We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Hilton hotel”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Family stay in cairns and my parents got us all in the Hilton hotel with ocean and a high floor. The pool is so beautiful and big we swam nearly everyday during our stay, under ground carpal off the street is a bonus and the elevator in underground parking is a great access in to the building. Every time I head down to cairns I always booked the Hilton hotel in advance because this is a money for value hotel with the delights of breakfast every morning we woke up down in the dinning area. I almost loved the garden and seats set out in the lobby.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Deanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Deanne,

Thank you for your continued support as a local in the Tropical North. It’s great to read you enjoy your visits to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 2,307 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Positioned near the boardwalk, city and convention centre the location was great. The rooms were what you would expect, good but not great. My room was facing the casino and was a little noisy with the balcony door open (there was also some sort of road works) - not sure if the water front was better.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review for Hilton Cairns. It’s great to read that you enjoyed our location which is well centred in the city and close to key attractions. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Your sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights this week.The bathroom ceiling was mouldy, the mini bar empty asking you to order on the TV channel. Channel not working.

Was annoying as could not even get a bottle of water in the mini bar.

Pool was supposedly heated but wasn't.

Very disappointed and will not go back.

Room Tip: Not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Shellby Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Shelby,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review and I am sorry to read our service was not at an acceptable standard. Your comments have been passed to the Department leaders for review and action.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

had 1 night at the Hilton in Cairns on the way back to the Gold Coast after spending a week in Port Douglas.... up graded to a water view room.... OUTSTANDING !!! And a breakfast buffet, like it should be, top marks.....

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank goonerpaul69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review following your quick stayover here in Cairns on your way home. I hope we can welcome you back again sometime.. maybe for a few days longer !

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent 3 nights at Hilton Cairns on the 9th flr Executive Level with ocean/inlet & mountain views. The entire place was clean, well presented, with a large modern foyer and the staff were exemplary. The tour desk was more than fantastic, helping us review some pre-booked tours not through them, arranged cancellation of a tour we had pre-booked that required us to be 3 hours away, unbeknownst to us. She made good suggestions to maximize our experiences to fit everything we wanted to do into day and evening schedules. Facility is close to many amenities, restaurants & shopping. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor post following your recent stay here in Cairns. We appreciate the great comments on the service from the team especially the Tour Desk staff. They are a great source of local information and we always recommend visitors to the Tropical North stop past and speak with the team to get the best local advice on how to spend time in the Tropical North. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have just checked out from a 7night stay at Hilton Cairns. The room was great (great view of river inlet)and cleaned to perfection everyday. The east facing aspect keep it cool with the sea breeze flowing in. The staff were relaxed but helpful. The breakfast buffet had everything you could want. Mondo's was a beaut location on the waterfront with a good selection of food and cocktails. The Hilton's location couldn't be better for access to the marina for your reef adventures, plus it's a quick walk to the town centre for ANYTHING you could want, not to mention the Casino just across the road. Would definitely stay here again. (I read a recent review on here where someone was complaining about the pillows being too soft, I found they were too soft too, so I just called housekeeping and it was delivered with a big smile within two minutes, it is a Hilton you know!)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Zepquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor following your stay with us here at Hilton Cairns. We’re delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday and took the time to relax and sip a cocktail or 2 in our Waterfront Mondo Bar & Grill. I hope we can welcome you back again when next you want to escape a southern winter and have some time in the sun!.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nice clean hotel. Our room was spotless. We were on the 7th floor overlooking the inlet and had a good size balcony. Could hear live music from Mondos restaurant, which we enjoyed, but no noise with doors closed. Good location for reef boats and shopping centre. You have to try Donninis restaurant in the hotel. The service and food are excellent. Nothing is any trouble. Thanks Greg and Francesca.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank christophersheilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Christopher,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review following your recent stay with us. It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with special mention to Greg and Francesca in Donnini Simply Italian. We are very pleased to have such a great restaurant partner with Donnini’s and I know the team will appreciate your comments.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £96 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing