We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location by the ferry terminal”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent only a few hours in the hotel, since we arrived around 4am with 2 kids who needed some sleep. We were granted a late checkout and given a nice quiet room. We all slept soundly for about 6-7 hours, which was just what we needed. Friendly & helpful staff also.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time write a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at Hilton Cairns.
Unfortunately, your stay wasn't long enough but I am happy to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and managed to get some sleep with your young children.
We are very lucky to boast such a great location in Cairns, within walking distance to the Reef Fleet Terminal and shopping and restaurant precincts.
I am also glad to read that our front office team were able to assist you with a late check out.

We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Cairns again soon, and hopefully for a little longer next time.

Kind regards,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,218 of 2,316 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

It was my sons Birthday and upon arrival the Manager came our with a massive smile and welcome greeting - Sadly my Son and Partner stopped of en-route to the hotel so they missed the welcome but we did catchup later on that evening in the Executive lounge. My 2 year old managed to say Thank you for his birthday treat of a what seemed to be the best suite in the hotel. Darn we were only there for the one night.

The suite was large and comfortable, the bathroom had a glass wall back into the room and the balcony had a lovely view of the water.

We used the pool which was great, as was the breakfast and executive lounge. The Scottish lady, sorry I forgot your name, was very welcoming and greeted us by name before having met us - Very efficient.

All in all a memorable and delightful stay and even better than the last time in 2009.

Room Tip: An end suite has loads of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Hilton Cairns. I am delighted to read that as a family you enjoyed your stay for your son's Birthday - a memorable experience for you all.

It is great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from our lagoon style pool, to your Executive Suite and Executive Lounge benefits. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the Executive Lounge team.

I hope that upon your return to Cairns you are able to stay with us for a little longer.

Kind regards,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Prior to arriving, we requested an early check in, never happened so we waited for 2 hours. The room was clean and had a nice view plus a spa. However, there was no ventilation in the bathroom, so my advise is to close the toilet and the door after doing your thing, 1 and 2. The hallways, swimming pool, restaurant furniture and exteriors are quite dated. Some staff were really helpfull, especially the Filipina lady at the reception as well as the restaurant staff, however, some were rude and unhelpfull such as the Japanese man at the concierge. We stayed there for 3 nights and the breakfast menu were all the same in all 3, so if you're staying for a week you'll probably get sick of it. The location, however was perfect as the hotel is close to most of the CBD's best restaurants and pubs as well as the lagoon and the casino. To some it up, for the amount that we paid we had far better experiences elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hondasx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at Hilton Cairns.
I regret that our service did not meet your expectations on this occasion and that your stay was not as enjoyable as it might have been.
Thank you for your feedback, it is important to hear from our guests and your constructive comments are appreciated.
I hope we may welcome you back to Hilton Cairns in the future to deliver a more positive guest experience to you.

Kind regards,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hilton on Cairns is perfectly located. We had the ocean view, and it is within walking distance to town center and Boardwalk restaurants.
The hotel building and room furniture are old - rooms in particular but service and staff were great.
If you are interested in gambling and playing, Casino is just across the road - literally.
Overall it was a great (5 day) stay and we would go back if we are in Cairns again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for ocean view room. Hotel breakfast was not a good value for money. you can do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjang A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Hilton Cairns. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the great views from your private balcony, and the location of the hotel.
We are lucky to boat absolute waterfront location with amazing views of Trinity Inlet and the mountain ranges beyond. We are also lucky to be within walking distance to the Reef Fleet Terminal and hot spots of Cairns CBD.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass your comments onto the Hilton Cairns team. We do hope you will visit one day again soon!

Kind regards,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Hilton deserves highest kudos for their ability to had a ship full of people dumped there prior to the landfall of Cyclone Ita. Our Nat Geo / Linblad cruise was cut short by the impending cyclone and we got to spend 5 days at the Hilton, through winds and massive rain, and yes sunshine. A true tropic adventure.
The hotel staff were great, handling us with understanding and friendly professionalism. Our room on the ninth floor had a great view of the city and water, especially in the evening when the birds came in to roost in the trees and the fruit bats took flight. The restaurant opened up when everything closed down, serving excellent food.
The only reason for not giving 5 stars is a personal dislike of the architecture of the building which cold white and dated modern.

Room Tip: Cityview rooms offer the evening displays of birds and fruitbats. Not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your positive review of Hilton Cairns following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable despite some challenging weather events that were thrown upon Far North Queensland. Your appreciation and understanding of these events is greatly appreciated.
You most certainly experienced all seasons of Cairns in a short matter of time.
Again, thank you for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass your comments on to the Hilton Cairns team.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have been to this hotel 3 times and always have found the rooms to be spacious and clean. This is our pick when staying in Cairns. Plenty of coffee shops close by and the esplanade a short walk away. If you are after a great meal, Spicy Bite opposite mccas is great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Hilton Cairns on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your weekend with us!
As a regular guest, I thank you for your loyalty and encourage you to sign up to Hilton Honors, if you haven't already done so.
Being centrally located is a great feature of the hotel's and I am happy to read that you have taken advantage of the great spots in Cairns to dine out.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Cairns upon your return up north.

Kind regards,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We booked here for 3nights during our honeymoon, arrived at 6am after travelling trough the night, on check in I informed the receptionist that we were on our honeymoon and anything that would make our stay there more enjoyable would be greatly appreciated, the receptionist shrugged his shoulders disinterested and said our room was not ready but we could upgrade to executive level at an extra cost, my husband agreed to this. The hotel was lovely and the room and executive lounge really nice and all the other staff friendly but the unfriendly welcome did tarnish the experience for me. Have stayed in Hilton hotels all over the world but don't think I would choose here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your review of Hilton Cairns following your recent stay with us for your Honeymoon in Australia. Congratulations and thank you for choosing to spend your special occasion with us.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. The Executive Floor including Executive Lounge access is a fantastic addition to a stay in Cairns, and I am happy to read that you were able to enjoy this additional benefit. I apologise that your room was not available before the 2:00pm check-in time.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back at Hilton Cairns in the near future.

Kind regards,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £99 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing