We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 25 December 2009

T he foyer and bar area are very modern and make an impressive first impression check in was very quick and effecient and in no time we were in our room on the top floor
Fantastic view over Trinity inlet in a recently refurbished room.Thte room was of a good size with plenty of space and modern decor,and had a good variety of lighting to read or work by,good size desk area and large flat screen tv,bed was large and comfortable in fact nothing to not like.
However the down sides , internet access at a increadibly high price and the worst part ,the bathroom ,while the room has been refurbished to a very high standard the bathroom was a mess, chipped bath .dirty grouting and tatty mirrors.I would have also expected in a room on the executive floor to haveat least a proper power shower and a fixed screen or seperate shower rather than an old shower curtain.The last negative has to be the aircon You just cannot get the rooms cool enough.
On a positive note to end the service from the staff in the lounge was fantastic and made up for the minor niggles.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    748
    299
    103
    55
See reviews for
404
999
145
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

The Cairns Hilton is a very good hotel, but where it really shines is in service. All of our interactions were very positive, but the Executive Floor staff team goes above and beyond. We mostly worked with Brandy and Anne, and also a bit with Jemma. They treat you with such consideration and care, and they are consummate professionals.

Most hotels are abandoning top sheets, and when we asked Brandy late in the evening if sheets were available, she promised to handle it straightaway. When we went to the Executive Lounge for breakfast the next morning, Anne immediately asked if we received our top sheets, and we were taken aback that she had been made aware and were impressed that she made the effort to confirm that our needs had been met. Our entire experience mirrored that one example, and set a standard that would make even the Four Seasons envious.

As for the rooms, ours was renovated, with tasteful fittings, very comfortable beds, and plush carpeting. The bath was quite clean, but small and not luxurious. The location at the Marina is ideal and the service was hands-down the best of our Australia travels, so I would absolutely stay there again, even though the room/bath struck me as a four-star standard rather than what I've come to expect of an international five-star.

The hotel was excellent about granting my HHonors elite complimentary upgrade, but if you are not elite with Hilton, I would suggest paying a bit extra for the higher floors, better views, and superb service that come with the Executive rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurtleCreekTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Checked out yesterday 24/11/09 after spending 7 nights at the Hilton. we have no complants at all. Location Perfect, food and service excellent, we would definately stay there again. we would reccomend a water facing room as high as possible ,floor 7 and above.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

I checked in very late on Friday night. The front desk guy was very friendly and answered all my questions. My room was wonderful!! I was on the 8th floor in a spa room(rewards room as I had booked with my points, wonderful room for points). It overlooked the water. Beautiful! The beds were super comfy and the shower/tub combo was awesome. The tub was amazing!! Absolute relaxation! Breakfast was full of options to choose front (hot & cold). Pretty quick seating and normal charges for a resort hotel. I liked that the lift made you swipe your door key to go up. This made things more secure. The location was awesome. 5 minute walk to the Reef terminal where I took a reef tour. Also lots of restuarants to choose from. I highly recommend Dundee. My only complain is that the AC never got extremely cold & the internet was expensive(just used the Business center for free)... No biggie.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenebene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec_OfficeCairns, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 1 December 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review about the Hilton Cairns. It is delightful to read that you had a great stay and felt secure in our property. It is vitally important for us to receive feedback from our guests to ensure standards are maintained. The issue with the aircon that you raised has been looked into and rectified.
Your contribution is valued and greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

For once, we got the correct room upgrade without having to argue. This Hilton has no charm as usual, but provides OK service. Staff is nice, breakfast is superb, pool is good, fitness room is below average. It is possible to rent bikes at the hotel but they are expensive and in very bad shape. All in all, Hilton Cairns resembles Cairns itself. Good for a few days, as a base to explore the region, but don't stay too long. After four days, we transferred to Shangri La which is a better choice (except for breakfast but who needs breakfast before diving in the Great Reef Barrier). I really think Hilton needs a major management change, as all its hotels seem to suffer from the same problems.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 25 November 2009
Dear Customer,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Please accept our sincere apology that your stay with us did not meet expectation, your comments and feedback is of great value to us. I will ensure that every measure is taken to ensure our guest experience improves on the points you’ve outlined.

Thank you again for your feedback and all the best in your travels.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

When we arrived for our two night stay we were most impressed - the foyer is lovely and airy and the staff at reception very friendly. However the rooms were another matter. They could have done with a good paint job and a new carpet.....and what other Hilton has a shower in the bath with a shower curtain. On reflection I think we "drew the crow" because I note from other reviews that some of the rooms have been renovated. These certainly weren't offered to us. The room was clean however, and good linen on the bed, but that is all that could be said for the room.
The swimming pool was in the depths of the building down a very smelly staircase - the pool itself looked good, but the area around the pool was very dismal with just a handful of lounges and no pool bar open.
However the restaurant was another story. The Hilton restaurant Hanumans has a sister restaurant in Darwin which we dined at recently and were not disappointed. The Cairns Hanuman was also terrific.....lovely whole deep fried fish, and aromtic Malaysian - service was excellent - a great experience.
Breakfast was organised in the same dining room by the Hilton and it was a fantastic buffet - including bircher mueli and lovely mango and passionfruit smoothies - yum. Buffet had a huge range of breakfast items and we were able to order expressos instead of the percolated coffee. Service wasn't up to speed however, and the staff seemed to be "missing" or clearing tables in another area when we tried to order "made to order" eggs.
The bar was a bit of a disaster also with no banana dacquiris on the bar list - no dacquiris at the Hilton - shame on you!! We asked if they had strawberry or mango but I think the young man behind the bar didn't know how to make them - so we missed out.
I can't say we would recommend the Cairns Hilton to room guests, however if you're in Cairns, do have a dinner or breakfast there.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 15 November 2009
Dear Customer,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments and feedback are of great value to us as we are always striving to improve future customer service.

Over the past few weeks we have been rolling out a new rooms maintenance program which address most of the property concerns outlined in your comments. The adhoc odour in the pool stairs has also been addressed. I apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

With regards do 6 Degrees Lounge & Bar, it is true that this venue serves a limited range of cocktails, most on the menu are signature. It is unfortunate that one of our team members did not direct you down to our waterfront bar, Mondo, where a comprehensive beverage list is available.

Proactive and seemless service is a priority of Hilton and I thank you for your feedback which will certainly aid in improving our product and services.

Kind regards,
General Manager, Hilton Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We checked in and out of the hotel three times as we moved on to our Great Barrier Reef trip and two nights in Port Douglas. Each time we walked in the door we were treated as valued guests. Each time we were sent a welcoming letter and a box of sweets. The bellmen greeted us as old friends and helped us store our luggage and retrieve it with great efficiency. The most memorable person of our stays was Jemma, the hostess in the executive lounge. She helped us with our travel arrangements and put together some breakfast items, when she learned we'd be leaving too early for breakfast the next day. She went above and beyond her job, demonstrating such care and concern for her guests.
We have been staying at a variety of hotels around the world. I have to say that the amentities, room and service put this hotel near the top of the list.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, al fresco dining at the award-winning Mondo on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at Simply Italian. Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing