We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed at Holiday Inn Cairns from 1-5 July & 10-14 July. Really enjoyed our stay.
The plus:
- Location - within the CBD of Cairns and taxi fare to-fro airport was around AUD15-20. Pretty cheap.
- Room was quite big, although the room at our 2nd stay could be better (shower place in the bathroom was too small for my 1.97m tall husband, could have accomodated the right room upon seeing how tall he is).
- The affordable laundry service was a highlight, since we had a 3 weeks around Cairns region and Singapore holiday.
- The barramundi's - nice watching them.
- Very satisified with the housekeeping, one of the best we have ever encountered, bed & bathroom was everyday smelling so fresh. Carpet floor always feel so clean with bare feet.
- Good management - wrote a feedback to hotel via survey form and received reply via email from hotel manager. Pleasantly surprised, since we are Priority Club member and no other Holiday Inn hotel managers in other cities (Prague, Singapore, Berlin) we stayed bothered to do that in the past.
The minus:
- Ants - but we only had that during our 1st stay and not the 2nd part.
- Room decor is quite old. Could be from the 80s with the coral blue curtains and bed covers, prefer neutral furnishing in hotel rooms.
In general, our holiday in Cairns and region is one of the best we had in years since we loved the beaches and amazed by the Reef.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FJBoersma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Director at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2009

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns on both occasions during your recent trip to Cairns. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the hotel right from the location, the very positive feedback of the housekeeping department right to the laundry facilities the hotel has to offer. Your positive feedback will be passed onto all the staff.

Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,943 - 1,949 of 2,215 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2009

I stay at the Holiday Inn Cairns before and esp. after almost every dive trip I make to the Great Barrier Reef. The staff are always welcoming and friendly and I have often had the chance to stay in some of the front line apartments with view of the bay.

Some items which I found helpful in general/as a diver:
- inexpensive self service laundry; a must after staying on the boats!
- no issue storage for items not going on the boat which can be an issue for any boat trips and sometimes I have found Australian hotels don't have the storage available
- proximate to the main area of town, not noisy and value for money
- roomy, easy to share rooms as have two doubles/queen available

Some items to improve
- room service offers limited choice but the hotel is close ot the main part of town
- some rooms have an ant issue. Out of all of my stays I remember only have an issue in 1 out of c. 5 rooms. I think it might be more prevalent in the older part of the hotel closer to the reception
- internet connecton average but that is Australia.....Wifi would be great and the cost is a bit pricey

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eur0Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Director at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I was please to read that you always stay at the hotel pre and post your diving trips to the Great Barrier Reef.

Thank you for also posting information on what works for you in the hotel and what you recommend needs improving. Your feedback will be passed onto the team.

You will be please to know that we have recently upgraded our internet and now have wireless throughout the hotel at speeds of 20mbps, which I am sure on your next trip you will be able to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back on you next driving trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The hotel is very near the city center & the harbour
Its a 15 $ 15 minute travel by bus from the airport (by cab its near 40$)
The hotel has nice rooms; they warn you to be careful about ants and ask you to notify if you find some so they can take care of it inmediately....be careful with leaving food in the rooms, it has a small bathtub, and the personal are kind.
A little expensive on my opinion for the looks of the hotel but a nice place on the whole

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Director at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I was please to read that you had a enjoyable stay and you experienced the fantastic service our staff provided to you and the service which everyone working at the hotel prides themselves in delivering.

Regarding transport from the airport, the hotel is approx 8km from the airport and a taxi/cab fair should be approximately $16-$20 each way.

Being in a tropical climate and due to humidity ants can be present. I agree with you it is always advisable as you recommended to not leave any food out.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you come back when you are next in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Had a very ageeable stay in a room overlooking Trinity Inlet. A bit breezy in the afternoon but well worth the cost. All round a great place to stay and close enough to the city without the nightime noise of the nightlife. Staff were extremely helpfull and a credit to the company.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on you experience at Holiday Inn Cairns.

I was please to read that you had a enjoyable stay and you experienced the fantastic service our staff provided to you and the service which everyone working at the hotel prides themselves in delivering.

As you referred to, the view from the Ocean Front rooms is most definitely worth the extra costs as it is a picturesque view.

Thank you again for passing on your experience at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Cairns was the base for our boat trip to the Great Barrier Reef (GBR) and we had booked online from the hotel’s website for 1 night to stay upon our arrival and another night after our return from the GBR, 5 days later. The internet rate differs for both dates and we must say that the hotel offered more than the price we had paid for.

As we only had 1 day to explore Cairns, we were looking for a hotel which is centrally located for our easy access to explore the city. This hotel became our obvious choice because it is located strategically on the Esplanade.

The décor of the hotel was very pleasant – the huge, spacious lobby with a rainforest setting was a very nice touch. The front office was efficient, the concierge service was speedy and we had our luggage sent to our room as we arrived.

We were given a room on the 7th floor, with a beautiful view of the mountains and ocean. Our room was huge, clean and comfortable, with a balcony. No sightings of ants, no encounter of mouldy smell – everything was just perfect!

We did find the internet to be a little expensive, so we used the facility from a high speed internet shop we found in the city. Not an issue at all. We didn’t have breakfast at the hotel, so we are not able to comment on that.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed during our trip to Australia and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannisze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICairns, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I appreciate the time you have taken to pass this feedback on to us.

I was please to read that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel; from the huge spacious lobby, the rainforest atrium, the spacious rooms with the wonderful views they offer and the service you received from the front office and concierge staff.

I agree that the location is fantastic with everything in Cairns within walking distance which was, as you mentioned a obvious choice for you when looking for a hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back when you are next in Australia and Cairns.

Kind Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Stayed here 7 nights for holiday. Fantastic location on the Esplanade. We booked an ocean view room and got a fantastic view. Room had twin double beds (was booked for 1 king, but they switched for us as we needed twin share), satellite tv channels, small but well appointed new bathroom, beach towels provided for hotel pool or reef trips. Could ring reception and get a microwave sent to our room for reheating leftovers. I also enjoyed the heated spa pool in hotel and the free barramundi feeding sessions on Mon,Wed,Fri. We were on the 4th floor and didn't have a problem with ants (between us and housekeeping, the room was kept clean and we didn't see too many ants). Internet access is expensive in the hotel so we walked over to Lake St and used it there. Overall, a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butters_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_mahon, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback we really do appreciate the time you have taken to pass your feedback on the hotel. I was please to read that enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the location of the hotel, view from your room, the refurbished bathroom and the extra beach towels provided.

I would like to refer to your referral of the barramundi. The hotels unique rainforest atrium complete with tropical plants, rock pools and resident Barramundi fish in the centre of the hotel is a true asset to the hotel and I believe it to just brings the whole Cairns experience to the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next up north.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

I spent a week at the Holiday Inn while on a business trip to Cairns. The location is fantastic- on the Esplanade, walk to the harbor, lots of restaurants nearby etc. The Convention Center is about 20-25 minutes walking. Service was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was pricey (like most of the food in Cairns) but excellent. The internet was WAY too expensive - A$25 per day for WiFi so I did not use it - used the computers in the business center until I realized there was free WiFi in many locations including McDonalds and the Convention Center. The travel desk was also very helpful- and in contrast to another reviewer's complaint I found the prices to be the same as elsewhere, at least for scuba diving which is the only thing I booked.

Make sure you check out the famous "Creation Windows" at the Cathedral across the street, and the "flying foxes" in the trees about two blocks away.

I have two wishes:
1> Wish the internet were cheaper.
2> Wish they had another breakfast option besides the buffet - it's too much food and too expensive to do every day, especially if you are headed out for a conference or for recreational activities.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExPatinNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_mahon, Paul McMurray - Business Development Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback. I was please to read that enjoyed your stay at the hotel including the service provided by the staff and the fantastic location.

I refer to wish lists. 1) Cheaper internet and 2) breakfast options.

Internet - We constantly review our internet options and the WiFi has only been in the hotel for about 3 months after our recent review with the WiFi providing speed of internet upto 20mbps. At the moment, internet is still a very costly service to be able to provide at hotel, however I can assure you we constantly review this.

Breakfast – We currently do have 2 breakfast options. The first is the full buffet breakfast which you enjoyed and we also have another option which is a coffee and muffin option for guests who do not want to have a full meal which I am sorry you were not able to take advantage of as this option seems to be the perfect option for you.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you come back when you are next in Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £89 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing