We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great location for myself just north of city, close to airport and a hotel next door.
Breakfast was good and the lady who looked after the brekky room was friendly and helpful (Buffet style help yourself).
Shower good
A/C good
Beds fine
Room clean
My room was back of hotel above reception 2nd floor no problems, I had a friend who was at the front of hotel on Sheridan St our indigenous friends elected to have a party at the bus stop out front so was a little noisy still there at 6am, (not the hotels fault but might be a consideration)

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor or above no balcony on level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed our facilities. I am sorry about the party in the bus stop that your friend could hear. I had no idea and it is something that I have not heard of happening before. We didn't have anyone else mention this on the night but if your friend had of reported it to the night receptionist then we may of been able to get some assistance to move them on. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    125
    53
    13
    6
See reviews for
47
127
28
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
terranora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My stay here was value plus and the friendly staff was excellent.talk about a beautiful sleep on the beds I melted into them and I will stay here everytime I stay in cairns well done Sheraton cairns you won me.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 211268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It really is comments like these that get the good people in hospitality motivated and striving even harder to please. It can be a brutal industry at times when dealing with all types of people. Your review has come at a particularly emotive time and I thank you for it. Everyone needs a pat on the back now and then and this was just the tonic we all needed here at the Cairns Sheridan Hotel. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardwell, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

No balcony as advertised, used soap in the shower, paper thin walls, elevator door that closed on me, air con didn't work (hot!), couldnt use the driveway because of staff car, Breakfast was horrid.... never again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scorpio8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2015
Sorry we couldn't give you a refund because the automatic lift doors closed on you. You know the 'staff car' was the hotel courtesy bus so why would you call it a staff car? People who do reviews like this repulse me. I know the truth and so do you. Thank you for never coming here again, better still some people should just stay at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We found this hotel very clean and comfortable. The service we received during our stay was by far the best compare to a lot of hotels we have stayed in, a big THANKS to all concerned. We will be back next time in Cairns.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHSP, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for thanking us.We often get very good comments about our staff and service but guests rarely thank us for it. The attitudes of staff can make or break a holiday. Our goal is to make everyones stay with us as good as it can get.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in January. Stayed in a standard room with buffet breakfast every day.

Room was quite spacious, with large bathroom which had a shower over bath tub. There is also a balcony with table fpr two.

We had no problems with the room or its amenities; hot water wasn't an issue, tv had your usual free to air channels and bed was clean and very comfortable.

Buffet breakfast was good- a selection of fresh fruits as well as juices, with your usual American breakfast staples such as hash browns, sausages, bacon and eggs.

One benefit of this hotel is it's location- it is right in between Cairns airport and the Cairns city centre, each being a five minute drive. There is ample undercover parking if you have a hire car (as we did). We didn't use the pool or the gym, so can't comment on these.

Staff were always friendly and polite, greeting us with a smile everyday when we returned to the hotel. Would definitely stay again next time we come to Cairns.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shats86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHSP, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. Yes it is the perfect location, especially if you have a car. But if you don't have a car we have a shuttle bus that runs down town regularly and the local bus stops just across the road from the hotel. I hope you noticed that as well as the 30 odd digital TV channels there is also 6 cable and 2 free, latest release, in-house movie channels available in your room. Thanks for enjoying your stay, it is our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our travel agent, Tess at pacificislands.com booked us here for a five day stay in early January. The hotel was nice and quiet, not in a great location but within our budget and requirements. Our package included breakfast which was pretty good, they have a really pretty breakfast room. The pool was very small, more like a koi pond but perfect for lounging around. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHSP, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for you great comments. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and we have previously looked at ways of improving the pool and sun deck. I really don't think the pool is that small but maybe your suggestion of filling it with Koi could be what we are looking for. Or Barramundi perhaps. Maybe not but one thing we are doing next month is to totally rejuvenate the gardens around the pool and the hotel. We are going to lanscape 'the perfect place for lounging around' and make it even more tropical and spectacular. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a great find, after having been put in worst hotel ever ( Bohemia )over the road to this came here to see if they had any rooms ,the staff were so helpful got us a lovely room which was a million times better than we had to put up with in other hostel , sorry hotel, gave us breakfast with room for three. Days we stayed there .would go back there again , they change a trip to pick us up at there hotel !! Thank you so much Sheridan hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markysm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheridan295, General Manager at Cairns Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
You’re welcome, and thank you for your comments. At this hotel we still believe that hospitality can be saved despite it becoming a sad victim of the new age hotelier. Even in my travels I find it harder and harder to find the elusive hospitality. Hotels can't take glossy photos of hospitality, nor describe its beauty; you just have to hope it has survived in the hotels you have booked. Sadly all too often you just get a hotel. Maybe the new age hospitality industry is searching for a name change from hospitality to hotelitality. Then we could all put to rest the foolish expectation of finding the very rare and endangered hospitality. Rest assured, "Hospitality is alive and well at the Cairns Sheridan Hotel".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sheridan Hotel

Property: Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Address: 295 Sheridan Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Quality Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cairns
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cairns Sheridan Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Sheridan Hotel is the closest hotel to the Cairns International Airport and 3kms from Cairns City Centre, there are scheduled buses to and from downtown. Sightseeing tours can be booked to the Great Barrier Reef for snorkeling and diving, to the Atherton Tablelands, Kuranda to the Gulf and Cape of Carpentaria. It is two blocks from the Esplanade and scores of well known restaurants. WiFi is avail to all rooms and public areas, the Palms Restaurant is open to the public. There are 3 separate conference rooms that can cater for up to 150 persons, plus a large balcony overlooking the pool and garden. Ample parking is available in the grounds of the hotel. The Cairns Sheridan Hotel belongs to MTS, one of PNG's pioneer tourist companies which own the Madang Resort, Kalibobo Village, Kalibobo Spirit all in Madang, plus the Tropical Heritage Hotel in Minnie Street Cairns. All hotels have been consistent winners of the Trip Advisor Excellent Awards in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Quality Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing