We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Accommodation and great package deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Beenleigh
1 review
“Great Accommodation and great package deal”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at the Cairns Sheridan Hotel. Great package deal for night and hot breakfast. Very friendly staff always pleased to help. Needed maintenance on toilet and this was done asap. City bus just outside the hotel which was very helpful, as we did not bring our car. Only waited about 15 minutes or less on week days to take us into the city. Bus driver very helpful.

Room Tip: Phone to see what deal you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review. As you are aware, every bus that passes the hotel, going south will take you into the heart of the city. What many people don't realise is that every bus passing the hotel going north will take you to the beautiful beaches of Cairns. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    125
    53
    13
    6
See reviews for
47
127
28
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sharidan for 5 nights, we were very impressed with the friendilyness of the staff, we stayed in a suit which had enough room to have a party in,the room was very quiet very little noise, this room included a fully cooked breakfast which we enjoyed every morning.
The sheridan is about 3km out of town abit far to far to walk, a car rental is needed or bring your own car as we did.I would recommend this hotel if you want a nice quiet stay not to close to the hussle and bussel of the town it self.
Very affordable with high rate of excellence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments they are greatly appreciated. It is good that you had your own car in Cairns so you may not of been aware of our new shuttle bus service that runs down town on a regular basis. This is a very easy and convenient way to get into town for the day without having to hire a car. Just ask at the front desk. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I travel to Cairns regularly on business and have stayed at this hotel for the past 15 years. The service ,standard of rooms,restaurant and friendliness of staff have always been excellent over this period of time.

The management and staff of this hotel should be congratulated on their efforts in making this one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I have recommended it it all my work colleagues and business associates.

The location is excellent being close to the airport and also a short walk along the esplanade to the cbd ( a great end or start to a busy work day)

My thanks to the management and staff for a first class experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
It never ceases to amaze me how many of our guests have been staying at this hotel for such a long time. It is humbling to think we have such an influence on people that they continue to return and enjoy our hospitality over and over, despite the numerous options available. I thank you sincerely for your comments and trust you will be returning again. I look forward to hopefully catching up with you. Kind regards, Stuart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I've been staying at the Cairns Sheridan Hotel for several years now. The hotel simply is as reliable as it is convenient. The staff are always super friendly, the rooms comfortable and clean and as far as value for money goes, it's pretty hard to beat.

The hotel is well located, midway between the airport and the centre of town and if you're looking for value for money for either work or pleasure, I strongly recommend the Cairns Sheridan.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It is good to know we are getting it right. We have made so many improvements to the hotel and it shows in the excellent responses we are getting from our guests. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I travel to Cairns frequently on both business and leisure and I also spend quite a bit of time overseas. I'm not sure when I started staying at the Sheridan but it would have been some 12 to 14 years ago and I have not stayed anywhere in Cairns other than this Hotel.

I spend quite a bit of time overseas and this hotel rates amongst the best I have had the pleasure to stay in.

The staff treat you like family and the service leaves little to be desired. The hotel management are continually upgrading (new furniture, new floor coverings, room décor and the list goes on), which keeps this hotel in the five star bracket when it comes to comfort and pleasant surroundings.

Have to say the breakfast provided leaves a little to be desired but it's no doubt hard to cater for all tastes given that the hotel caters for holiday makers from around the world

Room Tip: All rooms on the fifth floor are large and the suites are enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. And thank you for noticing all the work that has gone into the property lately. We are currently planning a complete rebuild of the breakfast buffet area and the equipment we use for presenting the food. We are listening to our guests and although the food on the buffet is very good, we feel it is not being presented in a manner that befits our hotel. Whatch this space on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sheridan for 4 nights recently. We got a good room rate, but watch out for booking in USD, with the weaker AUD the total price was more than originally expected. The staff were very friendly, a mistake was made at checkout when I was charged the full normal price but it was corrected without a worry. We had some frozen food to take back to PNG and it wasn’t a worry to store it in the deep freeze overnight. The room was clean and functional and as expected for the price. This time we didn’t have a hire car and hadn’t realised that the hotel is actually quire far from the town centre/marina area, the taxi fares added up and it may be more economical to stay in a more expensive hotel closer to the centre if you are planning to be going there on a daily basis. We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for you comments. Not sure what happened on check-out but it is good to hear the staff took care of it without any problems. Also, we have a mini bus that does regular trips down town so next time you are here just let us know when you want to go into town and we can see when the next bus is going. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was the best value hotel of our trip. We had 2 interconnecting rooms, beds were really comfortable. Perfect for a late arrival from the airport. Appreciated free wifi. Weren't there long enough to make use of the facilities, the gym and pool looked pretty good.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mpawll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. All the beds in the hotel are brand new and yes, I agree, they are very comfortable. We have recently upgraded our WiFi to make it far more effective with Mobile phones and tablet devices. This upgrade has been well received by all our guests and in particular our regular corporate travellers. We will shortly be on the NBN so we are looking forward to even faster access. Hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy the pool and our other amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Property: Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Address: 295 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Sheridan Hotel is the closest hotel to the Cairns International Airport and 3kms from Cairns City Centre, there are scheduled buses to and from downtown. Sightseeing tours can be booked to the Great Barrier Reef for snorkeling and diving, to the Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda to the Gulf and Cape of Carpentaria. It is two blocks from the Esplanade and scores of well known restaurants. WiFi is avail to all rooms and public areas, the Palms Restaurant is open to the public. There are 3 separate conference rooms that can cater for up to 150 persons, plus a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden. Ample parking is available in the grounds of the hotel. The Cairns Sheridan Hotel belongs to MTS, one of PNG's pioneer tourist companies which own the Madang Resort, Kalibobo Village, Kalibobo Spirit all in Madang, plus the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Minnie Street Cairns. All hotels have been consistent winners of the Trip Advisor Excellent Awards in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing