We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased local”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns Region, Australia
2 reviews
“Very pleased local”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on a local/stand-by rate. As a Hhonors diamond member, I was made welcome and my upgrade to a Trinity Inlet executive floor room was much appreciated. Room clean, tidy as it should be. Only disappointment is the buffet breakfast downstairs, we were shown to our table and then just left there, no asking if we wanted coffee. Instead, all the staff were busy walking by, clearing tables. Eventually, after some time, we had to ask someone for a pot of coffee. Cutlery and crockery not checked after being washed, teaspoon and knife still having food from last meal/patron. Small milk jug on table dirty. The fruit (melons and pineapple) was tasteless. I mean, how can fresh pineapple have no taste? All the great welcome and friendliness shown by all front desk and concierge staff ruined by the dour, slovenly and morose restaurant staff. John and Todd, you need to seriously look at the complete breakfast experience including staff and food selection. By comparison, the friendliness and attentiveness shown by the staff in the executive lounge should continue through to the restaurant particularly at breakfast.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Lucan G,

Thank you for the review via Tripadvisor. I’m sorry to read you were disappointed with the breakfast offering and appreciate the feedback. We also thank you for your continuing loyalty of the Hilton group as a Diamond Hilton Honors member and I hope we can welcome you into one of your hotels again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    773
    306
    104
    56
See reviews for
424
1,024
148
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We chose My Holiday and we were not disappointed with their choice of the Hilton Cairns it was a excellent hotel with everything you needed and so clean and staff cannot do enough for you from Reception to Cleaners, we will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank robertdwyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Robert & Christine,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. The My Holiday deals do indeed represent a good offer with inclusions at a reasonable price. I’m pleased to note that you’ve enjoyed great service from the entire team – I know some of the team got to know you well and will appreciate the feedback. I hope we can welcome you back for another break next year.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our room at the Hilton in Cairns was just lovely- it overlooked Trinity Inlet and the mountains behind. The room was clean and well-organized (enough room to put two open large suitcases), convenient, clean bathroom. The morning breakfast was great. I had the opportunity to try my first Passionfruit and the rest of the fruit selections were ripe and delicious. There was a large assortment of hot and cold entrees also, all very tasty.

The only downside was the thermostat- it didn't work! We asked the front desk to have someone come up and look at it, but I don't think they ever did. It was quite warm outside and we had just arrived in Australia after a long flight. I think the room temperature was stuck at 73-74 degrees F.
I was really hoping we could cool the room down for a nice nap before venturing outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeepleWatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review following your stay with us recently. I’m sorry to read you didn’t find the room sufficiently cool and I can imagine having just come from the US this must have been a rapid climatic change. It’s great that you’ve experienced some fresh Tropical Australian fruits – our region is famous for our wide selection. I hope we can welcome you back again one day.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for work and pleasure. The location is great, but not alot to do in Cairns, you need to book tours or travel north and south to enjoy the area.

The hotel itself is fine and well worth the money, the hotel service is good and the staff were friendly. The room had a great view out over the harbour and was quite modern. It was a standard size room with add the mod cons - I would stay again - value for money.

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Lynne,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your Hilton experience and service from the team – I know they will be delighted to receive your positive feedback. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here for the third or so time and this time was really bizarre: Some members of the staff were absolutely lovely, others really awful. Some parts of the property are still really nice and it's in a great location right by the waterfront but other bits are really run down and in bad need of a refurb.

Let me start at the beginning: My check in was a disaster through and through, mainly due to the counter agent ("Assistant Manager" here name tag said) who was an absolute [--]. No smile, no welcome, no Gold status recognition. When I asked whether I get access to the executive club, she told me as Gold I only get free breakfast or 1000 points so I took the breakfast (I know that executive club access is at their discretion for Gold but this had been the first property in Australia NOT giving me the benefit which I come back to again later). I asked if I could get a late check out as a Gold member and she insisted that 12 was the "best I can do" or otherwise I'll have to pay 50 bucks per hour extra- wtf? At this point I had enough of that arrogant unfriendly lady and decided to take up the fight again the next morning with someone else.
The room was nice, I got an upgrade to a sea view room with a balcony which was much appreciated. The property is, however, showing signs of ageing, actually if you want to see how the Hilton logo used to look like in the 80ies, have a look at this property as they seem to not have the money to exchange the bloody sign on their building. The bathtub was clearly quite worn and there were dozens of little splashback stains on the bathroom door which clearly was someone else's p... Yikes!

Other than that, bed was the usual comfy Hilton bed and aircon did a decent job at cooling down the room with the hot and humid conditions outside. My favorite part of the property still is the kidney-shaped pool which is very nice and also temperatured just right- not too hot and not too cold, pleasant. The next morning, I was back at reception and this time spoke to a young lady who clearly was not the brightest on the planet (you get what you pay for I guess, that goes for your staff as well!). She was not happy about my late night checkout request as it seemed to cause her the need for some re-shuffling of rooms. After quite a while of doing so, she told me the same ridiculous story about having to pay 50 Dollars for every additional hour after 12. Now I know that Hiltons are generally very stingy about late checkout requests as they seem to have realized there is a quick buck to be made. However, if you are Gold or Platinum member and it even states late checkout as a "Benefit" on the back of your very own key card wallet, than this is a reason to make me very very cranky! I politely pointed this out to her and, as she obviously had missed the chance to pull the usual lame "There is an asteric there saying that this is a benefit depending on availability" excuse by offering me the later checkout for money, she had to "go check with the manager". This took about 2 seconds as obviously there was no way to deny me my request so she came back not even looking at me and mumbling an "alright" typing it into the system. I could not believe that she even tried to give me the bad attitude for this! An apology would have been in order instead! And what's management's stance here- most guests in Cairns are from Japan anyway so we can screw them over because they don't understand enough English? Why do several staff members try and pull money for a stated benefit and then after several discussions, it finally gets granted as it should have been in the first place?

Inconsistency, so it seems, is the trademark of this hotel! And so it went on- the break fast buffet generally has turned really bad since we came here for a the first time a few years back, most of the hot food had clearly been around all morning already without being replaced, the scrambled eggs were just disgusting (someone tells the chef how to do them, really!) and so were the sausages and the so-called bacon. Then on the second day, suddenly I got a super warm welcome to the breakfast, offered a nice proper espresso-coffee rather than the airplane-type coloured hot water from the first day. And then the lady indeed asked me, when looking at her little printed sheet with all the names and breakfast eligibility on, "So you prefer having your breakfast here down with us rather than in the executive lounge?" which left me speechless after my check in experience. What the...? And so it went. Super nice staff members here (I wanted to pay the one beer from the mini bar upon checkout and the super nice staff member just smiled at me and said "Ah, keep the money- I'm sure we can shout you a beer!"), super grumpy other staff member there. Nice balcony overlooking the water here, absolutely hideous Wifi connection there- I actually had to switch off wifi altogether on all my devices as it would always go to the log in screen and then lose the connection after a few seconds because the signal in my room was so weak. Here in Australia I could use 4G instead but if I was coming from overseas depending on it, that alone would be a reason to take of one point of the overall rating of the property!

So all in all- I think it is pretty clearly one of those properties that has a really really stingy local management that likes to jump onto any opportunity to make an extra buck or to skimp on spending money on staff training. I always feel sorry for the nice staff at such property because I can only imagine it being hell to work there. And I wonder why the heck a chain like Hilton lets them get away with this as it seriously taints the reputation of the entire brand name. If I compare this to many others (I always think of the Hilton in Brisbane where I stay very frequently- also an old building but so nicely re-done and such a great and welcoming staff, the total opposite of this experience here in Cairns!) then I really think Hilton should either provide new management (and a bit of a refurb) or take the name down altogether. The current operators seem to be all too happy to gain the benefits from being part of the Hilton chain (very conveniently all those Japanese tourists stay there and I bet it's mainly for the brand name) but trying not to provide the benefits. Very unhappy about this kind of behavior!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneyberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the feedback following your stay with us. I have followed up and discussed your issues and the inconsistent levels of service with the team. I’m pleased you were able to enjoy some of our leisure facilities during your stay.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Quick two-night trip to Cairns from Sydney with an international guest to do a reef tour. The location couldn't have been better - right at the pier and a very short walk to the check in terminal for all the tours. Room was very clean and quiet. Would have appreciated at least basic mini bar items though; there wasn't even bottled water. Comfortable beds. I think Cairns is boring as anything but the hotel was great for what we needed it for! We'd stay again if we returned to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed our waterfront location and the in room comforts. Cairns as a city offers plenty of great cafes, restaurants and local entertainment – with the city linked by a waterfront boardwalk and swimming lagoon. Most visitors spend a day or 2 exploring the city then will enjoy one of the many activities available in the region – starting with the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest options. I hope we can one day welcome you back to the Tropical North.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I attended a symposium at the end of November 2013 and stayed at the Hilton Cairns for 1 week.
The service, particularly from Kelly, who handled my booking to the rainforest and great barrier reef, was superb. Thank you Kelly and Ritesh for arranging my luggage to be dropped at the heliport after my trip to the reef. Caught my flight on time, was the perfect way to end a beautiful stay at Cairns.

Also did some touring, I recommend as follows if you have two days in Cairns.
Take the train up to the rainforest and Kuranda. You will definitely need at least 2.5 hours in Kuranda. You can get all your touristy shopping done here (or the night market on the esplanade) as well as take a pic with a koala and feed the kangaroo's. Take a 45min walk in the rainforest as well.

Take the skyrail cablecar down.

Go to the reef on day 2 with the high speed catamaran. YOU MUST TAKE AN UNDERWATER CAMERA!!!! dive and snorkel for at least 3 hours. I took the helicopter back. Had a flight at 17.30 and made it on time, once again thanks to Kelly and Ritesh.

Damn brilliant stay. Definitely would love to return.
Yesh

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeshveer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Yesh,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns and for passing on some Attraction information for fellow readers. I’m pleased to note that you’ve enjoyed some leisure time after your symposium – you’ve been busy !. I know Ritesh and Kelly will be delighted to receive your great feedback. I hope we can welcome you back again some time.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
528 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing