We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all-round good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

spacious clean hotel room, pleasant staff, room service tasty and reasonably priced, plenty of towels and nice comfortable beds, good location near the esplanade - we would happily stay there again....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelliae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi kelliae,
Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate the time you have taken.
It is great to read that you enjoyed our room service as well as location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the near future,
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for a few days in November last year. Slightly disappointed by check in that didn't ask about Priority membership details like free newspaper etc. but loved the fact that the concierge took our bags to our room, rare in Australian hotels. We had the ocean view room, well worth the money. Very spacious, lovely balcony. When we had a problem with the TV, concierge again solved the problem very quickly. Had 1 breakfast in the hotel, nice range. On checkout, we managed to catch the Barramundi feeding session, which for a hardened Aussie tourist like me found it interesting. Next time we return to Cairns, we will be staying at this hotel

Room Tip: Ocean view room definitely worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shed_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi shed_gal,
Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate the time you have taken.
I am glad that you enjoyed your ocean view room along with our buffet breakfast.
The barramundi feeding is a huge hit, they are so spoilt and love their prawns.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns during your next visit.
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Spent a few days in cairns for Xmas at the holiday inn on the esplanade from the moment we came to the reception desk we were made to feel very welcome the staff are very helpful, the room we had was an ocean view room with a balcony the room was. Spacious and the beds very comfortable.we had breakfast and dinner in the hotel restraunt the menu has a lot to offer the staff friendly and very helpful the hotel has great facilities pool and spa and a bottle shop on the premises. We will be definately being paying them a return visit. Thank you for making our Xmas special

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tochol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi tochol,
Happy New Year & thank you for such a great review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our Sirocco restaurant meals.
Christmas came and went all too fast, but I hope you enjoyed every minute of it.
We look forward to welcoming you next time to the Holiday Inn.
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Booked this last minute at a great rate (using Entertainment card discount) after arriving in Cairns and checking out the prime spots for ocean view and access to the city - didn't disappoint! Oceanfront room was absolutely wonderful, comfy bed, nicely laid out room, good quality furnishings/fit out, (including good air con) minimal street noise and a stunning view - sat on the balcony and watched the bats return at dusk, then fly out again at sunrise. Great service, and IHG membership (complimentary) brought additional savings and benefits - would definitely return next time in Cairns and highly recommend!

Room Tip: Oceanside for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelcums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi Nelcums,
Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate the time you have taken.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your ocean view room, these are by far our most popular, and you can see why.
I will be sure to pass this onto our team who will enjoy reading it too.
If your travels bring you to far North Queensland in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on 2 separate occasions before and after a scuba dive trip. First stay was in room 502 on the back with twin double beds (they called them queens but they're pretty small) so that was just ok. Second stay was room 522 facing the esplanade with a king bed...much better with a lovely balcony facing the view. Mini fridges are empty but there are shops around the corner for snacks/beer/soft drinks. In both rooms the bathrooms are shockingly small and poorly designed. You can't help but splash water around as there's no shower curtain and only half a screen which makes the floors soaking wet and slippery ...you need 2-3 towels to mop it up so you don't slip.

Pool area is wonderful. Not too busy and has a bar after 4pm. Gym is well equipped with cross trainer, weights, tready and even a spin bike. We didn't bother with the restaurant as it's looks a bit uninspired facing the lobby rather than the espy.

All in all a good stay for the price. Definitely stay on the front of the hotel to make it feel a bit special.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SlaveToShopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi SlaveToShopping,
Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as your room with a view.
I recommend our ocean view rooms for guest who want to enjoy beautiful views; these are by far our most popular.
If your travels bring you to far North Queensland in the near future we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns,
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in a standard room (mountain/city view rooms with no balcony) but we still had a lovely view of the esplanade. The windows are ceiling to floor so the rooms are light an airy. The room is quite large in comparison to other hotel rooms but the bathroom was rather small.

Staff were excellent even from the very beginning when I first made our reservations. Reception and F&B staff were polite and friendly and the check in/out process very quick and easy.

The breakfast buffet was good with a varied range of hot food and continental breakfast items.

An excellent location with an easy walk to city centre, marina and cafes, bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyluisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi andyluisa,
Thank you for your recent review.
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our team, I am glad that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast, best meal of the day.
We are very lucky to be located in such a prime position, directly on the esplanade.
If you are in need of a short break in the near future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns,
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

It was such a shame that our holiday was marred by one bad experience at the Sirocco restaurant, because the hotel is really lovely. Nice, big rooms with a great view of the ocean- and the hotel has a really nice welcoming feel.

We stayed for four nights over Christmas, our room was on the top floor overlooking the esplanade with great views of the ocean and area.

Check was easy, the staff were really nice and welcomed us to the area.

The large room was well appointed without being over the top, go for a balcony room as we spent every afternoon there watching the world go by with a glass of Champas. The bathroom was a little on the small side but it was clean and functional.

The breakfasts at Sirocco had to be the best we've had in Cairns- a great selection of food, fresh juices, coffee (was good!) and the staff were really nice and made an effort to get to know you.

We dined once at Sirocco on Christmas Eve, I'm not exactly sure what the issue was but they had completely underestimated how busy it was going to be (the restaurant was about 75% full). As a consequence the staff were a little frazzled and the kitchen was very slow. We waited an hour for starters and over another hour passed and the main never came. Two tables of people who came after us had their mains delivered so why not ours? I have never walked out of a restaurant before but we were starving so had to leave- a real shame as the food looked great. I felt sorry for them. Sirocco didn't charge us for the drinks or starters and we had a call from the manager later that night to apologise. It was nice to see that they handled this well, she was really embarrassed about the whole incident and offered as a complementary breakfast the next day. I would give the restaurant a second chance though as the staff were really nice.

We would consider going back to the hotel as everything else was great.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AndrewLoveSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi AndrewLoveSydney,
Thank you for such an in-depth review, I really appreciate it.
First of all, Happy New Year and I hope that your Christmas was great, thank you for spending it with us.
Thank you for your positive comments regarding check in, our team, rooms as well as our delicious breakfast.
I apologise that your dinner was not as enjoyable as you had hoped, and that there was a lengthy wait. I do hope you join us again at Sirocco, as the food is fantastic.
Once again, I appreciate your honest feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Cairns in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £89 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing