We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, service and value”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Great location with views over the water and walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the lagoon. Great value wotif package that included a sumptuous buffet breakfast in the restaurant. Bed was very comfortable, not your usual hotel bed. Service was friendly and very good right from the first greeting. Could not fault this hotel in any way during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,955 - 1,961 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2009

The location of the hotel can't be beat. Easy walk to the Marina and the Esplanade. Very good breakfast buffet. Room was showing a little bit of wear (hole in the bathtub enamel, for instance) but otherwise a very nice hotel.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank madebooCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed for 5 nights to celebrate our anniversay and really enjoyed it. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the beautiful Trinity Inlet with a balcony to enjoy it from. The staff were as good as we have encountered anywhere and we congratulate whoever is responsible for staff training.
The position is excellent at the southern end of the marina and very close to several restaurants and the boat trips. The walk by the marina and along The Esplanade is very pleasant and the shops are a short walk away.
We booked an excellent price online that was great value for money and included breakfast which was very good.
We booked a car for 2 days through the hotel which worked well and we enjoyed The Botanic Gardens and drives in the hinterland.
The hotel's Hanuman Restaurant was so good that we ate there twice.
When next in Cairns we would be very happy to stay at The Hilton.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terryhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I have just returned from a week in Cairns and stayed at the Cairns Hilton. This hotel is perefectly situated on the Marina and the facilities were excellent. I thoroughly recommend the Asian restaurant located in the hotel. A few tips for first time visitors to the Cairns region. The public transport system is excellent for travelling to the northern beaches such as Palm Cove ,Trinity Point and Clifton Beach. Although these areas are quite picturesque, they have few facilities except for eating and shopping. The public transpoprt runs every half hour and you can hope on and off to travel as far north as Palm Cove.
To travel further north to Port Douglas and the Daintree a hire car is ideal- $53 for the day plus petrol.
Cairns is a much better option to use as a base and travel daily to other locations.
Alcohol is expensive in the many bars at the marina but a six pack of beer or bottle of wine can be purchased for $10 in Cairns CBD and can be placed in the bar fridge in hotel room. Sitting on the balcony of hotel room looking over the marina at sunset is the ideal location for a beer and glass of wine.
Unless a train buff use the sky rail for both ways journey to the magnificent kanungra rainforest. Public bus ($3) will drop you right at the sky rail and return journey on sky rail is $50.
We paid $120 per person for same organised tour using pick up from hotel.
Can't wait to visit Cairns again.

2  Thank Zitad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

I have read some of the less than glowing reviews on here and don't know what people are comparing the Hilton to. In my opinion the Hilton and Reef Casino are together as the best hotels in Cairns city.

I find the northern beaches a little too remote and enjoy being in Cairns. Despite other comments the Hilton was not built in the 1960's but rather the 1980's. It was built to a high standard. Fast elevators, nice size rooms and full width balconies.

The staff are second to none and always smiled and greeted me - something that doesn't happen in many other places. The breakfast was awesome and I really have nothing serious to complain about.

The parking is a slight hassle but $10 A DAY FOR VALET parking isn't too bad. The bathrooms are fairly much original but totally functional. Maybe some better lighting would be my only real issue.

Subject to paying a reasonable rate I would be all for staying here again

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and decided to switch to a familiar hotel name, we had always had good experiences with Hilton, and we are glad we did. First the negatives, the vines on the outside make the hotel look a little outdated and you the asian themed restaurant in the hotel was overpriced and had horrible dinner time service, and we tried it for dinner and twice just for desert, each time the service was laughable. The bar downstairs, Mondo,was quite good and reasonable, and the wings are a definite must try. If you walk down the pier the Waterbar is great and has one of the best steaks I had all trip. The trip planner/concierge downstairs, amanda, i think was incredible. She took a genuine interest in making out honeymoon special and helped us weed out a lot of unnecessary functions.
A must for breakfast is the Lily Pad, about a 5minute walk and located next to Gilligans. The food is incredible and the price is again affordable. Don't get suckered into the downstairs breakfast buffet, it is very overpriced and isn't as big as you are led to believe.
We stayed on the Aromatherapy level and were very impressed, the shower and bathtub had an adjustable blind that opened into the room and gave a great view of the bay, a very nice addition to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darinmnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

my husband and i just stayed their for 3 nights and loved it! they have free wi-fi in the business center and a nice lobby with lots of chairs to wait for rides and such. they have a great breakfast buffet! i would recommend it. our room was a view room with a king bed. the room was basic but comfortable. the pool is small and the hot tub wasn't that hot. but! the best thing about this hotel is that it is right next to the port! so when we did our great barrier reef tour, it took us less then 10 minutes to walk there! they have an onsite tour booking company and everyone there is very friendly

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esims04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £101 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing