We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent position” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We found the staff very friendly
And helpful.the rooms are clean and well laid out. The staff always had a smile and a few words when passing reception.
The breakfast was buffet style and good choices available. In all an excellent hotel and we enjoyed our stay.


  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neil21leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Neil,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor comments. I’m sure it must be great to have escaped the UK Winter and enjoy some great Tropical North Queensland sunshine !. I’m very pleased to read you’ve enjoyed your stay and note the friendliness of the team and the brand new refurbished rooms as being well designed and clean. Please come again some time and we’ll look forward to welcoming you back.

John Lucas|General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    729
    286
    101
    51
See reviews for
390
959
139
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Good location to get to great barrier reef as the hotels right next to the Marina.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you for the Tripadvisor post. Your brief comments say it all.. our location is excellent and right on the doorstep to the Great Barrier Reef. I hope you’ll have the chance to visit again soon.

John Lucas|General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton over Christmas and we enjoyed our stay with a couple of notable exceptions. First of all the airconditioning was not adequate for Cairns in summer. When we complained we were shown a couple of other rooms but it was no better. A staff member told me they are getting another "chiller" which might improve things. Shouldn't need a portable fan to keep things cool in a five star hotel. The other exception: we discovered after two days that someone had removed the peephole from our room - meaning that anyone who stood outside our door and looked through it could see most of our room. Terrible breach of privacy and as for the motives... well you don't like to think. Needless to say we checked for hidden cameras as well!!! While the manager was reasonably apologetic and tried to pass it off as being stolen by a guest I think perhaps we deserved more than a bottle of red for an apology!!! The good stuff - we stayed on the executive floor and highly recommend it. Although the executive lounge is too small in peak periods it's a nice touch and adds something a little bit different to the hotel experience. In particular Anne was lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. The location of the Hilton is fantastic. Although there's a bit of construction noise next door, it's very handy to the Cairns CBD and a probably a bit quieter than staying right on the esplanade. And very relaxing sitting at Mondos for a drink or two.

Room Tip: Executive floor is good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DYtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear DYtraveller,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review, I appreciate your comments and feedback. I am sorry to read that the Air-conditioning was insufficient, as you were correctly informed an entirely new, highly energy efficient system is currently being commissioned. The ‘peep-hole’ incident is indeed unusual and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention – I note it was rectified immediately. I’m pleased you enjoyed the premium benefits of the Executive Floor and the service provided by Anne and her dedicated team in the Executive Lounge. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cairns on your next visit North.

John Lucas|General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
216 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I was really looking forward to staying at the Hilton in Cairns. We were up on the 9th floor, with a water view, and we had access to the Executive Lounge - that was a great place for drinks, canapes, and breakfast. Overall, the hotel was very nice - the woman at the travel desk and the hotel staff were especially helpful - but the fact is that the AC was not working. This made both our room and the Business Center quite uncomfortable in the 95+ degree heat and high high humidity. I asked to have the room changed but was told this was impossible.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

very very nice hotel, a bit '80 but staff nice and friendly. we booked a room with executive lounge, very very disappointed for quality of food. the lounge was too small for all the guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariodambrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the comments in Tripadvisor. I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed in the Executive Lounge – your feedback has been shared with the Senior team. I’m pleased you found the team here to be Friendly and welcoming – they are, of course, our greatest asset. I hoe you will have the opportunity to travel to Tropical North Queensland again another day.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I'm a Hilton Diamond member, so I gave this hotel a go when travelling with a visiting friend in late November 2011.

The room was great and newly refurbished. Nice linen and furniture and a great bathroom. Cleanliness was good.

Executive lounge was a bit quiet, and variety for breakfast was a bit below average.

If you don't want the classic tourist hotels in this very touristy town, then I highly recommend this place for a more business-like and formal feel.

I stayed there for $150 a night, which is an absolute steal compared to other places I stayed at in Queensland on the same trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melb734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the feedback via Tripadvisor for Hilton Cairns. As a Diamond Hilton Honors member you are clearly a very regular traveller so your comments are from experience. I’m very pleased to read you’ve enjoyed the comforts of our newly refurbished guest rooms – they do offer a high standard in the Cairns market. Cairns is a high ‘value for money’ destination, with very reasonable airfare rates also.
I’m sure we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas|General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

The rooms were nice, but the staff and cleaning crew were subpar.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 18 December 2011
Dear Kelley F,

Thank you for your response about Hilton Cairns. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the stay and found our rooms to be nice.

We do hope to see you again at Hilton Cairns in the near future.

Kind regards
John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
3.9 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing