We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 weeks in cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

.Going up to cairns for 7 weeks for work, i was wondering what the rooms would be like, and was surprised at the size, quite big for a single. it had everything i needed LCD tv Table and chairs big shower that had the best water pressure i have ever seen.The staff at the front desk were brilliant.Helped with every need From wake up calls to Taxis and even suggesting attractions and drives for me to go and see and i did and they were beautiful.The food i could not fault i enjoyed every meal i ate there,breakfast was great also..The rooms were very clean and a high standard was kept...for the last 9 days there my family came up we moved to a bigger room upstairs with views of the mountains they were all made to feel extremely welcome and the staff treated my 2 children like there own and i am sure a 3 and 5 year old can test the patience of staff but they were great...i would stay here anytime,even the 2.5 klm walk to town i enjoyed.its nice to slow down and enjoy yourself .....overall me and my family enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay there again thanks to the staff....

Room Tip: we enjoyed the mountain views and the sunset and it was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

I was so pleasantly surprised as I thought this would just be an average hotel for the money we paid. This was a great place to stay. Hotel was immaculate, rooms were very nice, and the staff was great. I would stay here anytime while in Cairns!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank BlondeFishBoat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here for a conference also being held in the hotel. Rooms much bigger than I expected, and I think I had standard room.
While the decor may not be spectacular, the furniture was all modern and little touches were present, such as large area for suitcases, desk and table and chairs, dimming lights, big LCD tv with movies and sports channels, minibar (not too expensive), good sized bathroom with excellent shower, individual room airconditioning, comfortable bed with good quality linen, windows that open; really couldn't fault it. It was even on a busy road but must have been double glazed as with the window closed I heard nothing.
Even little touches that really do make your stay more comfortable like wine glasses, real milk, caffeine free coffee, tea towel, extra power points, were present.
The only downside occurred when I noticed on my second night (of 4) that my room smelt like cigarette smoke and the whole corridor stunk of it too. The next morning I asked the front desk staff if people were allowed to smoke to be told that they actually had smoking rooms, one of which was directly opposite mine! (didn't know they still existed in this day and age).
Without me having to say anything else, I was offered to move rooms which I accepted and was assisted to move by a lovely staff member to a 2 room suite upstairs, which came complete with large bath, powder room, 2 balconies, reception room, bedroom, desk etc.
As for everything else, the room service is prompt, the food nice but not spectacular and the price most acceptable.
The staff were friendly and helpful; a young lady at the counter even looked up a nearby restaurant for me, phoned them to enquire about their licensing and then printed me off a menu, without me even asking - talk about service!
The restaurant/bar has a pleasant outdoor area overlooking the pool creating nice ambience to eat/drink by.
As a conference venu, the room was spacious & clean the seating comfortable and the aircon perfect (not too cold like many places).
The ONLY downside I can see to this hotel is that it is around 2.5 klms into the city; bit of a walk in summer, and around 500 metres to the esplanade for a morning jog. Probably would be wanting a car if I stayed here again.

Room Tip: If cigarette smoke bothers you, request a room on a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel kept surprising me!
The staff on the front desk were brilliant. Very friendly, prompt and organised. One gentelman even went to the shops and bought my collegue a toothbrush when he asked in passing if they had one.
The rooms were pretty standard but very clean and well fitted out. Both room and bathroom were quite large and I was very comfortable.
The restaruant was a surprise. It looks small and simple but their menu and delivery was brilliant. Although the food was great the staff once again make this experience.
Highly recommended hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chainesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Clode to the airport this hotel is a good over night choice if you have an early flight.....it is a bit further out of town so is not idealif you want to be close to the Esplanade which is bit of a walk.
The rooms were well appointed, spacious and clean...ceratinly good value for money.
Wifi was available for a fee, there is a small gym and a ppol and there is a free washing machine and dryer for guests...handy if you have been travelling for a while.
Although I didnt eat there the hotel has a resturant and the menu looked good. there are also several shops and a supermarket close by if you want to self cater.
However certainly the selling point of this hotel is the staff....they were friendly, helpful and professional...a rare find in hotels in this price range!
If you are happy to walk to distance to the city centre or need an overnighter near the airport this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I was not expecting what I got. The service was friendly and prompt at reception, but perhaps more importantly, other staff particularly the ladies servicing the rooms and another gentleman working in the yard were very friendly and polite. Sometimes a hello in the morning and a small friendly chat can make a huge difference to the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-Clovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Arrived dead on midnight thanks to a delayed late nigth flight. The guy on the front desk was more helpful and cheerful than many receptionists I've met at noon. After a long day it was appreciated. The Deluxe Queen room was spacious, and well appointed. Same with the bathroom. The buffet breakfast is not gourmet (sorry for using an already much overused word) fare, but as others have noted, it is a good start to the day for all appetites and tastes.

All of the staff I spoke to were friendly and helpful. This hotel doesn't bill itself as a resort, but for business, or an overnighter when starting or finishing a holiday further afield the close proximity to the airport, and the facilities suited me fine. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BottomScratcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
1.7 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Address: 295 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £74 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Sheridan Hotel is the closest hotel to the Cairns International Airport and 3kms from Cairns City Centre, there are scheduled buses to and from downtown. Sightseeing tours can be booked to the Great Barrier Reef for snorkeling and diving, to the Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda to the Gulf and Cape of Carpentaria. It is two blocks from the Esplanade and scores of well known restaurants. WiFi is avail to all rooms and public areas, the Palms Restaurant is open to the public. There are 3 separate conference rooms that can cater for up to 150 persons, plus a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden. Ample parking is available in the grounds of the hotel. The Cairns Sheridan Hotel belongs to MTS, one of PNG's pioneer tourist companies which own the Madang Resort, Kalibobo Village, Kalibobo Spirit all in Madang, plus the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Minnie Street Cairns. All hotels have been consistent winners of the Trip Advisor Excellent Awards in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing