We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rico's imput”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
sydney, Australia
1 review
“Rico's imput”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Location great right on the water and all the amenities of the city within walking distance. Staff courteous and helpful. Room excellent as was the view. Very handy for the different boat trips out to the reef. Also easy access for trips up into the rainforests and Kuranda. The pool and gymnasium were also very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review via Tripadvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds as though you made use of the central location to visit the surrounding sightsand covered off many of the key attractions.
I hope we may welcome you back again one day.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    757
    302
    103
    55
See reviews for
412
1,004
147
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was a great location for us, as we were staying the night before leaving on the morning ferry to Fitzroy Island. It is so close to the wharf. Only a short overnight stay, but enjoyed the hotel. Staff were all pleasant, rooms were very nice. Breakfast was only average (in my view), but was included in the rate so that was nice. Certainly much nicer than the Pacific, where I stayed during my last visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karafromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay at Hilton Cairns.
I was delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated.
I hope we may welcome you back to Hilton Cairns in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our expectations were high being a four and half star hotel. The view from the hotel was excellent and we enjoyed watching the tourists boats departing and arriving each day. The location of the Hotel on the boardwalk was also excellent with a choice of walk way restaurants to choose from. The hotel itself seemed a little tired and could do with a spruce up. Parking was expensive and hard to find if you did not want to use the hotel's parking. Staff were pleasant and service overall was satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian-sheppard8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Cairns.
I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall and the location, central to tourist attractions and restaurants.
I hope that you enjoyed your time in Cairns and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

After seeing many negative comments, recently, I had to review the place, we thought was great. We were on our honeymoon, and it was such a lovely, friendly & pleasurable stay. I really couldn't fault the Hilton Cairns. We stayed 2 nights in June 2013. We didn't eat dinners there at all, as we wanted to walk around the Pier and Esplanade in the evenings, but did have breakfast on both mornings and couldn't fault it. We did stay in the executive suites, which was value for money. We were a little spoilt in the executive lounge, where staff were so amazing (especially Kerry), and our room was continually refreshed, everytime we went somewhere. Overall, it was a lovely stay and we want to come back again for our anniversary next year..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HapWedBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay.
I am delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and deliver a high level of service, especially when you were celebrating such a wonderful time in your lives.
I will pass on your feedback to the Executive Lounge team, I know they will be pleased to read this.
I hope we may welcome you back to Hilton Cairns in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were greeted warmly and our room processed expediently. Room service very good. View unbeatable. We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The beds were really comfortable and the pillows just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Hilton Cairns.
I was delighted to read that your stay was so enjoyable. It is our goal to ensure that every guest experience is as positive as yours so your feedback is greatly appreciated.
I hope we may welcome you back to Hilton Cairns in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Having checked a few other like priced hotels in Cairns we opted for the Hilton based on past reputation and a stay a few years back. The room was fine, the view was as just as good but that's it. Service was sterile and prices for a room changed by $100 from a phone enquiry to a face to face check in 30 minutes later. When this was questioned the price came back again. Tip: negotiate.
We had a high set hire van and asked where we could park it off street as it was too high for the car park. The very friendly attendant told us to park in the driveway. No problem, pity he forgot to mention the $15 wack next day for the privilege !
As for the buffet breakfast, bloody terrible. Cold bacon etc, slimy powdered egg ( I did order poached after gagging on the first lot, but these took so long to arrive , my appetite along with my enthusiasm for the Hilton had long gone.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Nangus,

Thank you for the review via Tripadvisor. It’s disappointing to read that you didn’t enjoy your service experience and I appreciate the feedback so that we can ensure a high level of satisfaction for all our guests. Be assured these comments are noted and action taken by the Department Managers.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Okay, so it's got the name Hilton, but it doesn;t give the 'wow' factor like some do.

Don't get me wrong, there's nothing wrong with the hotel as such.

There is a clean spacious lobby, and security features meaning random people cannot access guests floors. You have to swipe your key acrd in the lift and it will only take you to your floor, none of the others.

The staff were average, pleasant enough, but did not exceed expectations.

Breakfast was good with a good variety.

The rooms were slightly on the small size, so with 2 queen beds, there wasn't much room for anything else...however, the view over the water made up for this, and it was great to sit on the balcony.

You can also catch some amazing morning sunrise's if you are up early enough.

I'd say to go for a high room, as there was some noise on the lower floors ( we were on floor 3)

Overall a decent hotel, although I suspect you can get much more for your money.

Room Tip: Go for a high room with views over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that enjoyed our waterfront location and the early morning views.
I hope you enjoyed your visit to Tropical North Queensland and that we may welcome you back again some day.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing