We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday Inn in a great locations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2009

The hotel is well situated right by the waterfront and the marina, shops and center of cairns are easily accesible by foot. Prices are fair at app 150 AUD per night and the rooms were clean and staff very helpful. The pool area is quite small and we didnt sample the restaurant or bar so i cant comment on those. We did have an Aussie burger and blt at the pool which were large, as theytend to be in Oz, and well worth the 14 AUD we paid. I've stayed in quite a few holiday inns and i would rate this as one of the better ones, not run down like some tend to be.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exzile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,932 - 1,938 of 2,215 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2009

Enjoyed our two night stay at the Holiday Inn Cairns. The room on the ground floor was clean and comfortable and although it had a private courtyard close to the intersection we did not hear any traffic noise. The kettle was missing from the room but housekeeping quickly bought another one to our room. The atrium just outside our room was a tropical delight and well kept – the barramundi swimming in this landscape waterway were huge and many in number.
Great location right on the Esplanade within walking distance of Cairns city life and many restaurants on the Esplanade. The Esplanade itself is a great feature of Cairns and a most enjoyable walk with lots to see, waterbirds on the foreshore were plentiful, a massive lagoon pool in the shape of Queensland (state) and the most innovative kids playground (even though our kids are grown up) I have ever seen, lush green grass, fantastic mature trees and lots of BBQs and shade.
Car parking was free, and reception was friendly and obliging. We went elsewhere for internet.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frenchtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Business takes me frequently to Australia, and Cairns as one stop. I've tried (and reviewed) several hotels in the Cairns area, in a vain attempt to find an acceptable property. This trip the client requested I stay at the Cairns Holiday Inn, and as I usually like Intercontinental-managed hotels, I agreed.

This hotel is rated "four stars". Someone needs to fix the "star" system in Australia, because it is misused and abused, and rarely correct. This HI is 2.5 stars, tops.

Hotel in desperate need of soft refurbishment - carpets, bedding, upholstered chairs, and room furniture were tired, stained, and barely workable. Likewise old-model televisions were not displaying HD signals correctly.

Service was mostly cheerful and perfunctory, neither good nor bad. Good tourist location, on the water with wonderful views (if you get a water-facing room, of course), but even the west facing rooms have nice city and mountain views. Great location for nightlife, although Cairns has nothing for adults other than drinking and heavy metal music. This is an entertainment wasteland, but most come to Cairns for the outdoorsy and reef experience.

The most shocking surprise was the HIGHEST INTERNET PRICING I've ever been confronted with in the world- $24.95(AU) per day! This in a town where you can buy a month of internet service for $25! I couldn't believe it, and am surprised that Australian tourism authorities allow tourists to be robbed in this way. I've been all over the world, this is the absolute most I've ever seen.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony_mahon, Anthony Mahon - General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback based on your recent experience at Holiday Inn Cairns. I was concerned and sorry to hear you were disappointed, in particular with the room product and that you felt the internet price was expensive.

You will be pleased to know that we are in the process of finalising the last stage of our refurbishment program which will include our room case goods as part of a multi million dollar refurbishment program. To date over $6 million has been spent on the hotel, including upgrades of all the guest rooms’ bathrooms to feature a new contemporary modern bathroom, a full refresh of the hotels exterior and redesign of the lobby and restaurant to enhance the arrival experience and ambiance of the hotel. We now have a completed prototype room and are finalising the details of this project. The scope will include an update of all case goods including all the furniture and fixtures eg: TV, Desk, Chairs, Wardrobe, Bed, headboard and carpet.

Regarding the internet pricing. The hotel uses a external internet provider and we constantly review our internet options. Recently we installed wireless internet around the hotel providing speed of internet up to 20mbps. Internet is still a very costly service for the hotel to provide and unfortunately this cost is then passed onto guests. We are aware that this is not the case in many other countries however I can assure you that our internet rates are comparable with hotels around Australia.

Thank you also for your positive comments, I was glad to read that you enjoyed the views the hotel has to offer and you were able to take advantage of the location.

Once again your impression of the hotel is vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed. Please accept my apology for your recent stay and I welcome you back to experience our refurbished product and the highest level of service to which we are committed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed for 7 days at this hotel. We had a Superior Ocean View room which was first class. It was roomy and well maintained with, needless to say a great view. The hotel staff wre genuinely eager to be pleasant and helpful, and the whole building was well maintained. Bars and restaurants were good, as well as internet availability and good laundry rooms.
It is in a prime location, only a block away from the main area of Cairns, but far enough away to be bothered by the noise.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ally026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Great location in Cairns on the Esplanade. There are many restaurants and shops including the night market, within walking distance. There is no beach in Cairns, for that reason we stayed a few nights in Palm beach. If you have a car the northern beaches are worth consideration. They are really quaint and beautiful. Cairns has more activity and things stays open later. Everything (except for restaurants) seems to close by 5 in the beach towns so be sure to book in advance. Holiday Inn has 24x7 receptionist and a tour booker that is available into the evening. The service was excellent.

No complaints with the hotel. The rooms were clean and a good size. The TV was small but we did enjoy the selection of pay-per-view movies. We didn't have any problem with ants as others had mentioned. The rooms open to a gorgeous tropical atrium. The hotel pool was nice and adds an alternative to the Carins public lagoon. They did offer free parking, whereas I noticed other hotels charging as much as $30.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejmrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel at the very end of a month long holiday round Australia - the hotel was very good and extremely convenient to the centre of Cairns whilst being just enough out of the busy area.
Stayed in a twin room with a large balcony with sliding glass doors that had fab views out to the ocean as well as the mountains. Room was kept to a very clean standard. Pool was fine - best time to visit was in the morning when it got the sun and was never busy. The interior tropical garden area of the hotel was very nice. Internet was relatively cheap and fast. Hotel organised for the shuttle bus to the airport which was cheap and very efficient. Guest laundry was again very handy in the hotel.
Didnt eat breakfast or any other meals in the hotel as there are a number of cafes and restaurants within a very short walking distance

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pen10poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Stayed for a total of 5 days at the end of August., after good recommendations on TA. The standard room was fine for our family and we were relieved that we could check in early at 0830, after a quick 30 hour trip from the UK. Having pre-booked I had different rates for consecutive nights, which confused one of the check in staff who wanted to move us to a superior room, even though we were happy with our cheap room, with a sea view. So we moved to the more expensive room, right by the main lift with no sea view. After a chat with the night manager we moved back to a sea view room and reduced the rate for that and the next 2 nights- a nice touch. I was also offered the pre-pay breakfast rate, which was excellant value. As the previous review was quite comprehensive I won't detail everything, but this buffet was the best we had in our Australian trip, and the children had pancakes and ice cream cooked every morning.
The pool was secluded with quite a few loungers and a the water bit chilly, but there was enough space to warm up on a few lengths and the hot tub was indeed warming.
The hotel is located about 10 minutes down the boardwalk from the centre, close to bars/cafes and a few minutes in the other direction away from the town, brings you to the kid's park, which was a hit with our children . We used the bottle shop to buy the occasional beer and it was about half the room bar price, handily placed by the pool.
The laundrette facilities were fine need $2 to work the washer and dryer, having bought washing powder in town, there was a message under the lid saying it could be bought in reception.
We hired a 'shed' from low cost car rentals a few streets down ie a very old and worn car, which amused us doing a pre-rental inspection when the paint was peeling, seats well worn, mirrors just hanging on! Whilst we were in Daintree the hotel looked after our suitcases and delivered them to our room when we returned. The travel desk booked our reef trip and had pretty much all the same tours as all the other agencies.
We took a taxi to the airport ,$20, cheaper and quicker than the shuttle, if theres two or more people travelling.
So I definately recommend this hotel, good value, good facilities and a handy location. Don't forget to see the bats in the trees a few blocks CBD side of the hotel entrance!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £89 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing