We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at a good location”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Service was great, facilities were plentiful. The staff were polite and very helpful. The managers on duty, Kate and Theo were particularly helpful to us - we face some problems and they went above and beyond their duties to help us! In the end we were extremely happy with our stay at the holiday inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear AusN,
Thank you very much for your review. Great to hear we made your stay enjoyable and that we provided you with exceptional service. We value your positive feedback and take pride in going that extra mile for our customers.
Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    918
    338
    77
    54
See reviews for
428
965
167
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel indeed situated in a good location. It is a block away from the night market, restaurants and main Esplanade. You could walk to anywhere easily.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. Audrie from the reservation team managed to get me 3 standard rooms last minute during the IronMan event since I couldn't find one via every single hotel booking websites!

Central garden was beautiful and well positioned.

The rooms were in good size, clean and big enough for 2 persons. When compared, the bathroom was a bit too small however it was clean. Complimentary free wifi in the rooms if you enrol to its IHG membership (it's free!).

Underground car park is $5/day however there weren't many spaces and it's pretty low ceiling.

Room Tip: Higher floors with half/full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearbear S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Bearbear,

Thank you for talking the time to send us a review. I am pleased to hear that our reservations team were efficient and helpful in finding suitable accommodation for you and your companions. Our team will proud to hear your positive feedback.
The Iron Man is a busy time of the year for us so it is easy to fill up our car park. For your next stay please don’t hesitate to ask our reservations team, I’m sure they will be able to assist you.
Great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and used our facilities to your full advantage. Our location is surrounded with Cairns best attractions.
Hope you did well in the Iron Man and that you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My room was a standard room half ocean view and half mountain view, level 7:) Although there was a building in front of my room, I was still able to see the ocean and the mountains. The location of hotel was excellent. It just took 7-10 minutes from the hotel to Marina on foot. But the room was not very impressive, since the bath room was smaller than I expected and the floor seemed not so clean. Generally, the breakfast was good. There was a juicer but it seemed not clean. Anyway by staying at 4-star hotel instead of 5 star, we were able to save some money and have great dinners for two days.

Room Tip: Although it was a standard room, higher level can see the ocean or mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank undersee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICAIRNS2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear undersea82,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments.
It’s wonderful to hear that you took advantage of our central location. The walk from Holiday Inn to the Cairns Marina features the best parts of Cairns such as the Lagoon. We are sorry to hear you were less than impressed with the cleanliness of the floor and juicer. This will be addressed to our Housekeeping and Food and Beverage Managers.
Again, we apologies for the unpleasant parts of your stay and hope your next stay will be immaculate.

Warm Regards
Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Although a few decades old this hotel has mostly been kept up to date although the open atrium walkway entries recall yesteryear and a windy, wet day on the upper floors could dampen the room access.
What’s good: well located just on the edge of Cairns’ compact downtown it’s an easy walk to countless dining options and about 20 mins to the ferry wharves – or 5 mins by taxi. Our twin bed room was quiet, compact, comfortable and bright although the ocean outlook rooms would have been even better. Everything worked as expected but the sneaky air-conditioning will shut down immediately you dare to open a window – no matter how little. The front desk service is polite and efficient and there is covered parking for a small daily premium.
What’s not so good: the bathroom is very small so it’s a one-person only operation and the half shower screen more or less guarantees a wet floor or bath mat for whoever drew the short straw. The in-room Wifi is unreliable and, if you can get online, desperately slow on all devices we had. We were told that it works better near the desk but found that it only worked at all near the desk – and then very poorly.
We would probably try another hotel next stay if only to get working Wifi and a bit of bathroom space.

Room Tip: Ocean outlook rooms (East facing) would be the pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexTardif2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Tedstravelblogs,

Great to hear from you.

It was good to read your review, and thank you for taking the time. The hotel, as you have noted, has open air walkways, which were designed to allow guests to enjoy the rainforest atrium in its entirety. As you have mentioned the air-conditioning shuts off once you open a window, and this has been designed to ensure the hotel runs at maximum energy-efficiency in order to reduce our carbon footprint, as we are committed to running as sustainable a hotel as possible. I have noted your comments around the WiFi and have raised it with our Chief Engineer for further investigation and action.

We'd love to have the opportunity to welcome you back, so please let me know when you're up this way again.

Warm Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Holiday Inn Cairns is consistently a professionally run property with comfortable rooms and reliable food and beverage services. Plenty of parking can be found on the streets nearby and there and many restaurants and services within a short walk. The esplanade is nearby for a pleasant seaside walk.

Room Tip: The sea views are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexTardif2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Rick M,

Thanks for your review, and great to have you visiting from down South.

I'm pleased to read that you found the team professional and reliable, and that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, something we work hard to ensure is the case, and our mattresses in particular receive rave reviews.

I'm glad you took the opportunity to walk into town along the Esplanade, which is a peaceful stroll alongside the water, and runs past the famous Cairns Lagoon.

Wishing you all the best.

Warm Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had a comfortable three nights here in June. The restaurant is excellent (we had both dinner and breakfast there). We didn't use the pool, laundry, gym etc. We used the underground parking. The rooms were comfortable, our only complaint being that the lock to the balcony was broken and I always miss an exhaust fan in the bathroom. I love that there is a bottleshop downstairs. Our room was a beach view. The bats in the trees across the road can be noisy but they didn't bother us. There seemed to be construction across the road on the other side of the building, so watch out for that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anaussiemusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexTardif2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Anaussiemusicfan,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

It was great to see what an enjoyable stay you had, and that you stayed in one of our Ocean view rooms, which are fantastic and have an amazing view. I have noted your comments around the balcony lock, and the Chief Engineer will investigate and fix accordingly. There is some construction occurring during working hours across the road at the high school, however the noise is minimal and has not impacted on the enjoyment of the hotel by our guests.

Please let me know if you're staying again.

Warm Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We were really happy with our week here. The rooms are spotless & made up every morning. There was a friendly atmosphere around the place. We had a lovely meal in the sirocco restaurant one night. The spa is huge & the gym is well equipped too. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexTardif2014, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Pam C,

Great to hear from you, and I trust it was a bit warmer for you than Melbourne!

I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and after a week long visit you would have been able to experience everything we have to offer.

Thank you for noticing the friendly atmosphere around the hotel, the team here work very hard to make sure every guest has a fantastic stay, from room cleanliness to dining in the restaurant. The fact that you would stay here again is the best commendation we can receive, and I'll be sure to pass your comments onto the team.

Stay warm!

Kind Regards

Matt Rippin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing