We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great facility, breakfast, staff and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great facility, breakfast, staff and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 days at this hotel. Fantastic location - 2 minute walk to the boat terminal from where all the tours depart to the reef. Close also to many restaurants, shops and the esplanade. Great staff and fantastic breakfast .. And good views of the bay from parts of the hotel!

Go for it!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I see you’ve travelled a long way from home and it’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your time in the Tropical North of Australia and here at Hilton Cairns. I hope we can welcome you back again some day.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    730
    287
    101
    51
See reviews for
391
960
139
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at the Cairns Hilton and had 2 rooms. Being Gold we were upgraded to the Executive rooms. The room were large with a view of the water. Clean, maintained well, and in perfect condition. We also has access to the excellent lounge which offered a nice breakfast, not just rolls and coffee. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They answered the phone quickly, had the answers I wanted, delivered room service fast (and was good), and always had smiles on their faces.

We ate some breakfasts and dinner in the Hanuman Restaurant. Breakfast was the best of everywhere I stayed in Australia. They had American and Japanese food. A great assortment of both. Dinner was delicious.

The hotel is 2 minutes from the pier for our diving, 2 minutes to great restaurants on the Esplanade, and 15 minutes to the Skyway to Kuranda.

All 4 of us enjoyed the hotel. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2121212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review following your stay with us. I’m pleased to read you and the family have enjoyed your Hilton Cairns experience and taken some time to relax in our wonderful warm weather before heading home. Thank you for your on going support of the Hilton group and I hope we can welcome you back again sometime.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very accommodating using HH points to get a large room for our family of five. Quick walk to casino, restaurants, etc. Decent HH lounge. Great views of the bay - very tidal. Recommend some fishing between dive trips to the GB reef. Super friendly locals.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beacon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank for choosing to bring the family on a trip to the Tropical North – it’s great to read that you’ve all enjoyed your stay. I’m pleased you found time to experience the hotel’s convenient waterfront location and managed fishing and diving on the Great Barrier Reef in between.

I hope you’ll have the opportunity to return again.

Yours sincerely John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My friends and I stayed here during our short trip to Cairns and we loved the hotel. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by a friendly member of staff (I believe he may have been called Ritesh). In fact Ritesh was lovely throughout our stay, always remembering us and he was extremely helpful when we had any queries or problems with transport or trips. We booked two king size rooms and they both came with an incredible view over the water and mountains. The rooms themselves were large, clean and very comfortable. The kingsize beds were incredibly comfy and provided a great nights sleep. My only issue was that I could never get the water temperature I wanted - the tap at the sink didn't actually run cold but instead ran slightly warm and the shower was warm but never hot even when turned fully up. However these were minor issues for me and a fridge was provided if I needed to make drinking water cold.

The hotel is ideally located if you are planning on booking a trip to the Great Barrier Reef as the boats depart only a few minutes walk from the hotel. It is also only a short walk to a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. I would have preferred to have free wifi in the rooms but I know is is not standard for Hilton hotels (and almost $15 per day for Internet seemed a bit expensive) but they do offer free wifi downstairs in the lobby. I would be more than happy to stay at the Hilton if I returned to Cairns and I would encourage others to do so too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahL8732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review following your stay with us at Hilton Cairns. I’m especially pleased to note your commendation of Ritesh and I know he’s very pleased to be mentioned by name. It’s great you and your friends have enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you’ve been busy experiencing the range of attractions available. I hope you have the opportunity to once again escape a UK winter and visit us here in the Tropics.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Booked a King Spa Suite after looking at the pictures online looked nice. But the photos better then the room. The room was small and the spa well only just good for one person. Ordered extra tea bags as they only supplied 2 only got four more and was charged $18.00 Staff were good but overall would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Lots more this class for half the price in Cairns.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AEvansAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns and I’m sorry to read your experience was not at the expected level. It is our goal to ensure that every guest experience is positive so your comments are appreciated.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We spent three nights at the Hilton. Good things: the room had an excellent view of the inlet and the gardens below. Very comfortable bed; soft with plenty of pillows and blankets. Most of the staff is very friendly and ready to help. The restaurant had plenty of good choices for breakfast from a full and bountiful buffet to ordering a la carte.

The not so good things: the hotel room seemed a bit dated. Indeed, most of the hotel looks somewhat old and in need of a good scrub and/or paint job. Truth be told, the humidity in Cairns is very high, and it likely takes its toll on the structures, but even the inside of our room needed attention. For example, there was old masking tape that had peeled off and dangled in the bathroom from some previous work, perhaps. The fitness center was extremely limited in the type of equipment. I did not use the pool, but it seemed nice, and it was plenty big.

The main point that really turned me off was the Hilton's hopeless and old policy of charging for Internet service. Those days are over. I am glad that my cell phone had Internet service in Cairns. This was the only hotel during our trip that charged for Internet service (out of 6 4-stars or higher hotels we stayed in.) When requesting Internet service to the front desk even for a day, I was told no. This seems a little greedy on the hotel's part considering that I paid well over $300 a night for the room. Only Hilton members get free Internet service, I was told. For the price of the room, the staff surely could have given me Internet service at least for one day.

This is a hotel with policies stuck in the past. There are better choices in the area, and although the view might be excellent, the value of your stay falls short to the stuck-in-the-past policies that Hilton still lives by. Look around. This hotel was in the end the most expensive I booked and the dead last as far as value for the money is concerned. Not worth it. Look elsewhere. Not worth it at all for what it costs.

It was equally disappointing that the staff did not give me a wake-up call after requesting it. It simply got forgotten.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review via Tripadvisor. I’m sorry to read that you were unhappy with the internet service offered – we do provide complimentary internet in the Hotel Lobby, Business Centre and public areas. Gold and Diamond Hilton Honors members also receive in room wireless internet. It’s great that you have enjoyed our waterfront location and friendly service from the team.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here 2 nights for a business trip. It was the usual Hilton King Room, beautiful view, spacious bathroom & king bed. Noticed no breakfast buffet restaurants only in room brekkie. Great location, shorl walk to the city centre and situated next to the marina, beautiful views and great dining. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minela86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor – it’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your time with us and highly recommend the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back when next you’re on business in Cairns.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
3.9 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing