We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A so so option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Southside International
Ranked #55 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The apt in the hotel is spacious and confy, but it is too far from downtown (3.5 km) or any interesting places and there isn't shuttle to the airport. It's OK if you have a car. The internet doesn't work well. The price is good.

Room Tip: Better choose a apt not close the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBerg111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

The rooms we saw were fine in size but they were not maintained properly.
Had to move because the first room we were sent to the A/C did not work, second did but was SO loud and noisy, that we could not use at all. The wifi did not work AT ALL

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shmuel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This isn't the first time I have stayed here, the first time I stayed was really nice, the older lady at reception was happy and warming like it should be. Unfortunately the last time I stayed which was about a month ago I was very surprised how I was treated by the young blonde lady at Reception, who seemed more focused on her phone and the young men at the bar. I checked into one of the Spa rooms and was upset to find the air con did not work and that the fans had no knobs on them for me to even put them on. I went back and just explained to the lady what the issue was and that it seemed a bit rough to pay $120 if things in the room wasnt working. She told me that she wasn't the boss and doesn't make the rules. I said to her well that's pretty sad that you cant even just change me out of that room to another one. I can assure you that was the last time ill ever go there. I work in a resort and if I ever treated customers that way id be out of a job.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have chosen this Inn for its convenient location just a short drive from the city centre and close proximity to Gordonvale and the Atherton Tableland. It has good off-street parking and you may land a good deal for a room.
The rooms have all necessary facilities, but a hint; the road at the front is the Bruce Hwy and can be noisy. So try to get a room facing the rear of the building. Also the windows have no insect screen, so it is necessary to run the aircon even when not wanted. I would stay here again but would try for a different room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Pre-booked by a travel agent. Unfortunately, however, it was not in Cairns central as requested. Upon arrival I was told reception would be unattended from 11am to 4pm Saturday & Sunday. Before the receptionist left I reported the wifi was not working. She said they had been having trouble for some time with this and it was still not working. I finally settled in my room and then found there was a hole in the bathroom sink. The sliding window on the ground floor room was kept closed by a stick wedged (not very well) in the slider groove. The fridge seal was filthy. The carpets were dirty/stained in the rooms and in the corridors. When new receptionist arrived at 4pm I complained about the state of my room and she immediately offered me a change of room. The new room was still on the ground floor but better than the first. This receptionist also said that the wifi had been a problem for some time. I think the hotel should not be advertising wifi if they cannot provide it. It is not the hotel to book if you want to be in the centre of Cairns. That is the main reason why I was not happy staying here. I have stayed in much better hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

On arrival i was pleased to see a vibrant restaurant and bar as this is one of the things i look for when booking a hotel to stay at, i love the atmosphere of a place that has these two facilities and was very impressed Cairns southside for this. I booked the spa suite which after entering the room i couldnt believe how cheap i got it for. The room was huge with a big spa bath. there was a kitchen and lounge with a balcony. The appearance of the hotel overall was quite good, looked alittle like a castle. pool was ok, was in a strange spot, but was clean and had a big slide. restaurant is a must, food was great and well priced for customers. access in and out of the carpark was good. I really enjoyed this hotel and would stay here again when i revisit cairns.

Room Tip: Spa suite was great and well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I arranged for a late check-in, after front-desk hours. I was traveling alone. If you check in after front-desk hours, be aware that the check-in is outside, and the neighborhood feels a little sketchy. You use a phone outside to call an after hours service, the service gives you information to access a safe with your key and room information. That went smoothly enough. Except I went to my assigned room, and it very obviously hadn't been cleaned since the last person staying there. It was pretty bad. I wasn't sure what to do, seeing as how the reception was closed. I decided to go back down to the phone to call the after hours service and report the problem. They offered another room key from the safe. I went back upstairs. The key didn't work. I called again; they offered another key for a third room. That didn't work either. Finally, the service called the manager that resides in the hotel to let he know she needed to come out and address the problem. She was obviously not happy to be woken up, and didn't say a word to me as she went about getting a key that would work. She was pretty rude. As I was about to leave to my room, she did say she was sorry for the inconvenience. At that point, my stay was ruined anyway. Even if things had gone well, the most I would give the hotel would be a 3. It had a damp, icky smell in the hallways, and the rooms were fairly depressing. I wouldn't expect a whole lot at that price though. The bed, however, was fairly comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#41 of 63 in Cairns
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 63 in Cairns
502 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#54 of 63 in Cairns
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
2.3 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
2.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Southside International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Southside International

Address: 450 Mulgrave Road., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £40 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Southside International 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Southside International is a modern 4 star property that is only a short 5 minute drive into the city of Cairns, Queensland. You will find yourself situated right amongst great tourist attractions and events in no time staying with us. Feel free to roam the streets where you will find an abundance of internationally renowned restaurants, a huge variety of bars, as well as retail shops open till late every day for your easy browsing. If looking somewhere to relax for the day, there are plenty of options around the city, starting with the Cairns world famous lagoon, where you can help yourself to a free barbecue, lay on the lawns sun baking, or take a swim to cool off. Cairns Southside International has many facilities including the pool area where you can unwind amongst the palm trees enjoying a drink ordered directly from the bar. If you're feeling hungry then ordering from our popular Southside Bar & Grill A-La-Carte restaurant is a must, the menu features a large variety of choices, including freshly caught local seafood, a selection of succulent meat dishes, or a pasta meal full of your favorite flavors, there is something for everyone. Cairns Southside International will suit your holiday or business requirements. Laundry with ironing, tour booking desk, Internet computer terminals with printing, free wireless internet throughout, and fax options are just a few things we can help you with. All of our rooms are air-conditioned and have 32-inch flat screen televisions with foxtel to help make your stay with us comfortable, as well as a stocked mini-bar, iron with ironing board, hair dryer, and tea and coffee making facilities. We have plenty of rooms options, from our Queen bed guest room, up to our Luxury spa suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Southside International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Cairns
Cairns Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing