We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here for five nights and from the time we walked through the door the service was fantastic staff were very helpful rang and confirmed our day trip to the reef for us . Kelly at the tour desk was a great help in booking another trip. We ate at Mondos the food was nice and service was good.the buffet breakfast was also nice in total the hilton was great and would recommend it will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on level six and the view was fantastic of the water and the rain forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for posting a review of Hilton Cairns on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your 5 night stay with us at Hilton Cairns. The views of the Trinity Inlet and mountains beyond are just beautiful from our Deluxe rooms, and it is great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including our helpful staff.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton Cairns in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    773
    306
    104
    56
See reviews for
424
1,023
148
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Although the Thai restaurant there previously was excellent, the current Italian is poor. Shocking pizza. Apart from that the stay was good and the rooms as always very comfortable and clean. The entertainment system (movies) are a good selection and stay overall good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review following your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to read the Room Service food was below standard and I've passed this feedback to the Restaurateur for his attention and action. The restaurant, as you rightly state, is new to the the Hilton and this feedback assists in ensuring standards are at the expected level.

I'm pleased to read the remainder of your hotel experience was positive and hope we can welcome you back again on another stopover soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Check-in and check out were excellent. Very nice staff. Very good location next to the Marina. Clean and quiet room. Good bed. The hotel has its own travel agency if you wish to enjoy what Cairns has to offer. Restaurant was rather good though the undercooked salmon was a bit of a letdown.
The only thing that went kinda wrong was the door that wouldn't shut properly because of the faulty latch. As a result, I found my door open after coming from a trip to the great barrier. Told the staff about it and they said they'd be checking it out. Apart from that, very nice stay, recommended hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautifullydepressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review of Hilton Cairns. Please accept my apologies for the problems with your door latch – our records show your report and the subsequent repair. I’m pleased that overall you’ve enjoyed your holiday with us and found the team efficient and pleasant. I hope we can welcome you back again one day.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 716 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here as part of Hilton Honors Award Stay, so I will not comment on price. Used Coral Sea Coaches ($35AUD for 2 Roundtrip booked in advance) for transfers and were extremely happy - it is a shared ride service, but they were on time and outgoing only had one other couple while incoming was just us.

GOOD
- Excellent treatment of Gold HHonors member. Received welcome letter from manager with complimentary chocolate covered coffee beans and free mineral water daily. Free upgrade to Executive Floor (9th) with balcony, view of water, and access to lounge. Free good quality WIFI.
- All staff were very friendly and professional.
- Superb location - this is the closest hotel to the marina, right on the pedestrian walkway on the water. We had less than a 5 minute walk to our boats departing for the Great Barrier Reef, and less than a 10 minute walk to downtown shopping and restaurants.
- Nice, modern rooms with good desk, electronic safe, large flat screen TV, chair, and comfortable bed. Bathroom amenities were normal, shower was always hot, hairdryer, and overall no issues. Note that the shower is the typical Australian style in a bathtub with a 15 inch glass partition, so hope you can aim well!!
- Quiet, good sleep.
- Average Executive Lounge which was only open during the morning and evening. There was an adequate but somewhat slim selection for the continental breakfast and evening canapes. Anne (morning lounge) was extremely friendly and helpful, the evening lounge person was ok but didn't ever seem happy to be there. In the evening, the selections of snacks were very slim until 6:15PM (although often late) when they would bring 2 hot canapes, which were often gone within 5 minutes. We appreciated the lounge but other than enjoying Anne, we were not particularly impressed - actually, the best thing about the lounge is it has a large outdoor balcony where you have an INCREDIBLE view of the nightly flying foxes (thousands of bats) awakening and fly-by. Probably my spouse's favorite thing of all Cairns.
- Provided a complimentary 3 hour late check-out.
- I reviewed separately, but the hotel restaurant on the waterfront (Mondo's) was a great value with a wonderful location, so although we rarely dine at hotels, we did so for 2 of our nights and were very pleased.

Concerns
- No newspaper delivery.
- All Aussie Hiltons charge 1.5% penalty fee for paying with credit card.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, talked for days afterwards how enjoyable it was, and would do so again if in town.

Room Tip: Higher the better (9th floor is Executive Lounge Floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear US Flyer,

Thank you for the comprehensive review of Hilton Cairns. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve made the most of your time here in the Tropical North and you’ve enjoyed the nightly Bat migration, it really is quite a sight !. As a Gold Hilton Honors member we really value your ongoing patronage and hope to welcome you into a Hilton again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just enjoyed six days at the Cairns Hilton staying in a double Hilton executive room on the 9th floor.
Not too many configured like this in Australia (except maybe Adelaide) but very common in America.
It perfectly suited our little family jaunt of two sisters travelling with our 88 year old Mum as we continued our ‘Driving Miss Dorothy’ series of adventures.

Top marks must go the housekeeping at Hilton Cairns. Efficient, very pleasant and personable they have to be commended as the sprawling building is not new and somewhat open to the elements. (A cyclone was flirting with the coastline when we were there.) They impressed we three house-wife superstars on our return each day to our sparkling clean and ordered room!

Special thanks to the cheery staff at the executive lounge juggling clients in a rather confined area and keeping us all refreshed as we watched the daily fruit bat 'ballet' at sunset!
Only spotty service was at breakfast in the Sunrise Café possibly due to staff shortage both in the kitchen and the dining area. It did not impact us as we approached the meal in a leisurely holiday fashion but who knew that the lack of scrambled eggs would cause such British apoplexy and resulting tongue lashings all round!
And the queue size when the eggs finally arrived probably has not been seen since the blitz!.
Breakfast food was not a stand out feature of the hotel.

I made the VERY bad mistake of using the hotel phone to contact a local mobile number without reading the telephone protocol and charges (if there are any there).
A VERY VERY costly mistake! A resulting $81 charge on my bill for the pleasure of arranging to meet my cousin and his wife in Atherton for lunch!

To summarise a great location for a laid-back stay overlooking Trinity inlet and walkable proximity to town and marina. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pmariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review following your family visit to Hilton Cairns. As per the communications we had off-line there has clearly been an error with your telephone billing and this has been corrected on your account. I am pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your experience here in Cairns and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed on the executive floor with an amazing view of the Esplanade. We had absolutely no issues with the room, it was of course clean, nothing broken. The staff on the executive floor do the Hilton proud. I would definitely stay with this property again on a future visit.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Esplanade and the Bats at sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56764Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Linda,

Thank you for posting your Tripadvisor review of Hilton Cairns. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed the service and additional comforts offered on the Executive Floor. Anne, the Executive Lounge Manager, and her dedicated team are indeed a great asset to the hotel and enjoy welcoming guests to the Lounge. I see you’re a long way from home but hope one day we can welcome you back to Australia.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Had a nice greeting staff very friendly and hotel is spacious as are rooms,
All your trip,tours can be made in house and eating is never a problem as restaurants are very close, it has a nice gym and cinema,
Many thanks to the friendly staff thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Robert,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review of Hilton Cairns, I’m pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. The team on our Tour Desk are experts in their field and, with literally hundreds of options for Day Tours here in the Tropical North, it’s wise to listen to their local knowledge and recommendations. I hope one day we can welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
524 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing