We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
texas
1 review
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Very nice hotel. Easy walk to town. Clean rooms, great breakfast.
Do NOT use the travel agent in lobby if you are charging on an out of country
credit card. I did and the exchange rate was 30% higher than any other retailer
I used in Australia.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_mahon, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 30 June 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback. I was please to read that were able to enjoy your stay at the hotel and we please with the hotel, the hotels cleanliness and location which we pride ourselves with.
I refer to you’re comment regarding the exchange rate being 30% higher. I believe this to possibly be a bank error as the hotels Tour desk offers all International customers the chance to pay via Dynamic Currency Conversion through the Eftpos machine. The Eftpos machine displays the exchange rate that will be used in the transaction and the amount of Foreign Currency that will be charged, based on this rate. The Tour desk does not charge any extra fee for this and only the Tour cost is charged and I suspect it could be a bank error. Please do not hesitate to contact us so we can look into it further.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    883
    314
    69
    52
See reviews for
411
920
157
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
globe troters
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

its a beautiful destination with this amazing hotel..we had fun..our trip was a memorable one. if i get a chance will visit again...i recommend everybody..

  • Liked — we had a beautiful room.overall very good .sunbath was great.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suchitakapoor15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_mahon, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 30 June 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback we really do appreciate the time you have taken to pass your feedback on the hotel and the destination.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

This was an excellent hotel with the accomodation greatly exceeding my expectations having read some of the other reviews of the hotel here before arriving. I had decided to book an Oceanview Room and was allocated a very spacious room on the 5th floor overlooking the ocean.

The room appears to have been one of the refurbished ones and bright and fresh and a please to stay in. The balacony was a wonderfull place to watch the sun go down with a nice cold drink in the evening before heading out to one of the local restaurants.

As this was a holiday I was especially pleased with the service offered by the tour desk. On arrival there was a welcome pack from the Tour Desk with a nice welcome letter and discount voucher. Staffed in the morning and evening they were vey helpfull in organising a reef trip providing a good comparison between the various operators and what was on offer.

I only had breakfast in the hotel - this was on a special rate for the stay. Hotel buffet breakfasts can vary in quality and I must say this has to rank as one of the best I have seen at a holiday inn anywhere in the world. A good selection of hot food, breakfast cereals and fruit and well as a selection of Japanese items (not to my taste so cannot comment). Other meals were taken at one of the many excellent restaurants in the area.

A nice touch was the fact the hotel provided 2 towels in the room for use by the Pool or to take the beach or reef which I thought was an excellent touch and showed they know their guest. The guest laundry was also good value at Aus$2 for the washing machine, AUS$2 for the Dryer and aAUS$1 for detergent the latter avaliable from reception who were also very helpful in providing the change for the machined if require.

The only downside of the hotel - for me it was the cost of the Internet Access at AUS$30 a day. This is a failing of many hotels. There were many internet cafes around that were much better values (or if you have wireless laptop a short walk down the esplanade to McDonalds would give you free access). That said on my last night the Duty Manager was very helpful in arranging to print off my boardpass for the following day for me.

Overall if I was staying in Cairns again I would definitely make this my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_Yankee_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_mahon, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 30 June 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback we really do appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your experience.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay from the sunset from your balcony of your room, the service you receive from the staff at the tour desk, the quality of the breakfast and the fact that you rated it as one of the best you have had, the extra touch of the additional towels and the opportunity for you to do your own laundry. This positive feedback will be passed on the relevant departments and I thank you for passing it on.

Thank you also for providing the feedback on the internet charges. We constantly reviewed this and we have also installed wireless throughout the hotel. Sadly around Australia, internet is still a very costly service to be able to provide a hotel, however I can assure you we constantly review this.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

The location was a block from the water and a block from the shopping area of Cairns. The rooms were large but very basic (note: most of the hotels downtown in Cairns seem to look this way). They have restarant, and the prices were okay- (2 blocks down were better/cheaper places to eat). It also has a pool, liquor store, and adjecent to a casino/bar. The rooms have coffee, refrig, large window and hairdryer. One note, watch the 1 inch rise for the bathroom floor (my husband stubbed his toe on it twice). for the price it was not bad. Shop around for rate- I found the best on hotels.com

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightygeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

Finally nice to see the new overdue upgraded rooms at the holiday inn, new lcd tv's, nice comfy king bed, and work desk, bathroom really hasn't changed that much. Surprised they didn't offer a breaky discount voucher , i booked trhough priority club and i am a platinum member for a great rate, but if you booked thru wotif same rate plus breaky voucher, that disappoints me, you would think marketing would look after their regular guests. Also when is holiday inn going to adopt shangri la's approach of free in house internet, charge another $10 a night and make it free. $25 for 24 hr internet is not on these days. Apart from that the room was nice and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, QUEENSLAND
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

We stayed here as we got a great rate and were on our way through to Port Douglas and had a late flight in. We werent expecting anything and were pleasantly surprised. Room service was quick and reasonable, pool was good and location was good.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

We went to Cairns to do the typical things you do there: SCUBA dive and see the rain forest, and decided to stay at the Holiday Inn as the reviews were pretty good and the price we could get was very good (the Entertainment Card price was the lowest he had seen someone get... the do check to make sure you have it). The room was about what you would expect from a Holiday Inn... room enough for our family of four, clean, not luxurious, but had the typical amenities. The lobby area was a bit of a step up from a typical Holiday Inn, and the central atrium was quite a step up. The pool area was nice as well. Unlike some of the other reviews, there were no issues with construction noise or the like.
The location and the staff are probably what sets this hotel apart given the price. It is very close to the main part of the town... just a few blocks. Comparing notes with my daughter, the place they had stayed the prior week, for about the same price, was much further away. Further, the staff, including the ladies at the tour desk, were quite helpful and friendly. We checked out of the room for one day to go diving on an overnight trip. The luggage was in our room when we returned, and they were ready to check us back in. I should add... they have free parking below their hotel.
The downsides of the hotel are two-fold. First, the in-room internet charges are very high, and the downstairs computers (which you can use for about $2 per 15 minutes) are a bit inconvenient. That was the only way to print boarding passes. Second, you can not access the ice machines after 9:00. Instead you go down to the bar. Mind you, the staff at the bar are very nice, so it is just the hassle of going down to the bar.
In the end, the place was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous-Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing