We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely location. Close to everything, but just far enough away so nice and quiet for a good nights sleep. The room was light, bright and spacious. The bathroom was very small, but clean and practical. Beds comfortable and room clean. Staff friendly and helpful, good value and I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Debbie M,
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, I am glad that you enjoyed our great location as well as our bright spacious rooms.
We hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns in the near future
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,191)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were offered an upgrade on our original tour agents booking to a room facing the sea with a huge wrap around balcony. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. This made our stay much better. We could see all the activity on the esplanade, over to the marina and up into the rainforest. The breakfasts were excellent but Unfortunately we had very poor service for dinner there in the evening and ate out for the rest of our stay. The hotel is conveniently located to see all of Cairns and it's unusual design including the open air atrium with Barramundi in the pond is a pleasant experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Bob B,
Thank you for a great review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your room, our ocean view rooms are by far the best and the views are beautiful over the Coral Sea, Rainforest, as well as the Esplanade – especially on a Sunday afternoon when they have some live music.
I am sorry about your dining experience; I have passed this onto our Food & Beverage department. Thank you for your honesty.
We hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns in the near future,
Warm regards
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed at the holiday inn cairns for 3 nights in a Superior Mountain View room at short notice due to island trip cancellation from cyclone ita. Our stay was also sandwiched between stays at the novotel oasis resort across the road. Room rates were near identical between the two. The holiday inn was far superior in many regards.

What i liked about the holiday inn:

- excellent reception. Friendly welcome and greeting with a smile at check-in, loyalty status acknowledge, pro-actively offered late check-out (always nice not to have to beg) and which newspaper i preferred and all details of my stay (parking charges, breakfast, room layout, etc) explained without having to be prompted. At check-out,very pleasant and friendly front desk lady asked about our stay and took the time to watch a quick magic trick by my little boy.
- The room. Room was more than adequate in size for family of four. Plenty of room for our luggage. Beds were very comfortable, range of pillows (soft and firm) provided, large windows with excellent views of the mountains. Power points right next to the bed for mobile phone/tablet chargers. The hotel is designed around an open air foyer which i like as there isn't another room across the hall from us (no late night door slamming, drunken laughter/yelling, etc) and lends the hotel overall spacious feeling. The bathroom was a little on the small side but included added toiletries such as toothbrushes, toothpaste and shaving kits which always come in handy.
-There was NO MINI-BAR!! Let me clarify, there was a mini-bar fridge but with the exception of milk, was empty of the usual overpriced booze, soft-drinks and chocolates. Leaving plenty of room for our own store-bought drinks and nibbles. Why don't ALL HOTELS do this? Either make the prices the same as the seven-eleven down the street or leave the bloody thing empty. The mini-bar can also be stocked if requested (or if you have more dollars than sense) Holiday inn, you little geniuses.
-FREE INTERNET!! For IHG Reward club members but membership is free and is a basic perk for all members not just those with elite status (you hear that accor?). Internet was available as wired broadband and wireless. The wired broadband was superfast, the in-room wireless less so but perfectly usable.
-The guest laundry and self-serve ice-machines located on 3rd and 5th floor. A god-send considering clothes get smelly and drinks get warm quickly in the tropics.
-Perfect location. Short stroll (5-10 mins) to all the action on esplanade and central cairns but far enough away from the hustle and bustle.

What i did not like about the holiday inn:
-the pool was ok but perhaps getting a bit old? Multiple large cracks in tiles were visible and needed regrouting as several tiles had sharp edges. The shape is also a weird irregular polygon which makes doing laps a bit difficult. There was a pool bar but was never open in the times we were there.
-Gym equipment needed updating. Curiously no dumbbells ?!?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QZfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi QZfrequentflyer,
Thank you for your recent review – it was most enjoyable to read.
I am glad that your check in and checkout experience was positive, and let me tell you, there is always time for magic!
We always get such positive comments regarding our beds & pillows; I agree with you, they are extremely comfortable.
It’s great that you enjoyed the mini bar, and having the option to pop down to the onsite bottle shop and fill it up for yourself, or room service.
Thank you for your honesty regarding our pool area, I will forward this onto our Engineering department to review.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future
Warm regards
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had 2 bookings with Holiday Inn Carins in April 2014.
First booking was for 1 night as we arrived from the States and were heading out on the Great Barrier Reef for 3 nights to do some diving.
Our second booking was for 4 nights after our Dive trip.
Check In was smooth and the rooms were both way better than we expected from a Holiday Inn. The bedding was not worn out and the towels seem new and fresh.
When arriving early Thursday morning (9AM) after our GBR dive trip, we approached the front desk not expecting a room till 3PM.
Surprise, they had an upgraded room ready for $25.00 extra a day, so we took it. This room faced the water and had a balcony.
The hotel has a small but well equipped gym and a nice pool and spa out side.
Location, Location is the key, just 1/2 block from all the restaurants you could ever want and across the street from the waterfront walk way.
There are bigger hotels in the area, but this one worked perfectly for us. We were able to leave luggage with them for 4 days while we were on out Dive trip.
If you eat breakfast, you must book the room with breakfast included, it is a ton cheaper that way and it is a full buffet breakfast.
Our 2nd booking at the Cairns Holiday Inn was for 4 nights, and was prepaid with no refund for cancellations.
This concerned us when Cyclone Ita was approaching Friday morning and we decided to leave the Cairns area while we could. No Worries, the employees at the Cairns Holiday Inn are human and due to the cyclone refunded our remaining 3 nights.
I've also have to plug Sue at the tour desk. Sue was helpful with my pre-trip planning with suggestions of things to do in the Cairns area. One thing I did not realize is that Sue is a tour agent and can book everything for you before you arrive and she knows everyone of the tour operators so if you have an issue she can handle it personally with the tour owners.

We give 5 Stars to the Holiday Inn Cairns and it's wonderful staff.

Hint - join the IHG Rewards Club and receive free Wi-Fi in all Holiday Inn's in Australia or you'll pay close to $20.00 per day, and that is the going rate for most of the hotel chains I researched.

Room Tip: Book the Breakfast with the room and save.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Davis S,
Wow! What a great review.
Let me start by saying, you came to one of the best spots in the world for diving and I am sure that you thoroughly enjoyed it.
I am glad that your check in experience was smooth and you found our bedding lovely and fresh.
We are extremely lucky to be located in such a prime position; I do hope you enjoyed your upgrade, with beautiful views over the Coral Sea.
I will pass his onto Sue at our tour desk she will love to read this.
Thank you again for your in depth review, I am sure many other travellers will appreciate it too.
We hope to welcome you back to far North Queensland in the near future.
Warm regards
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Excellent Hotel located closed to the center, shops, restaurants and the lagoon. Great amenities and staff very friendly. Huge Knowledge of the ladies at the Tour desk very appreciated. I highly recommend this hotel and would go back again if I go back to Cairns ....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBiker68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi TheBiker68,
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, its always great to see so many active members of the online community.
I am glad that you enjoyed our location and found our team friendly.
Thank you for recommending our hotel.
We hope to see you in Cairns in the near future.
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Well located hotel direct at the esplanade, close to restaurants, bars, muddy's playground etc. Hotel staff were great, with special mention for Sue at the bookings desk.
However, the design of the hotel is very dated and lacks any atmosphere and character. The hotel rooms are of reasonable/smallish size, with minuscule bathrooms. Although they made the most of the atrium with a nice garden, the swimming pool is rather uneventful and lacks any atmosphere and the open plan of the corridors, makes you wet when it rains.
Sound insulation to the outside and next door's bathroom is rather poor, but we did not hear anything from the next door rooms.
We appreciated the invitation to cocktails on the Tuesday afternoon. It was good to speak to hotel management and get their take on the hotel.
Overall it was an acceptable, low cost stay in Cairns. Disappointment with the Holiday Inn - note that this was our first stay ever in a Holiday Inn hotel. We expected more. However, we do acknowledge the friendly staff, who try to make the most out of a poorly designed hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expat_sealover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi expat_sealover
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, I really appreciate your honesty.
I have definitely taken your comments on board regarding our hotel.
Thank you very much for acknowledging our team, who do a tremendous job.
Once again thank you for your honest review, we do hope to see you in the near future.
War regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Visited at the weekend with partner. Very clean and modern hotel. Much more luxurious than Holiday Inns back home in England. Great amenities. Lovely fish pool with barramundi and lobster type fish. Close to shops, lagoons and restaurants. Rooms cleaned daily along with bed linen and towels. STaff very friendly. Tour desk at entrance with very knowledgeable lady. Free wifi in lobby. Only negative this seemed to be incredible slow to the point non working everyday. Other than that was pleasure to stay there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ANNIEWILKS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi ANNIEWILKS100,
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, I appreciate the time you have taken to review our great hotel.
I am glad to read that you found our hotel very clean and modern and enjoyed our barramundi ponds, they are very spoilt.
I have forwarded your comments regarding the Wi-Fi onto the appropriate department and appreciate your honesty.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Cairns
Warm regards,
Matt Rippin & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £94 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing