We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sheridan for 3 nights over a long weekend. And we were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to their top floor as we arrived! So definitely a good first impression. The unfortunate part was that their top floor is the only level without a balcony. With that aside, the room was very spacious and clean. The bed was very large as well!
As for location, I am glad we had a car, as it was a fair way from the city centre. But there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. The hotel also does 24h room service which is quiet handy. And offers a nice simple buffet breakfast.

Overall a very nice hotel with good value for money, we would recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: No balcony's on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annafjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank for your comments. Our executive rooms have large bay windows that give you a 180` view of Trinity Inlet. With a king bed they are truley a beautiful room. The hotel is handy to both the airport and city. We have recently introduced a regular shuttle bus service down town which gets you there in 5 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    129
    57
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
132
30
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have been travelling to Cairns for business and leisure for quite a few years now and have used a number of different motels but since my first visit here I have not bothered with anywhere else.
The management and staff are efficient and very friendly and welcome and look after "regulars" and new visitors alike.
The menu changes regularly and the new restaurant furniture along with the recent repaint have really freshened up the look of the establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. Like you, we get many return travellers which is our best indicator that we continue to get things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Though a little far from city centre it is a good location for surrounding area sightseeing. The rooms were very well maintained and well stocked. The restaurant did a simple but very good buffet breakfast. We only dined there one night and thought it was value for money. The staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emuclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We have recently introduced a shuttle bus service down town and also all the local buses passing the hotel go straight into town. Generally 5-10 minutes. But you have to do the walk along the entire waterfront of Trinity inlet into the city, at least once, it is simply stunning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beenleigh
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at the Cairns Sheridan Hotel. Great package deal for night and hot breakfast. Very friendly staff always pleased to help. Needed maintenance on toilet and this was done asap. City bus just outside the hotel which was very helpful, as we did not bring our car. Only waited about 15 minutes or less on week days to take us into the city. Bus driver very helpful.

Room Tip: Phone to see what deal you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review. As you are aware, every bus that passes the hotel, going south will take you into the heart of the city. What many people don't realise is that every bus passing the hotel going north will take you to the beautiful beaches of Cairns. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sharidan for 5 nights, we were very impressed with the friendilyness of the staff, we stayed in a suit which had enough room to have a party in,the room was very quiet very little noise, this room included a fully cooked breakfast which we enjoyed every morning.
The sheridan is about 3km out of town abit far to far to walk, a car rental is needed or bring your own car as we did.I would recommend this hotel if you want a nice quiet stay not to close to the hussle and bussel of the town it self.
Very affordable with high rate of excellence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments they are greatly appreciated. It is good that you had your own car in Cairns so you may not of been aware of our new shuttle bus service that runs down town on a regular basis. This is a very easy and convenient way to get into town for the day without having to hire a car. Just ask at the front desk. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I travel to Cairns regularly on business and have stayed at this hotel for the past 15 years. The service ,standard of rooms,restaurant and friendliness of staff have always been excellent over this period of time.

The management and staff of this hotel should be congratulated on their efforts in making this one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I have recommended it it all my work colleagues and business associates.

The location is excellent being close to the airport and also a short walk along the esplanade to the cbd ( a great end or start to a busy work day)

My thanks to the management and staff for a first class experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
It never ceases to amaze me how many of our guests have been staying at this hotel for such a long time. It is humbling to think we have such an influence on people that they continue to return and enjoy our hospitality over and over, despite the numerous options available. I thank you sincerely for your comments and trust you will be returning again. I look forward to hopefully catching up with you. Kind regards, Stuart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I've been staying at the Cairns Sheridan Hotel for several years now. The hotel simply is as reliable as it is convenient. The staff are always super friendly, the rooms comfortable and clean and as far as value for money goes, it's pretty hard to beat.

The hotel is well located, midway between the airport and the centre of town and if you're looking for value for money for either work or pleasure, I strongly recommend the Cairns Sheridan.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It is good to know we are getting it right. We have made so many improvements to the hotel and it shows in the excellent responses we are getting from our guests. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
1.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
4.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Property: Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Address: 295 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Sheridan Hotel is the closest hotel to the Cairns International Airport and 3kms from Cairns City Centre, there are scheduled buses to and from downtown. Sightseeing tours can be booked to the Great Barrier Reef for snorkeling and diving, to the Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda to the Gulf and Cape of Carpentaria. It is two blocks from the Esplanade and scores of well known restaurants. WiFi is avail to all rooms and public areas, the Palms Restaurant is open to the public. There are 3 separate conference rooms that can cater for up to 150 persons, plus a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden. Ample parking is available in the grounds of the hotel. The Cairns Sheridan Hotel belongs to MTS, one of PNG's pioneer tourist companies which own the Madang Resort, Kalibobo Village, Kalibobo Spirit all in Madang, plus the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Minnie Street Cairns. All hotels have been consistent winners of the Trip Advisor Excellent Awards in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing