We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

5 of us stayed for four nights in a king and a twin double room. Arrived tired and jet-lagged at 8.30 am and we were delighted to be given the twin double bedded room straight away. A knock on the door at 11.30 informed us that the king room was ready. The king room was very spacious and had a balcony looking out on the esplanade. Both rooms were nicely furnished and the beds were very comfortable. Unlike some other reviews we had no problems with the air conditioning in either of the rooms. There was plenty of towels and toiletries however the bathrooms are tiny but functional. Loved the fact that the fridges were empty and we could chill our own drinks. I agree with a previous reviewer that wine glasses would have been nice! The pool area is lovely and the on site bottleshop serves as the pool bar. We had breakfast for two people per room included in our rate along with stay for four nights and pay for three, through Trailfinders. Breakfast buffet was excellent with a great variety of options. Very pleasant staff from the duty manager Aaron on check in to Sue on the tours desk. The only minor gripe for us was the hotels pc's are pretty slow and internet access is not cheap. Free wifi would have been nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOELK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to enjoy the view from your room.

We pride ourselves on having a high level of service and product (the pillow top beds are fantastic and the on-site bottle shop very convenient) and I am glad that you were able to see this with your experience in our staff and restaurant. This feedback will be passed on to the team as well as the need for wine glasses in the room.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards

Adam Glass
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    910
    334
    72
    54
See reviews for
422
958
165
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We were only here overnight, but were impressed with the room - good sized beds & nice bedding, a decent balcony overlooking the water. The bathroom was small, but functional & clean. We had no problems with the air conditioning.

Liked the fact that the fridge was empty. Has a guest laundry.

It's set on the esplanade so within 5 mins walk of lots of restaurants & bars (but not noisy). It has a large pond full of big Barramundi - good for keeping kids amused.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsAbroadEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we really do appreciate the time you have taken to pass your feedback on the hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the location of the hotel, view from your room, pillow top beds and the option to use the mini bar fridge and guest laundry.

The hotels unique rainforest atrium complete with tropical plants, rock pools and resident Barramundi fish in the centre of the hotel is a true asset and I believe it brings the whole Cairns experience to the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Cairns.

Kind regards

Adam Glass
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I am exceptionally fussy when it comes to selecting hotels and then judging initially upon arrival and then throughout stay. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room/bathroom, lovely white sheets and covers on beds, heavy and clean curtains, as you would expect of a room so recently redone, blocked out bright morning sun allowing for much needed sleep ins. We required extra towels and these were delivered promptly, white towels are just that - no marks or signs of wear. Pool towels were an added bonus. Our 4 year old loved the ponds in the central atrium of the hotel, watching the huge barramundi, skipping across bridges and hiding behind tropical plants. The buffet breakfast is very reasonably priced at $19.50, free for children who are also given activity packs at all meals at the hotel, and was a good selection. Both reception and tours desk staff were bright, enthusiastic and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this modern, sprawling hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princessy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to make the most of the newly refurbished rooms and bathrooms. I agree the Barramundi ponds create a lush tropical environment for maximum relaxation.

We pride ourselves for a high level of service and cleanliness at the hotel and I will pass on your positive feedback to the team.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the very near future.

Kind regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

It's a nice modern, well located clean hotel!
Try and get ocean view rooms..and enjoy the view, otherwise you'll be looking at roads or balconies of apartment blocks.
Modern rooms, bathrooms on snug side but ok.
The hotel has a good location, close to everything.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and I appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to take advantage of the location and view the hotel has to offer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Cairns.

Kind Regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This hotel was in an excellent location on the Esplanade, clean, the staff helpful and the beds very comfortable. We stayed for 6 nights at the end of June/beginning of July. The newly renovated room was spacious enough for three of us and our luggage.
Our only complaint was that the air conditioning, while sufficient during the day, cut off in the night making it hard to sleep as the room became extremely stuffy. The staff came and examined the vents in our room and tried to address the problem, but we got not one night of uninterrupted sleep. Hopefully they will address this problem before the summer season.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marciterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your experience. I was glad to read that you were impressed with the fully refurbished rooms, new pillow top beds, location (being right on the Cairns Esplanade) and the service our hotel staff provided to you, which we are extremely proud of.

The hotel has undergone a multi million dollar refurbishment which included an upgrade to the lobby, restaurant and all the guest rooms and bathrooms to feature a new contemporary modern feel which you would have enjoyed.

I was disappointed to hear that your room had complications with the air conditioning, I can assure you that this feedback has been passed on to our engineering department to investigate and please accept my apologies for this.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn on your next visit to Cairns.

Adam Glass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I bought this room on Wotif.com as a special Wotif? deal ie not knowing which hotel other than it was situated on the Esplanade. Then when I got the advice from Wotif I checked it out on Trip Advisor and there were mixed reports. So I was a bit concerned - I shouldn't have been. It is now fully renovated and lovely. I only stayed one night as I was en route to Canberra but I wish it had been longer. This is great and they really do cater for the mid price traveller eg - affordable room service meals and a bar fridge you can actually use to stock your own drinks. A couple of wine glasses in the room wouldn't have gone amiss but overall really really good and very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and taking the time to pass it on. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and you tried the hotel despite having some concerns from reviews you have read.

I am sorry that the room you stayed in did not have any wine glasses, we pride ourselves on delivering a high level of service and this is not our usual standard. I have passed this to the relevant department head for follow up.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huercal-Overa, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

A very nice hotel with wonderful ocean views. The refurb, in our room, had been skimped. The air conditioning was not powerful enough and very noisy and the room was very hot, we couldn't get comfortable in the beds and consequently did not sleep well. There was simply too much of the pre refurb room showing through the new one to make look like a good job rather that a budget conscious, skimped excercise.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholasxmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamGlass, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I was glad to read that you thought the hotel was a nice hotel and you were able to enjoy the view from your room. I personally agree that the views from the Premium Ocean View Rooms are second to none.

The team are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your room as we are very proud of the extensive refurbishment which involved replacement of every element in the room including the beds. The Holiday Inn Cairns has received a 4½ star rating from AAA Tourism and a coveted Green Star endorsement as recognition for the many sustainable initiatives that have been undertaken.
I am sorry to hear that there was an issue with the air conditioning, this feedback is not taken lightly and has been passed onto our chief engineer.

Your impression of the hotel is vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed. Thank you again choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Cairns and for taking the time to pass on your feedback.

Kind regards

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing