esplanade and the great walking tracks, but is also near the city centre, but only about a $25 taxi fare to the airport. The room I was given had a balcony with a great view of the Esplanade and a desk separate from the Television, so you can watch television whilst doing work without cramping with laptop on bed. The hotel staff were courteous and the service was good. Airconditioning worked well in the room and the bed was comfortable. The cost was reasonable and mini bar prices were reasonable. I will definitely stay here when I next visit Cairns.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always good to see such active members of the online community.

We are lucky to have our hotel in such a prime position, right on the main esplanade; the walking tracks are a great way of getting out and seeing the town whilst getting some exercise.

Since our renovations were completed, our desks have been quite a hit especially with our corporate travelers.

We always strive to deliver the best customer service, and I am glad that our team lived up to this expectation.

Next time you are in Cairns, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed here for several days in February and loved it: great room, modern and clean, spacious room, good breakfast, nice pool, looking out over the sea/bay......wonderful watching all the birds and bats busily flying past the balcony at dusk before they settling down for the night - amazing.
Very helpful staff on the desk. In fact our experience led us to book the Holiday In in Sydney (BIG mistake....apparently they are independent of one another, as we found out in Sydney to our disappointment!).

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view, high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Martin H,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always good to see such active members of the online community.

It was great to read that you stayed here quite frequently during February.

Our newly renovated rooms are looking great with their modern decor and spacious feel. The balconies are a fantastic way to relax and enjoy the sunset overlooking the ocean, and it’s quite a sight to see the bats busily flying over the city.

I am sad to hear that your stay at Sydney wasn’t as enjoyable, however am delighted to hear that you received such great service from our dedicated team here.

If you are ever in Far North Queensland in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugus, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel was nicely located and the staff was very helpful. The physical plant is a bit dated. I booked two rooms and they both smelled musty. The musty smell faded after the air condition ran for a while. The first morning, one of our rooms had no hot water. The manager offered us another room to shower in, but we did not have time to shlep to another room, for we were being picked up for a tour. We returned that evening to find an apology note and a box of chocolates in our room. We spent one morning relaxing at the pool. The pool area is nice, but the cushions on the chairs are very worn and appear grimy. You wouldn't feel comfortable sitting on them without a towel. All in all our stay was pleasant, the staff very accommodating, but the physical plant needs a bit updating.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Sheaville,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is always good to read reviews both good and bad, this allows us to fix the problems and continue to be a great hotel that our guests love and enjoy.

I am glad to hear that overall your stay was pleasant and that our staff were accommodating.

I have noted your comments on the air conditioners and the rooms and have forwarded this onto our engineering department to look into further. However, it may be because our air conditioners don’t run 24/7, instead they are a new eco friendly version meaning they switch on and off when a guest enters or exits the room.

Should you visit Far North Queensland in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing