We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service in a storm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We arrived in Cairns late evening in lashing rain with Cyclone Yasi due to hit the Queensland coast so we were unable to head to our holiday destination Ellis Beach, we were advised to head into Cairns and find alternative accommodation, the Sheridan Plaza was the first hotel we came accross that could accommodate us eventhough they were full and what a find it was, we were given a top floor suite (especially opened up for us) which was lovely, had a large lounge area with sofa bed, a very large bedroom and bathroom, all very clean and well furnished, it had large ceiling to floor windows ( which we were a bit worried about) but they didn't cause a problem, it did smell a little musty due to the room not being in use for a while but who cares we were safe.
We stayed there for 5 days due to the cyclone and we couldn't praise or thank the staff enough for what they did for all the guests, everyone was friendly, helpfull and took time for a reasurring chat, we had no electric but were all given small lanterns, continually updated on the situation, given instructions on what to do and where to assemble should the hotel suffer any damage, we had a cooked breakfast (they cooked on gas) a cooked evening meal only on the last night was the menu choice slightly limited, the food was excellent and very well presented ( compliments to the chef), if we wanted a hot drink anytime we went down to the kitchen the kettle would go on a hot drink and chat was served up, every member of staff went out of their way to make sure we were all ok and kept up moral.
The hotel is set in a pretty garden with small swimming pool, which under different circumstances we would have enjoyed, the hotel looks out onto the main road at the back and a quiet road at the front, a small parade of shops about 10 mins walk away and a couple mini supermarkets attached to the petrol stations near by. Cairns is appx 20 mins by car.
We would stay here again without a doubt

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Wow what great comments and thank you for being so concise. As a relatively new hotel the Sheridan Plaza has been built to very high cyclone codes. You certainly picked the best Cairns hotel to be in during a cyclone. What a lot of guests don't always realize is that in good hotels the primary importance is the safety and security of its guests. Even in a Cyclone we take every opportunity to keep you safe and at the same time continue our commitment to service. This was a particularly difficult time for all our crew as those in the hotel couln't get out and those at home couldn't get in to releive them, but everyone stuck to the task until Cairns finally came back to life. I am so happy to hear your excellent comments and will share them with all our staff members. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel enroute to port douglas. It was clean although the room had a musty smell. The hotel looks straight out of the 80s. Fine to stay overnight and was cheap, but it is certainly not 4 star quality. Would not recommend a longer stay and the closest shops/restaurants are a 30 min walk away. On the plus side the lady receptionist was extremly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brando78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and yes our staff are extremely friendly. All reviews are taken very seriously by mamagement as they provide us with opportuities to rectify a part of our business that may be letting us down. We have been in the process of refurbishing the hotel over the past year. This has been done in stages and you may have noticed the the brand new beds, entire biulding and rooms recarpeted, brand new 80cm digital TVs and new door locks. The last thing we did was to change from bedspreads to triple sheets with bed runners. When you stayed you would of got one of the last rooms that still had the floral, brightly coloured bed spread. Yes, although they were relatively new they did age the rooms dramatically. I am happy to say we have continued our change in bedding and as you will see from our images all our rooms are now well and truely in the naughties. Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

My husband and I only stayed one night as we were on a business trip, we didn't check in till midnight after a delayed flight and I have to say customer service was not the fortay of the gentleman at reception, I don't think he said more than a dozen words to me and that was to point down the hall to indicate were the elevators were and to tell me to park anywhere, no hello, good evening or your room is on the 3rd floor.
The room was a reasonable size but the furnishings really need updating, as does the bathroom, we didn't use roomservice but they did have a late night menu which was a nice surprise.
Checking out was a much nicer experience, the lady on reception was lovely and helpful with directions.
We would not stay here again, mainly because of poor service and the cost of a room, I've stayed at 3 star hotels that have been nicer and 4 star hotels that have been better priced.

Room Tip: Stay at the Sebel for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for your comments they are interesting in that they highlight the desperate times that Cairns went through immediately after Cyclone Yasi and the months of torrential rain that followed. Hotels like the Sebel (5 Star) were so desperate for business they offered all and sundry the cheapest rates ever seen for a five star hotel. The price war was on and nearly all hotels followed suit. As predominantly a corporate hotel we held our nerve and maintained our integrity with our rates. Now you won't be able to stay at the Sebel for $99 per night including breakfast but they are still struggling to get their rates back to where they were before cyclone Yasi. We have a very loyal and long established client base who don't mind paying for the excellent service and accommodation that we provide. Your comments about the night manager do concern me and I have taken measures to reinforce his service standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The worst hotel ever. Don't eat at the resturant. Its terrible! The first time I couldn't finish up my meal.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pswed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you were so disappointed in our restaurant, but why would you eat in a restaurant and not complain directly to the staff if you were not satisfied with the meal? It is our policy to refund guests if they have a genuine complaint about the food. We can't give you a refund if we don't know there's a problem. But even more incredible is the fact that you came back the following night for a second go. I only give a restaurant one chance to impress me. Are the meals too big? We do serve a 500gm (1.1 pound) Black Angus rump and a Rib Fillet in the restaurant. Most of our customers rave about the exceptional quality and value. With many corporate customers our restaurant is vital to our business and customers often comment that we have the best hotel restaurant offering the best value in Cairns. I am sorry that you had a bad experience this time but I would recommend talking to the staff in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Stayed at this hotel as it was near to a friend's home, I booked it last minute but wish I'd done my research a bit better as it is quite a way out of town. I arrived after a long drive to find there was no record of my booking. The receptionist seemed disinterested and bored, I asked her about parking in Cairns and she just shrugged and said she didn't know. I had booked a queen deluxe with a balcony and was allocated a room on the 2nd floor. I walked in to find a cramped dark room that smelt strongly of damp with a small window and 2 single beds pushed together. I have NEVER complained about a room before but I was so fed up I just snapped. Went straight back downstairs and told a different receptionist it was NOT what I'd booked, I must have looked so angry that he gave me another room straight away. This one was a bit better but still very dated as was the hotel in general. If I had not have already paid online I would have just walked out and found somewhere else. The shower and bathroom were ok but ran out of hot water within 5 mins every morning. Room service was excellent, the food was lovely but I was a bit surprised to see I was charged an extra $3.00 to have it brought up to the room - must have missed the small print! My last day I went to make myself a cup of tea and saw that the cup I'd used the night before was crawling with little ants - gross! I really wished I had booked somewhere else as it really wasn't worth $130 per night, there are definitely better options out there for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsBetty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Sheridan Plaza Hotel. We are delighted to hear that your dining experience was 'excellent', we pride ourselves on our exceptional customer service and amazing cuisine. Also 'Welcome to the tropics' where it rains torrentially for months and, yes, things do get a little damp. Since your stay the hotel has had a major refurbishment and we have addressed some of your issues with new carpet throughout the hotel, new door locks and new beds and 80cm Digital Tvs. The girl on the desk had just started with us and has since completed her training. The feedback like this definitely highlights to them the importance of customer satisfaction and Larissa has become one of our most praised receptionists. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The hotel is very centrally located close to the Cairns CBD with convenient access to public transport to tourist destinations. The service during my stay was excellent - friendly and efficient - especially as it was during a Category 5 cyclone and the hotel was operating with a skeleton staff working under very trying conditions. The room was very clean, comfortable and well appointed and felt safe during the storm. The food in the restaurant was of excellent quality and reasonably priced. The few staff on duty during and just after the cyclone went out of their way to keep an almost full hotel informed, fed and relaxed and succeeded admirably.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akipp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for your generous comments and I am so happy that you were able to enjoy your stay during these extreme weather conditions. This is how we like to see our hotel and staff performance. Even in difficult times all our staff put 100% of their effort into keeping our guests safe and as comfortable as they possibly can. Thanks again for your comments they are most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 1 night to escape the onslaught of cyclone yasi. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we lost power in the hotel but staff provided plenty of torches and anything else we might need. They were even able to make us a full cooked breakfast the following morning on the gas cooker. Thanks for making our stay comfortable and pleasant. I take my hat off the staff who worked round the clock to make sure the guests were safe and especially the chef who braved the cyclone and went outside to help bring a woman inside who was wandering around in the cyclone. You all deserve a big pat on the back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_baumann1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Thank you for your generous comments it is so nice of you to share your experience with others. That really was a dramatic night. When a guest told me there was a woman wandering around the street at the height of the cyclone we went up to a high floor and sure enough there she was. This caused quite a dilemma as to whether someone should go out or not. The dilemma was resolved in the next few seconds when I saw the Chef dash out into the storm and escort her back into the hotel. She was not hurt but very wet and she spent a very comfortable night on a lounge chair in the bar area. I was particularly proud of our staff members that night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
1.7 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Address: 295 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £74 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Sheridan Hotel is the closest hotel to the Cairns International Airport and 3kms from Cairns City Centre, there are scheduled buses to and from downtown. Sightseeing tours can be booked to the Great Barrier Reef for snorkeling and diving, to the Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda to the Gulf and Cape of Carpentaria. It is two blocks from the Esplanade and scores of well known restaurants. WiFi is avail to all rooms and public areas, the Palms Restaurant is open to the public. There are 3 separate conference rooms that can cater for up to 150 persons, plus a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden. Ample parking is available in the grounds of the hotel. The Cairns Sheridan Hotel belongs to MTS, one of PNG's pioneer tourist companies which own the Madang Resort, Kalibobo Village, Kalibobo Spirit all in Madang, plus the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Minnie Street Cairns. All hotels have been consistent winners of the Trip Advisor Excellent Awards in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing