We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We loved our stay at the Hilton in Cairns. It is in a great location situated on the promenade near many restaurants and right near the port, making it easy to go out to the great barrier reef. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My only complaint is wifi is not provided and is only free in the lobby. The restaurant in the lobby was nice and the breakfast was enjoyable. I would definitely go back to the Hilton and will recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DDG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review and positive feedback. It’s great to read that you’ve made the most of your waterfront location and the 5 minute walk to the Reef Fleet Terminal – the departure point for the Great Barrier Reef. I see you’re a long way from home but hope that we can welcome you back again one day.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 2,286 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2014

This super hotel and its best hotel in crain i was with my wife.....please do go and enjoy this hotel is sea facing and love sunsent and sun rise.............................................................................

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronakbhadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for posting a review of Hilton Cairns. I’m delighted to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay and took some time to watch the sunset over the picturesque surrounding mountains.
I hope we can welcome you back someday.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas| General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Very run down property - big chips taken off the enamal in the bathroom. Staff somewhat disinterested. No upgrade for gold Hhonors member. Breakfast is comparable to a 2 star hotel - only eggs available are the scrambled type that come in powdered form. Location is great though.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k_sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review and I’m sorry to read you did not enjoy the experience. We always aim to provide an upgrade to our Gold Hilton Honors members, unfortunately sometimes our higher occupancy limits room upgrade availability. I do appreciate your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel with wonderful views out to the Esplanade, estuary and Green Island from the 9h floor. The staff without exception were helpful and did everything they could to make our stay one to remember.
The room was large, comfortable, clean and well maintained, The bonus for us was a perfect uninterrupted view of the Cairns Festival parade and fireworks. Lots of good places to eat and drink close by, the bar in foyer closes about 10pm.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Casino side are slightlly noisier but have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Palmbeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the review via Tripadvisor. It’s great read that you’re timing was perfect to coincide with the weekend activities of the Cairns Festival – it’s a fun filled few days and the hotel is well positioned to see the activities and Fireworks finale. I hope you can come back next year to do it again.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed only one night at the Hilton in Cairns while having a weekend away from home. The bed was extremely comfortable, staff very friendly and would definetly go back again for another visit. Close to all amenities, easy walk to town and restaurants, great location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Fiona,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I see your visit was only a brief one – I hope you’ll be able to take longer next time to enjoy some more of what our great region has to offer.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Only stayed one night before a flight. Staff all helpful and courteous, couldn't do enough to help. When we arrived early (10:30am), we didn't expect an early check in but were told as soon as our room was ready they would call us and we could have our keys. Room was ready by 12:30pm which was great. Room was clean and had a great view, pool was great.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor that overlooked the water, however it was above Mondos cafe and the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kacey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Kacey,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review of Hilton Cairns. I’m sorry to read your stay was so brief – you do need more than one day to enjoy our region and relax. I’m pleased we were able to assist you with an early check-in – we always accommodate such a request when we possibly can.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and myself stayed here for a long weekend. The location was perfect. A short walk gets you anywhere in Cairns. The room was lovely and the view was picturesque. The staff where all extremely friendly and helpful. Being a Hhonors gold member we were given executive lounge access. The view in the lounge as the sun set was beautiful.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you for the Tripadvisor review following your long weekend break here in Cairns. It’s great to read that you and your Fiance enjoyed your visit to our wonderful region. We appreciate your ongoing support as a Gold Hilton Honors member and hope we can welcome you to another Hilton in our network again soon.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £96 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing