We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location.”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a nice hotel close to town, the casino and some very good restaurants. The rooms are nice, the staff are friendly and the hotel is clean. I however wasn't really happy with the housekeep of the room. The attention to detail was not what I expect of a Hilton.

I would recommend this hotel and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Martin,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns. I appreciate the feedback on the Housekeeping team and have passed this detail to the senior team for review and action. I note you’re returning to Cairns again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 2,361 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Hilton, Cairns for a friend's wedding and had my infant son in tow. The hotel was very accommodating and even provided a cot for my son, which I thought was going above and beyond. I was very appreciative of the fact that I didn't have to cart a portacot on the plane. A buffet breakfast was also included daily and they had a very nice pool area, which we used on two separate occasions.

The staff were very friendly and happy to help. The wedding chapel is also ideal for couples thinking about a small, destination wedding. It was beautiful shots out over the water and there's a nice grassed area next to it, to take photos. I couldn't fault the food at the reception in the hotel either - just beautiful. All in all it was a very enjoyable trip and I'd be happy to recommend the Hilton, Cairns to friends and family.

Room Tip: Water views are for rooms to the back of the building. I would also try for around level 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R13117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns on Tripadvisor. It’s never easy travelling with young children so it’s great to read we were able to assist in making the journey a little easier. We appreciate the feedback on the wedding event and I’m pleased you enjoyed the garden and waterfront location of our Wedding Chapel. We look forward to welcoming you back again some time.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Every time we stay here it is perfect! Everyone is very willing to help you. Room service is always amazing and on time. The rooms are fantastic with beautiful views of Cairns and the beds and spa's are heaven!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Nikita,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review and for your on-going patronage. We really value the support from our North Queensland locals and I’m sure we can welcome you back again soon.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Entry lobby with bar very impressive. Deluxe room spacious with decent size balcony and nice views of Trinity Inlet. Buffet breakfast enjoyable with great selections. Staff very attentative and helpful at all times. Great location within easy reach of transport, shops restaurants etc. Stayed 5 nights and certainly would stay there again.

Room Tip: view of trinity inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Sandy,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review following your 5 night stay with us here in Cairns. It’s great you’ve explored from our location and enjoyed some time to unwind and relax on your holiday. I hope we’ll be able to have you visit again soon.

Your sincerely,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a great 3 nights stay here last month. It's an older hotel but the room and public areas were well maintained and presented and it's in a great location on the esplanade with the casino, marina and some nice restaurants a short stroll away. Our room on the executive level had great views across Trinity Inlet and as diamond members of the Hilton HHonors scheme the executive lounge was a good place to relax and enjoy breakfast and complimentary drinks and canapés in the evening. The general manager also introduced himself on our arrival and made us extremely welcome which was a nice touch. Had a nice lunch on arrival at Mondo Cafe overlooking the inlet and one of the best pizzas I've had in a while one evening in their Italian restaurant , both places being competitively priced.
Our only slight complaint was the pool and spa which certainly weren't heated the day we went to go for a swim. It may have just been faulty that day as it felt warmer they day before when we dipped out toes in the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Trinity Inlet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastersOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Coasters,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns and I’m very pleased to read you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the on-going support from such loyal travellers as yourselves and it’s great to note that you enjoyed the exclusive facilities offered on the Executive Floor. I hope we can welcome you back again when next you travel to the Tropical North.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Things were neat and tidy. Staff was helpful. Location was great. Room service was fine. Would have liked to have used more of the amenities, but, out of time, and other things to do. This review wants a minimum of 200 characters, so typing this to fill space.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank zzyzzyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns on Tripadvisor. It’s great to read we met your expectations and hope we can welcome you back again sometime so you can enjoy more of what our great region has to offer.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Hilton is an older hotel but has been nicely maintained. The rooms are small but updated and the beds were comfortable. It is an ideal location to the marina where all the dive/ snorkel boats go out and we enjoyed watching them come and go each day from our balcony.

We were, however, disappointed in our stay there last week. Our first two days, our room was not made up until we called and inquired late afternoon each day. On the first inquiry the person asked what time we would prefer a cleaning each day. We were flexible and said anytime before 3pm. At 4pm the second day, it still had not been cleaned and a call had to be made to housekeeping requesting this be done.

Also, before booking this hotel, I called the Hilton 800 number and they confirmed two times there was free wifi in each room. This is not the case, as it's exclusive to the lobby for non-Hilton Honors members. With sick/elderly family members back home, having convenient connections back home was an important part in our decision making in choosing which hotels we stayed in. Had we not been misled, we would have stayed elsewhere. We had free wifi on our snorkel boat in the middle of the ocean and in today's world, all hotels should have this in the rooms as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Marissa,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor posting for Hilton Cairns. I’m sorry to read of the service shortcomings and these have been passed to the Department Manager for review and action. It’s pleasing to read you’ve taken some time to relax and enjoy our convenient waterfront location.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £93 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing