We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carins Austraila”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Carins Austraila”
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We arrived late at night and were not in a fit state to really enjoy this hotel. The hotel room was big and airy, and also very clean. The only problem with the room was that the entrance to the bathroom was raised above floor level and I kept stubbing my toe on the lip. I woke up in the morning to birds chirping outside the window. Since I an a bird lover I was thrilled! Every morning I would walk next to the ocean and see more birds than I would at the average zoo. The breakfast buffet was quite nice and featured Japanese and "American" food. The concierge service was nice and they turned us onto some nice Great Barrier Reef cruises like Sunlover. I really liked this hotel and would strongly recommend it.

  • Liked — Birds chirping outside the window in the morning, Boardwalk, Close to boat terminal
  • Disliked — Lip at the bathroom entrance
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sdpgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 12 January 2009
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay despite being very tired.

I definitely agree with you that walking along the Esplanade in the morning is great and the number of birds out at that time is just fantastic.

I was also glad that you enjoyed the high level of service and product, from our staff and your breakfast each morning. This feedback will be passed on to the team. I will also pass on to our maintenance team your feedback regarding the raised step between the bathroom and the bedroom.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the very near future when you are next in Australia and Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    918
    338
    77
    54
See reviews for
428
965
167
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Another great Holiday Inn. Great Location - very easy to access to everything in Cairns. Excellent food. Excellent Room. I picked a Ocean View room and this was worth it as the view from the balcony was excellent. Pool also very good.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NZ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 2 January 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and I appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your experience.

I am glad to read that you so enjoyed your stay and you were able to take advantage of the location, food and view the hotel has to offer.

We pride ourselves for being highly commended for our high level of service and product which you were able to experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cairns on your next visit to Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights in November 2008 as part of a month long trip around Australia and New Zealand. Managed to get a good rate at this hotel by booking well in advance but I was a little anxious after reading the reviews on here about the quality of the hotel but I shouldn't have worried.

We were met by the porter on arrival and I was initially impressed by the lobby area. As I have a platinum Priority Club card my room was upgraded to a high floor room with a nice view free of charge. Not all hotels do this and I was more than happy with the room I was given for the price paid. The bathroom had obviously been recently refurbished but the rest of the room could do with a slight refresh but nothing too urgent. The view was of the mountains in the distance, waterfront and cairns itself and was very nice.

I've previously stayed at the Shangri-La hotel in Cairns which is much more expensive but I'd say the location here is almost as good as it's not right in the centre of town which gets pretty hectic. It's only a 5 minute walk away though.

The pool area is also nice if not a little too small (loungers frequently taken) but the major downside here is the building works going on right next to it. I couldn't see or hear this from my room but I'm sure plenty of the other rooms could.

Couldn't fault the staff here: the night shift manager was great as were the front desk staff and the maids. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — Views, price
  • Disliked — Building site next to it
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank liamuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 23 December 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback we really do appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your experience.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your upgrade to a high floor room. As you mentioned the lobby and bathroom have all been refurbished. This work was all part of a multi million dollar refurbishment which included a upgrade of all the guest rooms bathrooms to feature a new contemporary modern bathroom. Together with the updated bathrooms also saw a full refresh of the hotels exterior and redesign of the lobby and restaurant. This has enhanced the arrival experience and ambiance of the hotel by using contemporary decor and modern furniture.

We pride ourselves for being highly commended for our high level of service and value for money that I am glad that you were able to see this with your experience in our staff being the night shift manager, front desk staff and our room attendance, plus with your overall experience at the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

This was a stopover location and I didn't expect much however we arrived early after an overnight flight and were allowed to book in several hours before usual so we could freshen up and get out on a trip to the mountains.

We had panoramic views of the mountains and a large spacious airy room. The grounds are great with a rainforest feel and ornamental ponds.

We even got a complimentary bottle of champers!!!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Smarshy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 23 December 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, the view from your room , champers and we were able to meet your requirements of a early check in.

I hope that you next visit to Cairns will be a little longer than a stopover and we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

We were told that we would have to pay $40 extra to have a room away from the swearing, jackhammers, hammering and sawing next door. The manager told us that the hotel could not control what happens outside the hotel. Fair enough, but neither can we.

  • Liked — Location and ocean view
  • Disliked — Construction noise
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 23 December 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write of your feedback. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. The building work next door is a construction of a luxury apartment block which has had some delays in the completion. Your feedback on the construction site will be followed up with the company to ensure that the hours of work are in-line with the expected working hours. The great news is that the building is in the final stages on completion.

Your impression of the hotel is vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed. Please accept my apology for your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a week in september. Overall I enjoyed my stay here. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful with any questions. On arrival the porter was there to get my bags and even though i was a few hours early i was able to check in straight away

The room was neat and tidy had a great view out onto the esplanade and the balcony. The bathroom was nice and suitable for my needs

The breakfast and dinner buffet were excellent. There was also plenty of restaurants a short walk away on the esplande.

The staff at the tour desk were quite helpful in organising a few things for me to do on my spare days.

On my last day my flight didnt leave till evening and i was able to organise to leave my bags there for the day at no cost which i found convenient

  • Liked — the location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydgal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 15 October 2008
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and I appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to take advantage of the location and the service the hotel provides our guests.

We pride ourselves for being highly commended for our high level of service and product and I am glad that you were able to see this with your experience in our staff and restaurant. This feedback will be passed on to the team.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Cairns is fantastic anyway, but when we arrived the hotel staff were very helpful and had plenty of smiles. We asked for a free upgrade to sea view room, and got one at a small fee. Looked out over esplanade and RSL. Large clean room, absolutely loved it here. Staff throughout hotel were good, and breakfast was excellent

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — The laundry room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OzfanDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 20 August 2008
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to make the most of the view from your room.

We pride ourselves for our high level of service and of which you experience from the staff and this feedback will be passed on to the team.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing