We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Clean Tidy good staff quiet location, close to bus routes ($2.20 into city), all in all not a bad choice, pool as clean, overall i would use it again. Very short walk to the beach, away from all the noise but close enough to walk. I had the continental breakfast AUD10 was ok, but was nice to sit and eat it outside watching the world go by. Give it a try

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glyder69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Very glad to hear we suited your needs. It certainly has been great weather to eat in ‘open air restaurants’ ours included. Thanks again from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

If you stay at this hotel, keep in mind that you are about a 10-minute walk from food and shops. I am only mentioning this because after you come back from an 8-hour tour (whether snorkeling or diving in the Reef, or walking about the Rainforest), you will have to walk to find a decent supper. I would not recommend the Vietnamese place next door as it is overpriced. The rooms were definitely dated and you should expect to hear everything from the rooms around you since the walls are so thin (you may have neighbors on your left, right, and even behind you - so three of your four walls could be shared.) And you can hear everything, including sneezes! If you want a quiet place to enjoy after a long day of tours or shopping, this may not be the best place for you.

That said, the staff are pretty amazing. They were super helpful and enjoyable to speak with. They were very knowledgeable about the area and willing to go the extra mile to assist. However, they failed to mention (while on the way to the airport, or while booking my airport shuttle) that the international terminal is not staffed between 3pm and 930pm, which means a long time to sit around if you've arrived for a late flight and are expecting shops or restaurants to amuse yourself with.

Pros = staff, clean bedding
Cons = thin walls, not the most convenient location to restaurants and shops

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JamieLynn2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Well you learn something new everyday, none of us were aware that the International Airport wasn’t staffed and if so that’s not crash hot. The norm is we encourage people to leave their bags and go on tour or similar for the day; you are most welcome to leave bags right up until 7.30pm if you have a late flight (after that we sell them on Ebay to pay for our supper!)…

As for noise - OMG - I so agree. We have just been through our busiest season in 4 years with people arriving around the clock, guests trying to check-in constantly before all the guest’s have checked out, screaming kids, snoring guests, yelling, splashing, laughing (far too much of that going on), clicking walking frames and sticks, pram wheels, suitcase wheels, yelling across the car-park from partners, “…hurry up the bus is here…have you got the room key…grab the camera I left it next to the bed…have you got the voucher…” Not to mention tour buses coming and going, taxis and all those terrible human noises LOL!

Seriously though, we do find that in our block with the adjoining rooms (as it’s older style) we do have issues sometimes where people don’t realize that noise does carry through the adjoining room doors - I also had this in a new 5-star property I worked in with walking and dragging noises from above and one would think with new building materials this wouldn’t be a problem in newer buildings but it still seems to be. A call to reception is all that is required so we can mention to people in adjoining rooms – this is possible 24 hours a day – to keep it down. Generally people just don’t realize they are having such a good time!

Thanks again, I hope you enjoyed Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

For the price we were very happy with our room and great comfortable beds. Rooms serviced every day. Close to waterfront and 10-15mins walk to the city. friendly staff. Lovely clean pool. Airconditioned + fan. Laundry facilities extra and internet extra. Bus stop just around corner. easy to be picked up and dropped back after tours. No microwave but we got around that.

Have to pay for key to safe in room. Would not do that again. Too expensive.

DO NOT have the $15 breakfast in the Vietnamese Resturant. Very small sausages chopped in half. Hash browns cut in half. Only orange juice or cold water. When asked for a fried or poached egg was told no only scrambled eggs. All food in tiny dishes so you could only have a small scoop of each. We have travelled world wide and this was the worst breakfast that I have ever had. Thank goodness we didn't go for a night meal. We would certainly stay there again but not eat there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 247traveller-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We do charge $2.20 per day for safe hire; we didn’t initially but found people would not take care of the key and at $110.00 each to replace it was an issue. Since we started charging we haven’t had one go missing (touch wood). I will certainly take up your issues with breakfast with the owners of the restaurant; I hope you complained at the time and asked for a refund if it was that bad; I certainly would have but it is very nice to hear that you would stay with us again; we’d love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel has good clean rooms that to me seems newly renovated. I found the room to be cozy and sufficient and have tried worse at higher prices. The room was with teil floor, which you want in the tropics. The aircon in my room was silent enough and worked well. We heard the neighbours once, when they were having a drunken party. Management told them to shut up at ten and it was enforced. They partied on, but every time they would get close to being noisy they were told to keep it down.
I have read complaints about the rooms I do not understand. It is not Hilton, but compared to price it is very good. And yes I have stayed at Hilton.
One complains about the free coffee milk. It was topped up daily.
Another complains about a warning not to go out at night. That is not what the sign says. It tells you to be careful and not walk alone in dark places. They are at many hotels in Australia. It does not warn what the complaining person stated. In fact Cairns has a lower crime rate than most of Australia's urban centers and many gated US communities.
The reception service could be better, they close early, but they are nice. Even when one other customer abused them for something they had no involvement in they stayed nice and accommodating. But of course, it is never ones own fault. So blame the hotel and write a crappy review.
My only complaint was that when the bathroom window was open everyone could see straight in as the curtain is a few cm to short. And it has to be open after a shower since there is no suction.
About lizards, yeah tropics you know, we even had lizards in the room at Novotel.
And it is more than a backpacker place as others called it.
Someone also complained about street notice. We lived close to the street and had no issues with that. In fact another guest commented on how quiet it was when we discussed the reviews.
It is a nice place, fairly priced in a good location. Some are closer to the beach but I see no reason to pay 80 dollar extra a night to get one street closer to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kilroy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Wow you have really done your reading haven’t you? We are what we are a budget-friendly, family operated property and don’t pretend to be anything else (I myself are just an employee). We love it when people come to us if they do have a problem so we can sort it out with them; our aim is to make everyone as welcome as possible where possible. But while we understand you can’t please all of the people all of the time, we do take into consideration all posts because it opens our eyes to how others perceive us, their expectations of us, what they are happy about and what they are not happy about and of course makes us strive to be better. Thanks again for such an honest and open review. Love it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel room was decent, we needed two rooms and requested them to be together, they offerred an upgrade to locate them together but they were smaller rooms and with 4 kids, we needed at least one room we could hang out in. We had a corner room in front-(214) a bit noisy but bigger than the others. The vietnamese restaurant next door offers a breakfast 'deal' DO NOT get the hot breakfast ( $15 for hot, $10 for continental). Eggs were runny, bacon complete fat, hashbrowns smelled of old grease. I am generally ok with anything but this I could not eat. Staff were helpful in confirming our tours and transfers. NO internet in the rooms! Only a very tiny area in the reception for computer access (with a fee!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Oh dear, our second bad review about the restaurant; again I will pass this on to the owners of the restaurant so they can have a look at what they are offering etc. Four kids, my word, how relaxing was your break? With 2 rooms and four kids, you may have been better placed in a self-contained apartment with lounge. Perhaps speak to your travel agent next time so they can source the best accommodation for your needs; ours being hotel-style, this may not have been the best scenario in your situation. Anyways, I hope you found Muddies Playground up the road for them and they got to enjoy the pools.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is an older resort that has supposedly had a facelift. It is close to town, however the room rates are overpriced, there are much nicer places to stay for less money. The pool looked green and this is the high season. Woke early as could hear people in other rooms talking, not happy about that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Sorry we didn’t suit your needs but that can happen from time to time. I hope, however, that you enjoyed Cairns as a whole and took home some wonderful memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel is within an average persons walking distance to attractions in cairns. Simple room, comfortable, small fridge, good staff, etc. Similar to a super 8 in north america. Restaurant on site, nice coffee shop and convenience store close by. Rates are good for the town, and who is their room except to sleep and shower. No free wifi, you can purchase a plan.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thanks a bunch for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about our property. We're glad you found us to be what you needed and friendly; we try:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
522 reviews
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#17 of 63 in Cairns
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#21 of 63 in Cairns
538 reviews
0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cairns City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cairns City

Address: 183 - 185 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Discovery Cairns)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £51 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Cairns City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated, Comfort Inn Cairns City is ideally located two and a half blocks from the City Centre, one block from the Cairns waterfront and easy walking distance to the famous Cairns Esplanade swimming lagoon and all reef and island terminals and approximately eighty meters from Cairns Private Hospital. 3.5 star hotel with tropical contemporary design, 53 rooms, recently refurbished including new beds, flat screen TV's, refrigerators, tea and coffee making facilities, fully air-conditioned, free WiFi, 2 swimming pools, tour desk, guest laundry and free off street parking. You will also find an array of restaurants to delight the taste buds and boardwalks with views of the Cairns inlet and Marina well worth a selfie or two. All this conveniently located within minutes of the Cairns Domestic and International Airport. Our friendly staff are also on hand to offer tour and activity advice for your Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest adventures. We aim to fulfil your ideal holiday expectations and experiences during your Tropical North Queensland stay with us. All tour operators offer pick up services from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Cairns City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cairns Hotel Cairns
Discovery Hotel Cairns
Cairns Discovery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing