We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny bathroom, wifi issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tiny bathroom, wifi issues”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I visit Cairns regularly to see family living nearby, and book 4 star+ hotels for us to stay in. This was an okay but not great experience. The room was a little tired, but scrupulously clean and the choice of pillows was great. The bathroom was ridiculously small. My main objection was that, to access wifi in the foyer, you had to pay for a drink or dinner first.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Hi AustraliaAthena,

Thank you for your recent review on trip Advisor. I enjoy reading all of our reviews, and I appreciate the time you took to review our great hotel.

Our pillow menu allowing our guests the option of a soft or a firm pillow is quite a hit with our guests.

I have taken on board your comments regarding the wifi, we are currently reviewing our internet policy.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    930
    349
    79
    55
See reviews for
432
988
169
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cowbay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

checked prices on internet on expedia always good deals, just wanted a night in cairns away from the rainforest to have dinner and drinks .So glad we stayed RSL across the road cheap meals and drinks anywhere later.
Rooms are excellent very clean and quite modern ,bathroom small but it s only a bathroom you don t live in it. Plenty of room for 2 people.Beds and pillows were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazzam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Hi Kazzam57,

Thank you for your recent review on trip Advisor. I enjoy reading all of our guest’s comments, and appreciate the time you took for review our great hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your night away, we all need one of those every now and then, and I am glad you chose The Holiday Inn.

We always strive to provide excellent services such as clean amenities, and our pillow menu allowing our guests to choose either a soft or a firm pillow has proven to be quite popular.

If your travels bring you to Far North Queensland in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards

Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currumbin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had booked a room for 2 adults and 1 child - we opted for upgrade on arrival giving us ocean view rooms. Nice breeze and no need for using air conditioner - always a plus. Room was spacious with up to date TV, choice of pillows and nice amenities (bathroom was small). Staff were always friendly and helpful - made us feel at ease. The rooms were cleaned daily which was welcome after a full day sightseeing. Location of the hotel was within easy walk of cafes and restaurants. There was a really nice walk along esplanade just outside of hotel. Plenty of free onstreet parking. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitcherson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Hi Mitcherson54,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, I enjoy reading all of our guest responses and appreciate the time and effort they go to.

I always recommend to guests to get an ocean view room, these are the best rooms for taking in the lovely sites over the ocean & of the marina.

I am glad to hear that you received great service, I will be sure to pass this onto our team.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Located right on the Esplanade in Cairns. Only a short walk to loads of restaurants and the Marina.
Large rooms and in good condition. However the bathroom is small and suffers the usual mould problems.
Staff very helpful. Umbrellas available for those rainy days in Cairns.
Exterior will need some attention soon before the paintwork starts to look shabby.

No free wi-fi

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Hi Popquiz,

Thank you for your recent feedback it is always great to see such active members of the online community.

We are lucky to be located in such a convenient location close to local amenities and attractions.

I have taken on board your comments regarding the bathrooms and exterior of the hotel.

I am glad our staff were helpful. I will be sure to pass this review on.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareeba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Got a brilliant deal with booking.com spent a lovely night in cairns then slept like a baby in the king size bed. Breakfast included in the deal and was a buffet breakfast fresh hot and really enjoyable. Couldn't fault anything at all except maybe the size of bathroom

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jet_au2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Hi Jet_au2000,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip advisor, we really enjoy reading all of our responses.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, we hear great feedback about our comfortable beds. The buffet breakfast is also very yummy, I am not sure if you tried our new freshly squeezed juice bar? That’s proving to be a real hit with guests.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Typical Holiday Inn so don't expect anything fancy, small bathroom, uninspiring rooms, etc. The advantage here is the views of the mountain as other people have commented here so I would recommend getting a room with a view.

The other advantage is you are very close to where all bars, restaurants, marina, etc are but far enough to not hear all the noise.

The breakfast buffet was very good and the dinner was decent also.

Cairns is an interesting place and the staff at Holiday Inn make sure you have a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Room overlookin the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guch007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guch007,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. We love hearing from our guests as this allows us to make our hotel even better.
We are very lucky to have our hotel in such a prime location with views of the mountains, marina and ocean. We do recommend upgrading to an Ocean view room; they are the perfect way to relax after a long day on the Great Barrier Reef.
I am glad to hear that your enjoyed the breakfast, our new freshly squeezed juice bar is becoming real popular with our guests. We also have a new Ala Carte menu being released in May in the Sirocco restaurant which is really exciting.
I will be sure to pass this information onto our team.
If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn Cairns.

Warm Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed here for one night with my girlfriend, and that was more than enough to pack the bags and never look back.

Here are the pros and cons to how we experienced our stay.

+ Location is perfect, we woke up early to see the sunrise as we were in the 5th floor and its highly recommended, albeit the seaside rooms seem to cost more.
+ They let us check in very early in the morning (6 am or so)
+ Kingsize bed lived up to its name, and the sheets and pillows were a dream.

- Very expensive for the value, the bed and view was the only thing I could imagine the money was going to, because if there was anything else you wanted, you had to pay.
- No free Wi-Fi. They marketed with "2 Hours Free Wi-Fi!" but you had to buy something in the bar/cafeteria to get a voucher for it, and it only worked in the reception. Even McDonalds has free Wi-Fi, just saying.
- No complimentary waterbottles, the tap water tastes horrible.
- Small, outdated and smelly fridge in the room.
- The complimentary accessories in the bathroom were not complete. Supposedly there was supposed to be shampoo, shaving foam, a razor etc, but what we found was a ridiculously small shampoo bottle, some body lotion and a conditioner. The glasses in the bathroom were dirty.
- There was only PayPerView in the TV, even for old movies.. Not a single TV-channel. The movies were quite expensive as well, ranging from 10-20$.
- The "gym" only had 2 pull-down machines, and some treadmills. Not a single dumbbell, barbell or free weight. Very disappointing.
- No breakfast included.
- Location came with a price, we could easily hear noise from the streets such as car engines and people shouting.

Room Tip: Seaside room for at least one night to see the beautiful sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ado D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Ado D,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are lucky to be located in such a convenient location within a minutes’ walk to local attractions and amenities, and our hotel is in the perfect location for viewing sunsets and sunrises.
I am glad to hear that our staff were very accommodating in letting you check in at 6am, and that your beds were comfortable.
We are currently updating our internet policy. As you may have heard, our new IHG Rewards club (currently priority club) as of the 1st of July, free wifi will be available for gold and platinum members, and for base members as of 2014. This is very exciting and something I suggest you check out.
As for the television, we do have normal tv channels, however our tv’s automatically come up with the pay per view movies. This is easily fixed with a click of the normal tv up and down buttons.
I am sorry to hear that the gym did not live up to your expectations, I have noted this and have passed this onto our management team.
If your travels bring you to Far North Queensland in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back. Please ensure that you mention this email so that I can personally take care of your reservation.

Warm Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team
The Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing