We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good position, but disappointing"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Good position, but disappointing"”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Holiday Inn is situated across from the harbour and close to all the hustle & bustle. So great position.We stayed here before in a beautiful Spa King suite up the top floor, this time we were in a normal king suit, and not nearly as good. Bathroom very small, couldn't soak in the bath as too small.The biggest problem was the air conditioning, we had to keep the door to balcony open to stop it coming on and freezing us ( we were there in winter)cool in nights. This was fixed once while we were there, but it kept being faulty our whole time.
The view out to the harbour was nice, bed very comfortable. Staff friendly. Breakfast quite good. Unfortunately the pool spa was freezing cold, and when we asked about it, we were told the manager refuses to heat it, even though they get many complaints about this. This was a real disappointment, they should at least heat it in winter.
For the price you pay here, things should be up to a better standard, we wont be back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are up the top facing the harbour. The King spar suit is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dell20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi Dell20,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and suite. I am sorry to hear that you had problems with your air-conditioning.
Our engineering department have just put survey forms into each guest room to gather feedback regarding the air conditioners, we are using this feedback to improve our systems and ensure a more comfortable stay for you.
I do encourage our guests if they have a problem no matter how big or small to come and see reception, as we are more than happy to room move you.
We have just installed a new heating pump in our spa, so I apologise that it was not available for you during your stay.
Our number one commitment is to ensure that your stay is comfortable and that you receive the best customer service.
I do hope that you choose the Holiday Inn Cairns in the near future, and please get in contact with me before your stay so that I can personally take care of your booking.

If you have any other matters regarding your stay, I am more than happy to discuss these with you.

Once again, thank you for your honest feedback, as it has allowed us to make more positive changes to our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    910
    333
    72
    54
See reviews for
421
958
164
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

One block from the Holiday Inn is the start of shopping, markets, activities info, restaurants, casino.........i.e The absolute full compliment of a holidayer's needs & wants. Coincidentally the hotel provides it's own very handy support, to all types of resident, from business to solo traveller. There is no shopping onsite, but a travel & tour guide does have a desk in the lobby.

The front desk staff were friendly & informative. The breakfast & dining team seemed understaffed in our stay, but workable. Housekeeping were actually asking for work & did a good job to our room. To my observation, (correct me if I'm wrong) all rooms seemed exactly sized, furnished & styled, other than one or two beds, which floor & what view options. The ocean view rooms are excellent from most of the 7 floors, but is the view worth that extra money, for the same (not brilliantly modern)room internals?

The building is uniquely designed, whereby everyone can overlook everyone else, making it a very communal living area, but better still, overlooks a very embedded rainforest & pond on the ground floor. The communal feel continues with 2 very handy laundromats.(4xwashers $4/load, 4xdryers $4/load) & not forgetting the ironing board & iron provided free per room.

Back to the hotel's proximity to everything. Directly opposite is a brilliant park/walkway/waterfront, which can lead to "The Lagoon" swimming area & cruise boats, floating plane & helicopter wharfs. Markets on Saturday. Sooo close!!

The room bar fridge is not full of overpriced merchandise, so unrestricted to your own stuff. (There is an unrelated liquor shop onsite)

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms level 4 up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Hi Jim S,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. It is so great to see such active members of the online community. We are very lucky to be located in such a prime location on the esplanade and I am glad you enjoyed the park, boardwalk & lagoon which are within minutes walk.

I have passed this onto our team regarding the friendly service you received. Our ocean view rooms are our most popular rooms, which you can imagine. They are perfect for watching sunrise & sunsets.

Thank you again for such an informative review, I am sure other travellers will appreciate your in-depth thoughts.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future,
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns
Warm Regards,

Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Very good hotel that delivered everything expected for the price that we paid. The rooms were comfortable with great views. The hotel is in a good location with a lot of restaurants etc within walking distance. We only had breakfast buffet on two mornings but enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brolga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hi Brolga1,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Tripadvisor, It is so great to see such active members of the online community.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We really are lucky to be located in such a prime position right on the esplanade, and everything is within a few minutes walk.

Our breakfast is very popular, with a large variety and even a juice bar, which is proving to be a big hit.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns,

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

It was our second stay with Holiday Inn, Cairns, and once again we were very happy. Prices are reasonable. Staff are pleasant and helpful and well trained - lovely in fact. The hotel is modern and both rooms and public areas are spotless. Location is excellent - across from the Esplanade walkway, and a short walk south into the middle of Cairns city or north to Cairns Base Hospital. We stayed on the ground floor, as one of our party was in a wheelchair, and their disabled access rooms are excellent. We walked into the city that night for a meal, and enjoyed the stroll home along the Esplanade. As Priority Club members, we were able to have a 2pm checkout which was very useful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hi Sunshine747,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor, It’s so nice to see such active members of the online community

I am glad to hear that our staff were pleasant and helpful, we have such a great team who are always prepared to go above and beyond for our guests.

We are lucky to be located in such a prime position, only a few minutes’ walk to restaurants and local amenities.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel

Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I tend to stay in ICH hotels, either Hoilday Inn or Crowne Plaza whenever I can because of the rewards program and because they are a pretty well known quantity. I do wish in Oz that more hotels would realise free wifi is a huge draw card to customers, but in the end, this hotel is well situated, well priced, pretty decent staff and a good quality stay all things considered.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hi TheTravellingAussie,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor, 131 reviews in 32 cities, you have done a lot of travelling.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I recommend you joining our IHG Rewards club, as of 2014 guests will receive free wifi along with other great benefits.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Cairns for a total of 3 nights. It was comfortable and clean and the staff was very helpful. As it seems to be with all the hotels in Australia, the WIFI was not free, despite the fact the the city of Cairns had a free network downtown.

We would stay here again, no question.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wientraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hi wientraveler02,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor, I enjoy reading all of our guest reviews, and appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I recommend you joining our IHG Rewards club, as of 2014 guests will receive free wifi along with other great benefits.

If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Loved our stay on the top floor facing the ocean, the scene was so beatiful looking out through the wide doors to the mountians, marina, and water. Service was superb from start to finish, room spotless and modern. Only gripe would be 25 dollar buffet for breakfast when you can walk round corner and get a good hot breakfast for 12. Tour agent was helpful, but i would strongly suggest doing your research before accepting any suggestions as our tours were a lot less exciting and value for money than we expected. Cairns itself was not so interesting, and idoubt I will return, but if I do, I'd stay here for sure. One thing to be wary of is the 'no double bed in standard room' problem that us and a family both seemed to be faced with. What ever the real reason we had to upgrade to a more expensive room, not sure how legit this all is, but the room was great despite the extra cost we had to put out despite pre booking. Oh, and balcony door didnt lock which was the only problem with the room really.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney1242373622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hi John385,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. I enjoy reading all of our feedback and appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here. Our ocean view rooms are indeed our most popular rooms. They are perfect for watching the sunrise or sunset with a glass of wine.

I would love to hear more about your upgraded experience. As our standard rooms do have the option of 2x double beds, if that is what you were after. If you could contact me on 07 4050 6037.
If you travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns

Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing