We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL WAS NICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
gandhinagar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HOTEL WAS NICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Hotel Was Nice Spacious,Trendy,Beautiful,Amiazing,Worth Visiting.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cinemaxGandhinagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    883
    314
    69
    52
See reviews for
411
920
157
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Looks nice from outside, but unfortunately the inside is very very tired, they do have a notice in the rooms to say that they are refurbishing however I donnot think that any hotel in which you are paying 130AUS per night should ever have got sooo run down. The rooms are small, we had a deluxe King room with ocean view, If that was a deluxe I'm glad I wasn't in a regular room. The duvet cover came out of the ark! the curtains were old and smelly and the carpet was atrocious. Yes I realise that things do age however there is no need for poor quality linen and pillows, the pillows obviously have NOT been deodorised for some time as were very pungeant. Would not recommend this hotel for the price

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

I stayed 2 nights in March 2010 at this hotel. There is ongoing ground-floor construction, and while most of it is invisible to the eye it is clearly disturbing to the ears during daytime hours. I had a ground-floor room, and while I ended up receiving a disabled room (even through I am not) I received a splendid view of a wall of lilacs butressing a 2x2 meter private courtyard, with car traffic directly on the other side (sarcasm intended). Try for a higher floor and an ocean view.

You really can't beat the location. Cairns' CBD is probably only 6 to 8 blocks square so everything is essentially within walking distance. It's a 10 minute walk to the public lagoon (swimming pool) with a magnificent view of the Coral Sea, the marina is also nearby. You can also head into town where there's plenty of restaurants, shops, convenience stores, and even a 4 screen movie theatre to spend your money at. I was planning to do a diving liveaboard on a boat for the next 3 days, so I wasn't looking to hang around the hotel or CBD all that much. There is a bottleshop at ground level attached to the hotel, however you can get cheaper prices in town or even at the convenience store only 2 blocks away.

I'll let my fellow posters comment on the pool areas as well as restaurant, both were facilities that I only viewed from afar and did not utilize.

Further out, the airport is 20 minutes away, I recommend you have the hotel make a reservation on SunBus to get you back there. It is much cheaper than taking a cab directly. Public Transportation stops behind the hotel and goes to some beaches up north (although I never explored this).

Lastly, the hotel does have an excellent concierge who is worth every cent. They work on a rotating basis but I was pleased with the two I dealt with. They were able to get me a booking to the Cairns Night Zoo (which was a nice way to spend the evening). Being that the immediate street area is pretty small they should be able to assist you in locating any service or item that you are seeking.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequent_trav_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, Manager's Comment at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 9 April 2010
Dear Madame

Please accept my apologies as the guest room in your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Whilst exterior, lobby and restaurant renovations have been completed last year, we are very pleased to advise, all guest rooms are currently undergoing a multimillion dollar refurbishment. One third of the hotel is already completed and we expect to have the whole hotel finished in early June.

In refreshing the hotel, we are confident that with the addition of updated fixtures, fittings and décor the hotel will make an excellent impression and your disappointment will not be repeated in the near future.

Thank you for your observations, and we would be excited to welcome you back to a new look Holiday Inn Cairns in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Dominic Egger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

My wife and myself were planned our honeymoon in Australia in January and spent a few nights up in Cairns. Based on the review on this website we decided to book a week at the Holiday Inn Esplaned Cairns.

The location is great, the lobby pretty impressive but that's where I'll stop with the compliments. Everything else was well below par, the rooms extremely shabby and worthy of a 10 dollar a night backpackers than an international hotel chain. The staff were not particularly helpful, when we complained about our room the duty manager eventually showed up, wasnt particularly appologetic and showed us another room that was just as bad. We ended up spending three nights at this hotel and left half way through our stay moving to a much better hotel next door.

if you're contemplating staying at this hotel, please contemplate no more otherwise bitter disappointment will only follow.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawaiihoneymooners46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicEgger, Manager's Comment at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 26 March 2010
Re: Trip Advisor - review



Dear Sir / Madame


I was very concerned to read your guest review on trip advisor. Guest impressions of our hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed. I would like to assure you that the issues raised are being addressed.

Kindly accept my apologies as the room did not meet your expectations. I am very pleased to advise, all guest rooms are currently undergoing a multimillion dollar refurbishment. The contractors have recently finished the first section, with all guest rooms expected to be completed in June.

Whilst we recognize your disappointment this outlines the need for the hotel to be refreshed. We are confident that with the addition of updated fixtures, fittings and décor the hotel will make a excellent impression to all visitors and these incidences will not occur in the future.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience of moving accommodation. I am disappointed to hear that the duty manager was not able to rectify the situation for you. Guest service training is currently addressed on all staff levels, with our refresh of the hotel.

Thank you for your observations, and I look forward to welcoming you back to a new look Holiday Inn Cairns in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Dominic Egger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

This hotel is a block or two north of most shops and restaurants, but is still a great base and easy to walk to and from the city center. The hotel rooms are basic, and our room had a small ant problem. Sugar ants - not a big deal. The hotel has a restaurant and a courtyard in the middle which adds to the tropical feel. The front desk travel agent was very helpful in planning our trip to the Reef for the next day. They had a lot of options and were very honest. The hotel is right across the street from the water (no beach). I'd stay here again for a short stay. They also honor American travel association discounts and government rates, which is a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waltzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Cairnes for 16 days in February. We had a great time. The hotel was clean and the service was good. There was a mix up with the price on the reservation which was corrected immediately and without drama. The check in process was easy and the room was a fifth floor water view. Great balcony awome view of the bay and the esplenade. I must say that the gigantic friut bats flying by in the evening were totally cool but may freak some people out. The pool was very nice. Plenty of shade. Never crowded even is the February heat.

I would reccomend this hotel to friends and family. The location could not have been better. A short walk to eveything. Not noisey like some of the downtown locations. The people were very nice. The tour desk operator Sue was the most amazingly knowledgable and helpful person we met on our whole trip. She made sure that every tour we took was exactly what we were looking for. Everything we did was truely amazing. I will miss the friendly staff and the laid back atmosphere of this hotel.

The resteraunt in the hotel was a little expensive but the steak was amazing. The gardens were beautiful. There were two draw backs for me one was the internet is way too expensive at $25 per day. You can walk down a few blocks to McDonalds and use the free wifi or go to one of the many internet cafes in the area. The other was the lack of in room coffee. They say they have coffee but they furnish a tea kettle and instant coffee. Hardly coffee by American standards. You can get coffee downstairs at $4 per cup. We bought a french press (the only coffee pot available in the stores there) and purchased coffee at Rusty's market, a must see.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalgal1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

The best bits - great breakfasts, well located and good size rooms

OK bits - not particularly plush but OK, small pool, tired bedroom furniture

Bad bits - none really, you get what you pay for

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing