We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed in a spa room with two children and it was very comfortable. We also used the executive lounge which was great but not so suitable with children. The hotel restaurant is very good value for lunch and dinner and the Mondo's restaurant is an ideal location to sit for afternoon drinks overlooking the inlet. There's also a childrens play area a short walk away (treehouse) along the esplanade. The hotel itself is in a good location, close to the city, the pier, the lagoon and it's in a quiet part of town. Staff service was great, we stayed there during my wife's 40th birthday and they couldn't do enough for us. I thought the price was good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. Firstly, a hearty Happy Birthday to your wife, I’m so pleased she enjoyed the well deserved extra attention on such a special occasion. It’s great to read that your children have enjoyed the new tree-house facility just a short walk along the waterfront – it’s a great new public attraction and it’s free too ! I hope we can welcome you and the family back to Hilton Cairns again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

Good points:
Lovely lobby
Helpful staff
Comfy beds
On the esplanade

Bad points:
Room air con leaked. Did get it fixed on arrival but the cleaners should have already noticed and sorted it before allowing guests in.
The air con stank. Made the room feel musty and dirty. When you open the patio doors, it knocked the aircon off so you have to choose to have the doors open and so the room didn’t stink or have the air con on and have an unbearable smell. When I complained they offered nothing.
Rooms were just about ok but needs a refirb.

Overall:
After much research, it seemed this was the best of a bad lot, even over the Shangri la. Feels like the hotels rely on the word Cairns to attract guests rather than putting in much effort to be great hotels. I wouldn’t stay here again and would advise not even staying in Cairns unless you have to as there are some wonderful places not far, like Port Douglas which we also stayed at and wished we had been there the whole time.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrincessWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Princess Wombat,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns. I’m sorry to read you had problems with your Air-conditioning and experienced an inferior level of satisfaction. It’s pleasing to note though that you found the team to be helpful and enjoyed the local attractions along the Cairns Esplanade.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed previously at Hilton Cairns and I was always impressed. This time my expectations were highly exceed, I was treated like a VIP , got a room upgrade best spa and stunning views. The Customer Service and Food is also fantastic plus location .. location … location couldn’t ask for more .. just brilliant. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Blerina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Dear Blerina D,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and yes, we really are situated in the perfect location, overlooking the beautiful Marina and also walking distance to everything the city of Cairns has to offer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Cairns soon.

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

After 8 days of travel within Australia, we found ourselves at Hilton Cairns, booked largely upon recommendation of a TripAdvisor pal or two. We had requested and prepaid a spa room for 3 nights. Something went haywire and it was not available 1st night. They made amends in amazing ways, with amazing grace. Thank you, Manager Chris! Our first night was spent in a lovely 7th floor, marina view room. It was clean, everything worked well, and we rested beautifully. On nights 2 and 3, we were moved to the best suite on the 9th floor -- more square feet than our California condo, with huge space for entertaining, spa tub, great views and just WoW all around. In addition, we were given 9th floor privileges for the whole stay, which was wonderful. The executive lounge is beautifully managed, and we used it for breakfasts and cocktail hour/sunset treats. From the outstanding welcome and service by Kim at the Front Desk, to and through our impeccably handled 4am wake up call and departure transfer, every employee did his or her job beautifully, and treated us as if we were the only guests in the house. Front Desk, housekeeping, bell staff, concierge, executive floor staff all excelled and gave us a magnificent Hilton experience at a very reasonable price. We enjoyed the Esplanade and daily walks through the CBD. This hotel is well located for that. On two evenings, we walked the little boardwalk and had dinner down there (our attempt to dine at the Mondo hotel cafe didn't work well; our dinner at the Thai/Indonesian place was fiery but good). the Great Barrier Reef and Kuranda Railway/Tram experiences were very special. Cairns itself was just OK for us, but the hotel experience was outstanding -- because of its people, it's management, and the way they welcomed and treated us. By the way, we are "marriott people" most places -- very refreshing to have such a wonderful Hilton weekend. I doubt Paris Hilton herself would have had a better stay than ours. Thank you!

Room Tip: Marina View is very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauranlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve had such a great experience with special note being made of Chris and Kim – they’re valuable members of the team and I know they’ll be pleased to receive your feedback. I hope you’ll have the chance to visit the Tropical North of Australia again sometime.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Very good stay, stayed for conference, room met expectations good size, comfy bed, i'n not a fan of shower in bath. reception a little tired and probably needs. Breakfast downstairs was okay, saved by freshly cooked items to order. Executive lounge for pre dinner drinks was great and the most friendly and attentive staff member.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for completing a review of Hilton Cairns. I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed the additional comforts and service offered to guests of the Executive Floor Lounge – I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again when next you travel to the Tropical North.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Great location just 2 mins walk to main CBD and harbour. Room was very clean and had a good view from the balcony. Big bed with plenty of pillows. Spa pool could have being a few degrees warmer but maybe this is a personal taste thing. Overall good base for exploring Cairns.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Nathan,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns on Tripadvisor. It certainly sounds like you’ve enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our convenient Waterfront location. I hope you’ll travel this away again some time and enjoy a break in the sunny North of Australia.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed for one night room 923 executive level, wish I could of stayed a few more nights. The bed was so comfortable and I didn't want to get up to catch my early flight home. View from room was lovely. Staff were very friendly and attentive. I left my prescription glasses behind, it was no trouble for them to post out to me. We checked out at 5am (well before breakfast is served in the executive lounge) They supplied us with a breakfast box each and was a far better alternative than McDonalds at the airport. Do all Hilton Hotels have the same comfortable beds?

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your review via Tripadvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed so much during your stay and hope that we can welcome you back for longer next time.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £96 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing