We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns Southside International
Ranked #56 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for business trip”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews but I found the place very clean and comfortable and perfect for a few nights stay on a business trip. Not right in the middle of the city so you don't have all the noise and hustle and bustle. Restaurant was very good and the staff could not do enough for me. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and our location in the beautiful Cairns region of Tropical North Queensland . We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    24
    23
    13
    13
See reviews for
19
37
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

A group of 4 couples together stayed at the Southside hotel. We found the decor of the restaurant and reception to be very modern and attractive. The rooms were beautiful and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. We also ate at the restaurant, in which we shared in plenty of fish, oysters, squid, steaks and entrees. The food was absolutely beautiful! All of us definitely would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in Tropical North Queensland and experienced our delicious cuisine and atmosphere of the Southside Bar and Grill Restaurant. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at the Cairns Southside and found that the staff were pleasant, the rooms clean and tidy and the location excellent. The location is easy to get to, parking is no problem and pick up for tours was easy. The restaurant provides an excellent meal with all the trimmings. Drinks and food prices are competitive. Loved it. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. We are happy to hear your positive feedback regarding the location, price and restaurant experience. We hope that you choose to stay with us when next in Cairns and recommend us to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabiru, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel. I found service at the hotel strange. I arrived at around 9:10pm and was greeted by a sign at the front door stating that the reception closes at 9:30pm. The door was locked. I had to ring a door bell then waiting some 5 minutes before service arrived. The room was average in size with a large comfortable clean bed. The bathroom had stains in the sink and shower area. At the rear of the hotel, views consisted of the carpark. There was a lingering musty smell throughout the hotel. The hotel is located some 5-6 kilometres from city centre. I found getting transport into the city a problem. There is a shopping centre about 500 meters away. The time spent at this hotel, the service was ordinary. I recommend staying at a hotel near the city where most of the tourist attractions are.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maz092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Cairns Southside International, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for advising us of your concerns regarding our property. We are always in the process of ongoing maintenance to improve the quality of our guests experience and feedback is important to assist us to prioritise our improvements to meet guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

The first thing we noticed when we first arrived at the hotel was how filthy the floor was. The carpeted stairs were covered in fluff and dirt and leaves...six days later when we left they were just the same, actually dirtier.
The coffee cups in our room had not been washed when we went to use them for the first time.
The pool has no shade except for the toddlers end, and the sun loungers were so putrid I didn't bother laying on them.
The curtains don't meet in the middle or even at either end of the dodgy pole their hanging from. The floodlights of the big garage are on all night and shine in the room so we had to sleep with pillows over our heads.
The bus to the centre of town is nice and handy, however the drivers were mostly cranky and not helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ashgrove-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment through my work - the websites all advertise that this is Cairns' newest 4 star Motel....but I very much doubt that!! The apartment needs a good clean and alot of the furnishings / decor needs to be replaced. The phone didnt work and the TV is so small you have to pull it closer to the couch to be able to watch it!!
It was advertised as fully self contained but only had one small bar fridge and a small camp oven with 2 hotplates ( one of which didnt work)!! There was also hardly and cutlery and serving utensils provided, the kitchen area definately needs some attention! Smoking is allowed in the reception area which is the entrance to the restaurant also??
On the positive side there was 2 bathrooms in the apartment, they offer a daily service if you want it and it is in handy walking distance to the stocklands shopping centre.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4me23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at Rainbow Southside in early September 2009. It's clean except there are small ants in the bathroom sink area. Location is too far from the city center and Esplanade. We walked once from the hotel to Esplanade area, it took 1 hour. One review mentioned it's 20 minutes walk which is incorrect. Even the hotel staff told us it's too far to walk to the city center.

Free internet use but the connection is very very slow. In the evening, there is nothing to do because it's too far from the city. You get free continental breakfast.

There is no free shuttle from airport to the hotel. I thought it advertised free shuttle service from the airport. The taxi costs A$37-44 to the airport depending which taxi driver you get.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.5 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
0.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#33 of 64 in Cairns
477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#43 of 64 in Cairns
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
2.4 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cannon Park Motel
Cannon Park Motel
#30 of 64 in Cairns
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Southside International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Southside International

Property: Cairns Southside International
Address: 450 Mulgrave Road., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Southside International 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Southside International is a modern 4 star property that is only a short 5 minute drive into the city of Cairns, Queensland. You will find yourself situated right amongst great tourist attractions and events in no time staying with us. Feel free to roam the streets where you will find an abundance of internationally renowned restaurants, a huge variety of bars, as well as retail shops open till late every day for your easy browsing. If looking somewhere to relax for the day, there are plenty of options around the city, starting with the Cairns world famous lagoon, where you can help yourself to a free barbecue, lay on the lawns sun baking, or take a swim to cool off. Cairns Southside International has many facilities including the pool area where you can unwind amongst the palm trees enjoying a drink ordered directly from the bar. If you're feeling hungry then ordering from our popular Southside Bar & Grill A-La-Carte restaurant is a must, the menu features a large variety of choices, including freshly caught local seafood, a selection of succulent meat dishes, or a pasta meal full of your favorite flavors, there is something for everyone. Cairns Southside International will suit your holiday or business requirements. Laundry with ironing, tour booking desk, Internet computer terminals with printing, free wireless internet throughout, and fax options are just a few things we can help you with. All of our rooms are air-conditioned and have 32-inch flat screen televisions with foxtel to help make your stay with us comfortable, as well as a stocked mini-bar, iron with ironing board, hair dryer, and tea and coffee making facilities. We have plenty of rooms options, from our Queen bed guest room, up to our Luxury spa suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Southside International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Cairns Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing