We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We spent a week in the top suite at this hotel. This is a massive very well appointed room with a lovely sea view. Lovely massive bathroom. Staff generally very pleasant. Service at the hotel desk - the lady that we dealt was very very good - booked us excellent tours, gave great advice. Her male colleague on another day - indifferent service, not helpful at all. Breakfast - good selection. Location of the hotel - great - close to the esplanade, shops, restaurants, mall etc. A small negative- - we did not get the wake up call that we asked for - for two mornings. Fortunately, we also used our personal alarms. Overall - great experience. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up with a sea view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gnanasagren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi Gnanasagren P,
Thank you for your recent review, it is great to see so many active members of the online community.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed our suite, by far my favourite room, with beautiful views.
I have passed this review onto our tour desk operator, Sue; she will love to read it.
Once again, thank you for such a great review; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns on your next visit.
Happy New Year,
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,188)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Very friendly reception from the Japanese reception. Generally clean and quiet; although it was off-season.

Excellent location to the Esplanade; why eat in when a choice of restaurants are vying against each other for your custom just minutes away?

Some areas outside were a little bit slimy from the early start to the Wet season.

In my view hotels are foremost for a shower and sleep. But the curtains do not stop the morning light. Not a great idea in a tropical area where the sun is up at sparrow fart.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miaZma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hi miaZma,
Thank you for your recent review.
I appreciate your honesty.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here as well as the location.
Wet season is well on its way, with some areas of the hotel being outdoors, extra care is needed around these areas; the plants and barramundi do love the rain.
If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights and another extra night the following week. We were given an upgrade to the 6th floor with an absolute beaut view of the ocean, Room was the general standard hotel rooms nothing out of the ordinary but just fine. Shower over the bath getting to be very old especially if you are getting on in years. Second occasion we stayed did not get as good a room but still ok. laundry on most floor which comes in handy if you are travelling. Ice machine located in the laundries. Restaurants for dinner and breakfast ok. RSL located over the road with a pretty good menu. Nice staff.

Room Tip: Once again our car was to high to go under in the hotel car park but were able to park across the ro...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hi Kerrisk,
Thank you for your recent review, it’s great to read that you enjoyed your ocean view room; these are by far our most popular.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the location.
If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed here for business. The hotel has a great location on the esplanade, do yourself a favour and take a walk along here - bands playing in the park, great views etc.

Check in was quick and friendly, the hotel itself is a big sprawling structure circa1980. The rooms are quite small with double beds and tiny bathrooms but never the less clean and comfortable.

Internet is $19 for 24 hours and REALLY slow- frustrating for doing business.

Room service for dinner was quick and the food tasty. There is a bottleshop on the premises so a glass of wine is easy and cheap.

Breakfast is typical motel fare with a lot of the hot food very much less than hot and one of those awful automatic coffee machines - oh for a barista and a decent coffee! However the staff were friendly and attentive.

In summary a good basic hotel in a great spot.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hi Mark A,
Thank you for your recent review. I really appreciate your honesty, as this allows us to make our great hotel even better.
I am glad that check in and room service was efficient and friendly.
As of January 2014, Wi-Fi becomes free for all IHG Rewards members; we are extremely excited to be able to offer this great service.
Our automatic coffee machines are very handy for those who need a quick pick me up before a long day ahead, but for those who enjoy their coffee, our wait staff is more than happy to make you an espresso coffee from our machine.
Once again, thank you for your honest review
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here grin and sat nights, and found the hotel to be great and very accommodating. Sue at the torus desk was an absolute champion and had amazing energy! The porters were helpful in arranging a taxi. We were also given an upgrade in rooms for a very small cost. Didn't use the restaurant as a selection close by. Will visit again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hi Emma G,
Thank you for your recent feedback, I enjoy reading all of our guest reviews.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, Sue is fantastic, and I will be sure to pass this onto her, she loves to hear the great feedback too.
We hope that you do visit again in the near future,
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Amazing experience
I asked for an upgrade which I got easily for not too Huge a difference which was affordable.and I got a salon for myself with a Huge room and a spa bathroom long balcony well equipped room,bed was too good overlooking the ocean,comfortable bed,leather sofa,and chairs.
A 100 meter walk to cairns esplanade and all main eating area .
Staff was very caring and helpful.
Breakfast was lavish and sumptuous and again staff heard if was anything I needed.

Room Tip: Must stay here if in cairns
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venudhingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hi Venudhingra,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor, It is so great to see so many active members of the online community.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed our lovely rooms as well as our great location, we are so lucky to be located directly on the esplanade.
If your travels bring you to Cairns in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn.
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed here for a night before Great Barrier Reef cruise, and again for a night on return. Hotel is fine. Pretty impersonal. Didn't use the dining facilities - there are plenty of places nearby. A hit of a walk to the main shopping malls.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peroni10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi Charlie F,
Thank you for your recent feedback, it is great to read that your enjoyed our fantastic location, it is great to be able to step outside the hotel and be within walking distance to so many local attractions and amenities.
Once again, thank you for your comments; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn in the near future.
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £94 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing