We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless Stay”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Flawless Stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

In Cairns, staying on the water is a must, and the Hilton Cairns is the perfect spot. An elite guest upgrade to a corner room made for a great stay. It was quiet, it had a wonderful water view, and it was on the executive level where we took advantage of morning and evening drinks/snacks in the executive lounge. The Hilton staff is very friendly. We especially appreciated the hospitality of Gemma in the executive lounge.

Being on the Esplanade and boardwalk, the Hilton Cairns makes it easy to get to restaurants, to shop, and to access cruise tours to the Great Barrier Reef. There's no need for a taxi or bus.

The hotel lobby is unusually large with a nice bar. It also attracts smartphone, tablet and laptop users for free wi-fi. The in-room wi-fi was fast and reliable. Thanks for letting us stay connected to friends and family, even on holiday.

The lobby gift shop is well stocked and staffed by a very personable lady, originally from the UK. The travel agent in the lobby was very helpful in selecting and booking a tour of the Daintree National Forest.

Staying at the Hilton Cairns was a great way to wrap up a memorable, two-week visit to Australia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns following your recent stay. It’s great to read you’ve enjoyed your 2 week Australian holiday and we’ve been able to contribute to the experience. I will pass on your positive comments to Gemma in the Executive Lounge – I know she’ll appreciate your words and I hope we can welcome you back again some time.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    748
    299
    103
    55
See reviews for
404
999
145
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Excellent location in front of a marina and close to all shops and restaurants. Because it is at the edge of town and in front of the sea, it is not as noisy as those in town.

Receptionists are very helpful and friendly. Room is modern and big. We have a room facing the marina with beautiful view. Bed is very comfortable and our room is quiet.

The housecleaning staff are quite noisy, banging doors and shouting loudly. The lobby is big but has a corporate feel. Wifi is only free at the lobby. There are a large choice for breakfast but the food is boring and tasteless. The chairs are stacked up on the table in half of the breakfast room which gives a very unwelcoming feel. The management could greatly improve the hotel by just giving more care and love to it.

There is a coffee shop outdoor overlooking the sea. One can also walk from the hotel all the way to the promenade.

It is also located about 5 minutes walk to the wharfs for the cruises which is very handy for people who goes on the cruises.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelineBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Celine,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I’m pleased to read you’ve enjoyed your overall stay with us and appreciate the feedback on some aspects of the service. Our location, on the Cairns Waterfront, is an ideal starting point to enjoy the Cairns Esplanade and the easy access to the Reef Fleet Terminal – the entry point to the Great Barrier Reef.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Two nice nights in an Executive room with a view of the city and bay. Up to all the usual Hilton standards, clean, great bed, nice staff. Wi-fi in the lobby but no free wi-fi in the rooms is a bit disappointing in this day and age but this was clearly stated when booking. Short walk to the wharf, night markets and everything Cairns. Love the Executive lounge, very nice food and a great view. Cairns is a bit touristy but would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben-Heere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I’m pleased you’ve made the time to enjoy the extra services available in the Executive Lounge and also the views of the Waterfront and surrounding mountain backdrop. As you comment – everything available in Cairns is only a short walk and it sounds like you made the most of it. I hope you’ll be back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

stayed here for a short overnight stop before heading out on a diving liveaboard the room was quite nice. The motel close to the marina and casino. the bed was absolutely heavenly. didn't get to try out the facilities but they looked nice. would stay again if I was heading back to cairns

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for the great review of the hotel – that’s a big statement and one we’re very happy to read !. A good night’s sleep is the key to a hard day of leisure or adventure in the Tropical North and it sounds like you had exactly that. I hope we can welcome you back again some day.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic, they went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay. All of the staff members knew us by name and the general manager even came and introduced himself to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We had recently got engaged and they even sent up some chocolate and wine to surprise us after a day of snorkeling. I can't say enough about how remarkable the staff is here. And the waterfront view was splendid! Great location. Can't wait to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for posting a review of Hilton Cairns on Tripadvisor. Congratulations on your engagement and best wishes for the future. It’s great to read you’ve enjoyed our personalised service. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.. maybe a honeymoon destination !!

Your sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield Park, AZ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location of the hotel is an easy walk to Casino, Marina, shopping and restaurant. Our room was nice, spacious and modern. We were given first class treatment upon checking in and the staff is really courteous. The housekeeping services were below average, basically they came and replaced towels and emptied trash, typically when housekeeping has been in the room, there little touches are noticeable, but not here. It wasn't a big deal, but it was noticeable. We also arrived back to our room one evening to find our door ajar, it was left unlocked all day by the housekeeping staff. This was unacceptable and we could have been robbed of everything, luckily after an hour of high adrenaline, unrest and uneasiness we were fortunate enough not to have had anything stolen. We did call down to the desk and at least expected a call from management or an apology but nothing. When we checked out I asked the front desk if they had been told about this, but nothing. So the fact that this was not taken very seriously was a let down. Maybe crediting our points back, or some type of gesture would have been nice. The on site restaurant did have a nice breakfast and the executive lounge was mediocre, no hot items brought up on the 3 out of 5 nights for over an hour while we were in the lounge, so compared to other Hilton properties this was another disappointment. overall it is a nice slightly below average Hilton property!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolezal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m very concerned to read of the Housekeeping problem and this has been passed to the Department Manager for review and re-training. I’m pleased you enjoyed our waterfront location and overall room quality. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back if ever you travel to the Tropical North again.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent stay friendly staff and excellent food. Room service meals wee excellent and service was very prompt. Overall appearance of hotel was very posh and clean. Travel consultant was very helpful and experienced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter & Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Peter and Erica,

Thank you for the hotel review via Tripadvisor. It’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your time with us and found the service from the Tour Desk of high quality – it’s so important to have spoken with well informed locals when making your day trip decisions. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing