We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We found this hotel very clean and comfortable. The service we received during our stay was by far the best compare to a lot of hotels we have stayed in, a big THANKS to all concerned. We will be back next time in Cairns.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHSP, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for thanking us.We often get very good comments about our staff and service but guests rarely thank us for it. The attitudes of staff can make or break a holiday. Our goal is to make everyones stay with us as good as it can get.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    122
    53
    13
    6
See reviews for
46
127
26
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in January. Stayed in a standard room with buffet breakfast every day.

Room was quite spacious, with large bathroom which had a shower over bath tub. There is also a balcony with table fpr two.

We had no problems with the room or its amenities; hot water wasn't an issue, tv had your usual free to air channels and bed was clean and very comfortable.

Buffet breakfast was good- a selection of fresh fruits as well as juices, with your usual American breakfast staples such as hash browns, sausages, bacon and eggs.

One benefit of this hotel is it's location- it is right in between Cairns airport and the Cairns city centre, each being a five minute drive. There is ample undercover parking if you have a hire car (as we did). We didn't use the pool or the gym, so can't comment on these.

Staff were always friendly and polite, greeting us with a smile everyday when we returned to the hotel. Would definitely stay again next time we come to Cairns.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shats86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHSP, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. Yes it is the perfect location, especially if you have a car. But if you don't have a car we have a shuttle bus that runs down town regularly and the local bus stops just across the road from the hotel. I hope you noticed that as well as the 30 odd digital TV channels there is also 6 cable and 2 free, latest release, in-house movie channels available in your room. Thanks for enjoying your stay, it is our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our travel agent, Tess at pacificislands.com booked us here for a five day stay in early January. The hotel was nice and quiet, not in a great location but within our budget and requirements. Our package included breakfast which was pretty good, they have a really pretty breakfast room. The pool was very small, more like a koi pond but perfect for lounging around. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHSP, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for you great comments. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and we have previously looked at ways of improving the pool and sun deck. I really don't think the pool is that small but maybe your suggestion of filling it with Koi could be what we are looking for. Or Barramundi perhaps. Maybe not but one thing we are doing next month is to totally rejuvenate the gardens around the pool and the hotel. We are going to lanscape 'the perfect place for lounging around' and make it even more tropical and spectacular. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a great find, after having been put in worst hotel ever ( Bohemia )over the road to this came here to see if they had any rooms ,the staff were so helpful got us a lovely room which was a million times better than we had to put up with in other hostel , sorry hotel, gave us breakfast with room for three. Days we stayed there .would go back there again , they change a trip to pick us up at there hotel !! Thank you so much Sheridan hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markysm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
You’re welcome, and thank you for your comments. At this hotel we still believe that hospitality can be saved despite it becoming a sad victim of the new age hotelier. Even in my travels I find it harder and harder to find the elusive hospitality. Hotels can't take glossy photos of hospitality, nor describe its beauty; you just have to hope it has survived in the hotels you have booked. Sadly all too often you just get a hotel. Maybe the new age hospitality industry is searching for a name change from hospitality to hotelitality. Then we could all put to rest the foolish expectation of finding the very rare and endangered hospitality. Rest assured, "Hospitality is alive and well at the Cairns Sheridan Hotel".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed over christmas and new year. Close to the city by car and very quiet to relax. Rooms clean and staff very friendly. Plenty of attraction information at the check in desk so your choices are endless of things to do. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurse-suey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We take much pride in our customer service and from the comments received it is apparent that guests appreciate our efforts, Our goal is to make our everyones stay as comfortable as possible. Yes we have a full tour desk in the lobby with practically every tour available in the Cairns region. You can review all the tours and get great advice and tips from our experienced staff. We can have all your tours booked right from the hotel at the best price available. Just another part of the service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We chose this hotel because of it's close proximity to the airport as our flight was due in at midnight. We didn't reach the hotel until nearly 1AM but there was 24 hr check-in and we were welcomed with a smile. Breakfast was included in our room price and it was good value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHSP, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your comments Joanne. We are the closest major hotel to the Cairns Airport and as such we cater for all late arrivals and early departures. It is less than 10 minutes to the airport so we are often refered to as Cairns Airport Hotel. There is never a problem with checking in at any time due to our 24 hour reception. I am glad the night staff are still smiling, this can be a difficult time to get a smile. I will pass your comments on to them. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I operate a small hospitality business in Mission Beach. We try and escape to Cairns about every two months for some rest and relaxation, business and visit family.
We have tried a variety of Hotels throughout Cairns and have found the Cairns Sheridan hotel to be the most comfortable and best value for money. Yes it is a little isolated from the main CBD area but we regard this as an advantage as it is very quiet which makes for better sleep quality. Most people have a car anyway so we don't see this as a problem.
The reception staff, room service staff, dining room waitress and even the maintenance man all provide excellent service with a smile which is sadly lacking in most of Cairns CBD hotels. Staff here are very helpful and friendly and have a down to earth way of conducting themselves. This is a credit to management and all concerned. Congratulations.
We have been in a variety of rooms and have found them all very comfortable, well appointed and exceptionally clean.
The bed and breakfast deal of $119.00 per night is excellent value but be quick it won't last.
Looking forward to our next visit over Christmas.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent value for money. Have not tried the spa yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibiscuslodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHSP, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your comments, we really do appreciate the feedback we get regarding our staff. As you say, too many hotels have lost the focus on guest satisfaction and friendly service. Believe me, it is alive and well at the Cairns Sheridan Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Property: Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Address: 295 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Sheridan Hotel is the closest hotel to the Cairns International Airport and 3kms from Cairns City Centre, there are scheduled buses to and from downtown. Sightseeing tours can be booked to the Great Barrier Reef for snorkeling and diving, to the Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda to the Gulf and Cape of Carpentaria. It is two blocks from the Esplanade and scores of well known restaurants. WiFi is avail to all rooms and public areas, the Palms Restaurant is open to the public. There are 3 separate conference rooms that can cater for up to 150 persons, plus a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden. Ample parking is available in the grounds of the hotel. The Cairns Sheridan Hotel belongs to MTS, one of PNG's pioneer tourist companies which own the Madang Resort, Kalibobo Village, Kalibobo Spirit all in Madang, plus the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Minnie Street Cairns. All hotels have been consistent winners of the Trip Advisor Excellent Awards in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing