We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My cousin and I stayed here for 4 nights and cannot complain about the service we got from the front line staff. Room was ideal and hotel is handy for all the restuarants and beach.
Staff were very obliging for booking our trips to Karunda and Great Barrier Reef.
Would certainly recommend this place for a decent and cheap accommodation. it has a pool also which we did not use unfortuneately but that aside certainly handy for local amenities.
Weather was great as well :)
Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We were beside the stairs but not too bad for noise..we had no complaints anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 481Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi Linda; Thanks for taking time to write a review. I am glad we suited your needs and you found our staff helpful; we try – don’t always get it right, but we try! Shame you didn’t get to use the pools, but I guess this means you were out seeing the sights and having a bonza time and that’s what we’re all about – budget place to stay so you can spend money on other things! Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    90
    63
    9
    14
See reviews for
28
106
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feilding
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the awesome swimming pool, fabulous authentic Vietnamese restaurant set on the street front, each night it was busy and full! this is a simple okay hotel with very helpful staff, even sorting out tv channels so we could watch our All Blacks thrashing South Africa! However our room was hot and stuffy, air con just barely worked, our beds were very hard and we hod no kitchen facilities (we should have checked this out)! we had requested (through our travel agent) two beds, our second bed was a pull out sofa bed! In terms of value for money over our three weeks of travelling I think this was basic! just okay!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are probably airier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayTimIndigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi there Kay; thanks for your review, it’s appreciated. Sorry to hear the a/c was battling, the poor things are going 24/7 in our environment - especially at present as it’s stinking hot in anyone’s language. I had a lady check in the other day – she had only been in the room five minutes and came in to say the a/c wasn’t cold enough. I explained that it did take 15-20 minutes to cool a current hot room… then I added, ‘It might help if you took your jeans and jumper off!” She’d come from a colder location and missed the obvious LOL. It’s a funny thing and I don’t mean that in a humorous way, but a strange way; with the beds we get daily comments… they are all the same beds and age, some people on check out say, “I slept like a baby, the bed was so comfortable,” and others say, “The bed was hard, I didn’t sleep very well!” I guess it comes down to what you are used to at home; we never sleep the same away from home for various reasons; noises are different around us, strange bed, you seem to keep one eye open in a way and we often overeat or drink more as we’re all on holidays!
I believe you were upgraded free of charge to a superior room; yes this does have a queen bed and fold out sofa as the second bed and that was our call to put you there; as a standard twin you would normally have 2 x single beds and a smaller room - sorry about that. Travel agents do have all our information about what the rooms consist of and they don’t always book the sought accommodation for the guest that’s true; I guess they have so many properties to choose from and haven’t always been to every location so it’s a bit of a challenge for them. The poor old travel agent always seems to cop the abuse and I don’t think they get thanked as much as they should from what I see. I wouldn’t like their job as I guess most people would have a picture and expectation in their mind of what they are after and the travel agent just has to guess sometimes. I once worked in real estate. I took some people to see what I considered quite a ‘dirty’ property. They loved it and couldn’t understand what I meant by ‘dirty’. My expectations regarding cleanliness obviously differed to theirs and it just showed me how people really do differ in their thoughts, expectations, values and beliefs, but I guess it makes for a very interesting World. So glad you liked Cairns and again, thanks for your review. Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We cant complain about anything, its clean & tidy, serviced daily (if you want) pleasent staff, close to town, relatively quiet area. only negative being there was no view other than the units facing you.
Well maintained, plenty of lighting, clean pool, off street carparking, covered walkways.
Recommended

Room Tip: Best go for 1st floor rooms and east facing. That way you see the aircraft take off - a regular nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnboyMosgiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hi there Johnboy, Thanks for your review; so nice that you can’t complain about us and we suited your needs. Buy a lotto ticket and come back and see us again! Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a fairly basic motel, with simple facilities. While simple bed making and towel changing occurred during our four night stay, cleaning of the floors did not, so it all became a little gritty by the end of the stay. Breakfast was very basic - some simple fruit, cereal, toast or egg and bacon sandwich with juice and coffee. At least the sandwich was available as a take-away. It was quiet so we were able to sleep well there, but would not wish to spend much time in the motel. The pools are very small.

Room Tip: Be upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hi there DorsetPeter; glad you found us suitable and hope you egg and bacon sango hit the spot! Yes, we don’t have ‘ocean views’ or anything spectacular, which of course is reflected in our budget status. Our pools aren’t huge, that’s true, so they’re never cold with the rear one being bigger and quite pleasant to laze around if so inclined. I agree that we aren’t designed for a ‘stay in’ type of holiday, we’re in the city, budget-friendly, and just a friendly place to lay your head. We do encourage people to get out as much as possible – that’s what it’s all about, seeing our gorgeous, tropical surrounds. Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Just 10 mins from Cairns airport, 5 minutes walk from town, restaurants and the beach - perfect. Clean, tidy and comfortable room with all we needed. we stayed for our first night and last night in cairns, the staff were great with our late check in and early check out. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElementsWatersports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hi there and thanks for your review. Great to hear that we were just what you needed; that’s magic and gives us a boost. Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

travelled to Cairns for the first time with my wife and selected this hotel as it looked close to the centre area. We were both happy with the location, 10 min. walk to all restaurants and 20 min. to Casino. The room was clean but we had issues with the rooms location. behind our bed wall was the very noisy laundry, 6:30-7:00am every morning the clear started and from that point very hard to sleep. also, directly outside our room there is a garden and the watering system is turned on when the cleaner starts. also very noisy.

Room Tip: do not get room 119
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hammer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hi there and thanks for your review. Glad you liked the location and found the rooms clean and to your liking. Our housekeeping department start at 8.30am. We have looked into the noisy 6.30-7.00am bit mentioned above and have found the culprit… Our day tour drivers start at that time and access the housekeeping area to prepare for the day’s tours to Daintree and Cape Trib. While they are good-looking, top blokes who are terrific at driving and interpreting tours, they make lousy house-keepers! I have pointed out how noisy they are doing dishes and the things that they do in the morning and they have taken that on board. I have spoken to the current people in that room and they have found the room nice and quiet so very happy to say we hit that one on the head! As for the watering system, we do have set hours that we are permitted to water according to Cairns City Council regulations, however, I have asked our handyman to look at this and see if it can be adjusted at all. Sorry if we kept you awake, if it happens anywhere else you stay in the future, mention it on the day so it can be addressed straight away; we aren’t always aware of what is happening from your point of view so it’s good to know so we can get straight on it. Cheers and nice to hear from you. Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights as it was across the road from Cairns private hospital. This allowed us to visit a family member and still be within walking distance of restaurants, esplanade and shopping. Rooms are basic and clean. Small fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer, fans and air con. Hotel has a laundry with washing machines,dryers and iron. Pool while small, was adequate. Cost to airport by taxi approx $20 and to town approx $5. Staff were friendly and helpful. Tours could be booked in office. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bethrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Bethrod,
Thanks so much for your lovely review; so glad that your stay was suitable, especially if you were visiting a friend in hospital. If you ever come back, check out the rear pool it’s bigger than the front one, sorry if you didn’t find it! Cheers, Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cairns City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cairns City

Property: Comfort Inn Cairns City
Address: 183 - 185 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Discovery Cairns)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Cairns City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated, Comfort Inn Cairns City is ideally located two and a half blocks from the City Centre, one block from the Cairns waterfront and easy walking distance to the famous Cairns Esplanade swimming lagoon and all reef and island terminals and approximately eighty meters from Cairns Private Hospital. 3.5 star hotel with tropical contemporary design, 53 rooms, recently refurbished including new beds, flat screen TV's, refrigerators, tea and coffee making facilities, fully air-conditioned, free WiFi, 2 swimming pools, tour desk, guest laundry and free off street parking. You will also find an array of restaurants to delight the taste buds and boardwalks with views of the Cairns inlet and Marina well worth a selfie or two. All this conveniently located within minutes of the Cairns Domestic and International Airport. Our friendly staff are also on hand to offer tour and activity advice for your Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest adventures. We aim to fulfil your ideal holiday expectations and experiences during your Tropical North Queensland stay with us. All tour operators offer pick up services from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Cairns City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cairns Hotel Cairns
Discovery Hotel Cairns
Cairns Discovery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing