We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Excellent hotel. Staff very helpful, rooms well appointed and spacious. We stayed on a special bed and breakfast deal and was very good value. Free washing machine and dryer. Great to have one in a hotel. Had dinner here last night and was very impressed. I rarely have a decent hotel meal but this was first class. Fresh, tasty and generous in portion sizes. Stayed here two weeks ago for three nights and back here for two now. Highly recommended. Can walk to waterfront in five minutes and to the city centre in twenty five minutes along the esplanade. Lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. Meeting guests expectations in todays difficult economic environment is often a challenge. But when we exceed a guests expectations it gives us a joy that is only known to hospitality people. Your comments make our efforts even more rewarding. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    122
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
46
126
26
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently to be near the airport (4km south). On the main road (sheridan st), having a front room, you regularly hear the passing traffic and get woken in the morning by the airplanes landing/ taking off. Walls are thin and can hear the other rooms having their showers (geez some people have looonnngggg showers). The windows are insulated but not 100%. Shower over bath is not my preferred option. 1970s woodpanelling wardrobe, bedside drawers, desk, table all dated. Bed was reasonably comfortable (that I cannot fault) Cleaners didn't remove dirty towels hanging behind the bathroom door from previous guest. Bit too far to walk to the CBD for my liking - would need a car or catch the local bus. Very average and would only stay one night - greatest feature is that it is close to the airport. Tried to book directly and asked them about a deal that I saw advertised on the internet which required booking direct with hotel. Advised the deal had sold out (bed n breakfast for $140). Logged onto Hotelclub and booked the exact same deal not 5 minutes later. Wouldn't stay here again, now knowing there are quite a few hotels nearby that looked better from the outside. Enquired about the road closures to the airport (Cairns Triathlon was on) and the desk staff didn't know and had to google the road closures.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the back of the hotel (not facing sheridan street) for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
This is known in our industry as the 'Snowball Effect". Because you could not get the cheap rate that you saw sometime, somewhere in cyberspace, you were not happy and even a little angry, even before you got to the hotel. Because you were upset with us you start looking for every little thing that you can complain about, even though those things would be minor to most reasonable people. Like a snowball, once it starts rolloing down the hill it just gets bigger and bigger. Here is a tip for next time you book a hotel. These days most good hotels work on 'Dynamic Rates' not fixed rates. You may not be used to this if you haven't stayed in many hotes lately. 'Just like the airlines', as we sell more seats (beds in this case) the price goes up. If the hotel is quiet you will get a good deal. If you are trying to book one of the last few rooms available you won't get any deals. Pretty simple. Hope this helps on your next hotel booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We selected this hotel on drive by from the airport. After a very long day of travel and being tired we were just looking for a quiet clean hotel with a laundry. The room was very clean and comfortable and the bed was great. There was no problems with noise even though it was on the main road. We had room service and found the food enjoyable. After staying in 5 star hotel in the centre of Cairns on a stay previously it was pleasing to receive just as good a level of service at the Sheridan. The free laundry facilities were appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thanks for your comments. We do try very hard to be better than the 5 stars, we treat guests like people. In a 5 star you are often just a number. We have regular guests who have been staying with us since our opening. They love us and we love them.. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

stayed in may 2013,found the rooms very comfortable,air con and great beds.
although it is a multi storey hotel we found it to be very quiet.
we had breakfast and dinners their and could not fault them,food is good quality and value for money. price for accomadation is very good, we had our breakfasts included.so is the proximity to the main part of cairns.so i would def reccomend .we stayed here at the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninacoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is greatly appreciated. We have just finalized the complete replacement of every hotel bed in the property. So they are all brand new beds with pillow top covers. They really are super comfortable. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Good value for money, clean & quiet. Even though our room was on a main street it was pretty quiet all things considered. Free parking on site is a bonus and we were lucky enough to get a deal which included a hot buffet breakfast. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriki21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
It is always great to get such positive feed back, it makes our efforts so much more rewarding. As part of our renovation we have just started intalling new curtains to all rooms. These curtains are thicker and give an extra layer of noise insulation. Make sure you set your alarm because no sunlight will wake you up in our rooms. Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very Clean Rooms, Very good and friendly desk staff that go out of their way to please, Good sized meals, I have stayed here a couple of times and have not been disappointed, Well Priced with a handy location I would recommend to anyone who travels to Cairns.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. We understand people travelling on business and we especially cater for the corporates every need. Many of our corporate guests have been staying with us for years as we provide the services and facilities that make their business more of a pleasure. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Front desk staff helpful on arrival. Rooms were well maintained and decent size. Buffet breakfast was included in our price and did not disappoint. Bacon, eggs, fresh croissants, fresh fruit etc etc. A couple blocks away from the main strip which meant it was not too noisy at night, Would stay at this hotel if I returned to Cairns.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It is very encouraging to receive such positive feed back. It does make all our crews hard work and effort so much more rewarding. As you can see from other comments our service is very special to us, and our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,058 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Property: Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Address: 295 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Sheridan Hotel is the closest hotel to the Cairns International Airport and 3kms from Cairns City Centre, there are scheduled buses to and from downtown. Sightseeing tours can be booked to the Great Barrier Reef for snorkeling and diving, to the Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda to the Gulf and Cape of Carpentaria. It is two blocks from the Esplanade and scores of well known restaurants. WiFi is avail to all rooms and public areas, the Palms Restaurant is open to the public. There are 3 separate conference rooms that can cater for up to 150 persons, plus a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden. Ample parking is available in the grounds of the hotel. The Cairns Sheridan Hotel belongs to MTS, one of PNG's pioneer tourist companies which own the Madang Resort, Kalibobo Village, Kalibobo Spirit all in Madang, plus the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Minnie Street Cairns. All hotels have been consistent winners of the Trip Advisor Excellent Awards in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing